User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Bookshop Santa Cruz staff recommendation:

The following books are recommended by our staff as great choices for book groups. Sign up for our Book Ends email newsletter to receive more great book group recommendations.

I’m a bit obsessed with Cheryl Strayed. Much like Gabrielle Hamilton of Blood Bones and Butter, Strayed is an incredible writer with a strong voice that will blow you away. Wild is an account of Strayed’s 1,000-mile solo trek on the Pacific Crest Trail, undertaken at age 26 following the sudden loss of her mother. Despite the blood and bruises and the terrible things that happened to her toenails, I couldn’t help but root for her with every sentence, and dream about following in her footsteps.

Reviewed by: Kat
Staff Pick Badge
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307476074
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - March 26th, 2013


Fans of Maya Angelou will revel in her latest work Mom & Me & Mom as readers get a glimpse behind the phenomenal woman, writer and poet and into the most important years of her development: her earliest childhood experiences. Readers will be able to explore and discover Maya’s unusual and inspirational relationship with her mother, reminding us all of the incredible power of connection that is uniquely forged between mothers and daughters.
Reviewed by: Rochelle
Mom & Me & Mom Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781400066117
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - April 2nd, 2013


The Newlyweds tells the story of Amina, a young woman from Bangladesh who moves to America to marry a man she met online. As she settles in, Amina struggles to maintain contact with her family, and to merge the practicality of her new marriage with the romanticism she desires. This is a thoughtful, strong debut novel, perfect for fans of Ann Patchett or Alice Munro.

Reviewed by: Kat
Staff Pick Badge
The Newlyweds (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780307388971
Availability: Backordered
Published: Vintage - February 12th, 2013


Nell Freudenberger is a relentlessly talented writer and The Newlyweds is a work of beauty and poetry. Centered around Amina, a recent immigrant from Bangladesh who moved to America to marry a man she met online, the narrative’s strength and complexity lie in its presentation of Amina’s past and the histories of her friends and family. Truly a work to make you think and to spur many discussions, the novel offers a nuanced look at marriage and life.
Reviewed by: Nici
Staff Pick Badge
The Newlyweds Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780307268846
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Knopf - May 1st, 2012


If you already know all about Kate Atkinson, feel free to skip to the next review. But if you’re like me and you’ve been meaning to read her for years but never seem to get around to it, let me tell you that you MUST read Case Histories. It is by turns hilarious and tragic, with an unexpected existential edge that has lingered ever since.
Reviewed by: Kat
Staff Pick Badge
Case Histories: A Novel (Jackson Brodie #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316010702
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - October 17th, 2005


This is a beautifully written debut novel set on a remote island off Western Australia in 1918. From time to time, I’d come across a sentence or paragraph that stopped me in my tracks, and I’d have to read it over several times to absorb its beauty of language. This is the perfect book group book. Moral decisions and consequences abound. It’s complicated, layered, and it stayed with me for a long time. I couldn’t help but sympathize with each of the characters.
Reviewed by: Clytia
Staff Pick Badge
The Light Between Oceans: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781451681758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - April 2nd, 2013


Sisters Janie and Hannah confront xenophobia and culture shock when they move to the States as young girls, leading Hannah to later estrange herself from the family. When their father becomes terminally ill, Janie is charged with the task of bringing Hannah to Korea. The sisters' physical and emotional journey will teach them about the secrets that families keep from the rest of the world and from each other.

Reviewed by: Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
Forgotten Country Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594486524
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - March 5th, 2013


The central character of The Vanishers is a student attending a school for those with psychic gifts, until one of her professors lobs an attack at her that leaves her body devastated by illness. The world this character inhabits is formed so nonchalantly that you can’t help but turn the pages, eager to learn more about how all of this works. A smart, literary thriller with teeth, and not at all what you’re expecting.
Reviewed by: Kat
The Vanishers Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307387363
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - January 8th, 2013


High school can be awful. But it’s slightly less awful when you have a team of sarcastic ants who trash-talk your bullies and provide you with sardonic encouragement at your most difficult moments. If that sounds weird, that’s because it is—but trust me, by the end of this book you’ll be wishing for an ant entourage of your very own. Odd, but very heartfelt, and unexpectedly vivid and real.
Reviewed by: Kat
Staff Pick Badge
Everybody Sees the Ants Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780316129275
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 18th, 2012


This is a starkly beautiful novel about a woman who does something I’ve certainly daydreamed about from time to time: she moves to a house in rural Wales, where she is perfectly alone, save for the ten white geese who live on the property. But her reasons for escape are not innocent, and darkness stalks the edges of her picturesque solitude—as does her husband, who is determined to track her down.
Reviewed by: Kat
Staff Pick Badge
Ten White Geese: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780143122678
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Penguin Books - February 26th, 2013


Pages