User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

OFFSITE & TICKETED: A Literary Masquerade with Erin Morgenstern

Tuesday, November 12, 2019 - 7:00pm

You are cordially invited to Bookshop Santa Cruz's first-ever Literary Masquerade, celebrating the release of Erin Morgenstern's highly anticipated new novel, The Starless Sea. Cosponsored by The Humanities Institute at UC Santa Cruz.

Masquerade begins at 6:00
Book talk begins at 7:00

From Erin Morgenstern, the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

Join us on Tuesday, November 12th at 6:00 for a literary masquerade, where you and all who attend are invited to disguise yourself as your favorite literary character or figure to enter the world of The Starless Sea. Dancing and activities plucked from Erin Morgenstern's magical world will precede a 7:00 talk with Erin Morgenstern, followed by a book signing. Erin Morgenstern will be in conversation with Michael Chemers, Professor of Dramatic Literature in the Department of Theater Arts at UC Santa Cruz.

This event will take place at DNA's Comedy Lab (155 S River St., Santa Cruz, CA). Themed refreshments, including beer and wine, will be available to purchase from DNA's Comedy Lab.

Tickets to this enchanting evening are $37, and include one copy of The Starless Sea, an unassigned seat for Erin Morgenstern's talk, a number for the signing line, and access to all event activities. Literary costumes encouraged. Tickets available at Brown Paper Tickets:

"Morgenstern's new fantasy epic is a puzzlebox of a book, full of meta-narratives and small folkloric tales that will delight readers... Morgenstern uses poetic, honey-like prose to tell a story that plays with the very concept of what we expect and want from our stories... She trusts her readers to follow along and speculate, wonder and make leaps themselves as she dives into tales of pirates, book burnings, and men lost in time, giving the book a mythic quality that will stick with readers long after they put it down."
⁠—Booklist (starred)

"This love letter to bibliophiles is dreamlike and uncanny, grounded in deeply felt emotion, and absolutely thrilling."
⁠—Publishers Weekly (starred)

“A high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do [and] a stunning array of linked fables, myths and origin stories…. It is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they’re set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail…. This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call. An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“A magnificent quest, a sense of unfolding adventure and danger, gold-wrought fantasy, and endless provocation on what storytelling really means.” Library Journal, starred review

ERIN MORGENSTERN is the author of The Night Circus, a number-one national best seller that has been sold around the world and translated into thirty-seven languages. She has a degree in theater from Smith College and lives in Massachusetts.

Michael M. Chemers is a Professor of Dramatic Literature in the Department of Theater Arts at UC Santa Cruz. He is the author of The Monster in Theatre History: This Thing of Darkness (Routledge 2017), Ghost Light: An Introductory Handbook for Dramaturgy (Southern Illinois University Press, 2010), and Staging Stigma: A Critical Examination of the American Freak Show (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008). He has wanted to run away with various circuses since he was six years old.