User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Science Fiction/Fantasy

Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Prismatic light forms the basis of magic and government in this twisty conspiracy saga. Weeks absolutely raises the bar for the genre with the depth and uniqueness of the Lightbringer magic system and world building. He is a master of character and the diverse protagonists expand the story with nuance and heart. Great for fans of Rothfuss, Sanderson, or Abercrombie. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
The Black Prism (Lightbringer #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316246279
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - July 23rd, 2013

Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames

This book is a wicked good time. As someone who grew up on 70s/80s rock, the idea of reimagining monster fighting mercenaries as touring rock bands makes my heart pitter patter. Saga being the retired “we’ve seen it all, smoked it all, fought it all” on a comeback tour/rescue mission is ingenious and hilarious. Read this if you love adventure, laughs, and amazing band names. - Karena

Staff Pick Logo
Kings of the Wyld (The Band) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316362474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 21st, 2017

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

Though Annihilation is a short piece, it was very easily one of the weirdest reading experiences I've ever had, and I loved it. Vandermeer doesn't fall into the sinkholes of tropes and predictable plot lines. I had no idea where the story would go and could barely put the book down to sleep. This is a perfect book to shake you out of a literary rut. - J

Staff Pick Logo
Annihilation: A Novel (The Southern Reach Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780374104092
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: FSG Originals - February 4th, 2014

The Kingdom of Copper by S.A. Chakraborty

The City of Brass sequel is here! This novel again follows Nahri, Dara, and Ali, and introduces a terrifying new opponent—Nahri's own mother, who is determined to retake the Daevabad throne at any cost. Like its predecessor, this novel features a dynamic cast, captivating plot, rich political intrigue, and immersive worldbuilding. It’s the best kind of sequel. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
The Kingdom of Copper: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy #2) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062678133
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - January 22nd, 2019

Alice Isn't Dead by Joseph Fink

If you’ve ever driven Highway 5 late at night, you know there is something ethereal about the long stretch of road when it is blanketed with stars. Joseph Fink evokes the same feeling in his newest novel, Alice Isn’t Dead. After the supposed death of her wife, Keisha—certain Alice is still alive—abandons her life to become a trucker and search for the missing Alice, and runs afoul of a sinister and horrifying organization. Strange and glorious, this book will leave you changed. - Ivy

Don’t miss our event with Joseph Fink on November 15th.

Staff Pick Logo
Alice Isn't Dead: A Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062844132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - October 30th, 2018

Zero Sum Game by S.L. Huang

A fun, fast-paced action thriller featuring a snarky math superhero who has some serious character flaws. Cas Russell is good at math, so good that she intuitively performs vector calculus at lightning speed, allowing her to dodge both incoming fists and bullets. She’s a mercenary “retrieval expert” with ambiguous morals, available for hire in Los Angeles, and her latest job is proving to be much more challenging and dangerous than she anticipated. - Trey

Staff Pick Logo
Zero Sum Game (Cas Russell #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250180254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - October 2nd, 2018

Red Moon by Kim Stanley Robinson

Given Robinson’s pedigree, there was little doubt I would like this book. If you enjoy intrigue and action in the low gravity of our closest neighbor, Red Moon will draw you in. Despite the lightness of the setting, it pulls its weight. Similar to last year’s Artemis. - Ian

Staff Pick Logo
Red Moon Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316262378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - October 23rd, 2018

How to Fracture a Fairy Tale by Jane Yolen

A delightful sampling of Yolen’s work, including thoughts from the writer herself on how to fracture your own tales. I love the way Yolen picks the stories apart to find the meat, the heart of the thing, and then weaves something extraordinary around that. Perfect for folk and faerie tale enthusiasts or anyone wanting to look at things a bit differently. - Jax

Staff Pick Logo
How to Fracture a Fairy Tale Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616963064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tachyon Publications - November 5th, 2018

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green

Brilliant! Hank Green has written an engrossing debut novel with a fun, vibrant, emotionally powerful and completely non sequitur plot. In a New York crosswalk, protagonist April May’s discovery of giant, sentient, maybe even alien omnipotent robots completely upends her life, both professionally and romantically. Through the eyes of this young, queer antihero and her robots, we see humanity in its modern context: how people love, connect, and create belief in a media landscape that sometimes degrades humanity. - a.c.

Staff Pick Logo
An Absolutely Remarkable Thing: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781524743444
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - September 25th, 2018

Vita Nostra by Marina & Sergey Dyachenko

One part coming-of-age parable, one part psychological horror, this book combines dark fantasy with contemporary magical realism. Beautifully translated from its original Russian, Vita Nostra brilliantly explores the period in early adulthood in which we consider the price we’re willing to pay to discover our full potential and learn how we make ourselves vulnerable when we strive for outside approval. - Ilana

Staff Pick Logo
Vita Nostra: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062694591
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - November 13th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Science Fiction/Fantasy