User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Falling Glass & The Cold Cold Ground by Adrian McKinty

This fall, not one, but two of McKinty’s terrific crime novels make their way to our shores. Falling Glass follows the Irish tinker (or Payee) Killian as the economic downturn forces him to take a dicey job hunting down the ex-wife and daughters of a shady Irish businessman. Of course things turn out to be a bit more complicated than they first seemed. Michael Forsythe fans will welcome a brief cameo. Not everyone’s going to like the ending, but it absolutely blew me away.

I’ve long wanted McKinty to use the material of his own life growing up in war-torn Northern Ireland, and with The Cold Cold Ground, he more than fulfills my wishes. Sean Duffy is a Roman Catholic cop stationed in a Protestant town where the police have to check under their cars every morning for mercury tilt bombs. Duffy gets assigned a case which may involve a serial killer, but he sometimes must pursue his investigations in full riot gear. Beautifully evocative of a tragic era, often tersely funny, this novel shows McKinty at the top of his game—a very high level indeed.

Reviewed by: 
Staff Pick Badge
Falling Glass Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781846687839
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Serpent's Tail - October 9th, 2012

Staff Pick Badge
The Cold Cold Ground: A Detective Sean Duffy Novel Cover Image
ISBN: 9781616147167
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Seventh Street Books - November 13th, 2012