User menu

Shopping cart



Science Fiction/Fantasy

Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo thrusts you behind the ivy-covered walls of Yale, where Alex (Galaxy) Stern knows the occult power wielded by the secret societies’ elite and finds herself at the center of a plot that snakes between mysteries and murders, rituals and secrets, and vivid, recognizable characters. Ninth House’s magic illuminates real truths within our world: privilege, addiction, mental illness, #MeToo, and everything in between. It goes to some of the darkest places but never loses the shine of hope, or the will to fight for what’s right. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Ninth House (Alex Stern #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250313072
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - October 8th, 2019

Fortuna by Kristyn Merbeth

I’m so excited for this book! Perfect for fans of Firefly, Becky Chambers, and Catherynne M. Valente, this novel about a family of smugglers caught in an interstellar war—who have to decide whether to take responsibility for their family’s involvement in a devastating massacre or lay low and hope it blows over—is the first of an exciting, suspenseful, and propulsive new space opera trilogy. I can’t wait to read it! - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Fortuna (The Nova Vita Protocol #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316453998
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - November 5th, 2019

The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek by Rhett McLaughlin & Link Neal

A creatively enhanced telling of their childhood together, Lost Causes manages to mix dark humor and an engaging friendship in a ridiculous, wonderful way. As Rex and Leif spend their summer making movies and fighting unknown terrors, their experiences mirrored mine growing up (for the most part). Full of heart, deftly written, and incredibly relatable in that early ’90s way, this is a book I’ll be returning to, Cheerwine in hand. - Rachel

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984822130
Availability: Hard to Find - Believed to be Out of Stock Indefinitely
Published: Crown - October 29th, 2019

Semiosis by Sue Burke

This debut sci-fi novel is an engrossing tale of space colonization and alien first contact on a world full of sentient plants. The saga spans 100 years and 6 generations, each with its own unique story. Infusing plants with sentience and agency gives the book an eerie quality that’s hard to shake. Thought-provoking concepts, excellent world-building, and solid character development. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Semiosis: A Novel (Semiosis Duology #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765391360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - March 12th, 2019

River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey

In this action-packed novella, Gailey imagines what the U.S. would have looked like if we had gone through with the proposed 1910 plan to import hippos for meat. This (ill-conceived) plan was real. Galey creates a U.S. filled with one of the most dangerous creatures in the world. Follow this diverse band of "hoppers" as they jaunt through the southern swamps. - MJ

Staff Pick Badge
River of Teeth Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765395238
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - May 23rd, 2017

Sunshine by Robin McKinley

Sunshine is a baker in a world where tour buses get lost down cobbled streets rebuilt after a magical World War. A chance encounter thrusts her into the center of a deadly, ancient game, and face-to-face with her own abandoned heritage. Brilliant world-building, vibrant characters, fantastic charms, and delicious cinnamon rolls. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Sunshine Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780515138818
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Berkley - November 30th, 2004

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Kristoff evokes a brutal and beautiful fantasy world inspired by Venice and Rome, driven by betrayals ancient and awesome, current and political. Mia's life is defined by the moment her father is hung for treason, beginning again with blood and lust as she commits to the path that will help her destroy those who destroyed her family. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Nevernight: Book One of the Nevernight Chronicle Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250132130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
(Please note: This book cannot be returned.)
Published: A Thomas Dunne Book for St. Martin's Griffin - June 20th, 2017

Automatic Eve by Rokuro Inui

This is the first story to surprise me with a twist in a very long time; the writing is visceral and merciless. It follows multiple storylines, and every character feels fleshed out and real. It’s definitely sci-fi, with a Japanese steampunk-esque twist. You will be confronted with the age-old question: What does it mean to be truly human? And honestly, I don’t think my answer would have been the same before I read it. - MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Automatic Eve Cover Image
By Matt Treyvaud (Translated by), Rokuro Inui
$16.99
ISBN: 9781974708079
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Haikasoru - August 20th, 2019

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

This is a novel of urgent and aching beauty. It’s a story about coming of age, triumph in the face of tragedy, and the power of magic, love, and dreams—and holding on to those dreams even when the stately order of the world threatens to crush them beneath its grinding wheels. This is a stunning and gorgeously written debut historical fantasy with a ferociously beating heart, and its fabulously drawn characters, outstanding plotting and pacing, and gorgeous world-building will sweep you effortlessly into its story. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316421997
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Redhook - September 10th, 2019

A Cosmology of Monsters by Shaun Hamill

Strap in, kids, this one is a wild ride. With a slow-burn horror, Lovecraftian beginning, you won't be able to put this one down. Part family drama, part spine tingling spookiness, the Turner family and their woes will make any horror fan happy. Cosmology is perfect for anyone who has read through all of Stephen King’s back catalog and is itching for more. - J Gallo

Staff Pick Badge
A Cosmology of Monsters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524747671
Availability: Hard to Find - Believed to be Out of Stock Indefinitely
Published: Pantheon - September 17th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Science Fiction/Fantasy