User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Science Fiction/Fantasy

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker

This beautifully-written debut is set in turn-of-the-20th-century New York City and seamlessly weaves fantastical elements into the historical setting resulting in a magical story that somehow still feels realistic. Recommended for fans of good writing, The Shadow of the Wind and Spinning Silver. - Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
The Golem and the Jinni: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062110848
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - December 31st, 2013

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

This book is a modern classic of satire and what it means to be human. The apocalypse is coming, and a vivid cast of characters will do battle (well, more cause nuisance to each other) in an attempt to either stop or hinder it. The collaboration of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman is seamless, and brilliant creativity and hilarity ensue. Whether you watch the miniseries or not, you won’t regret treating yourself to this book. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780060853976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 7th, 2007

My Best Friend's Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

This can best be described as the demon lovechild of Carrie and Mean Girls. It offers mid 80's high school popularity woes alongside the timeless tale of girl meets demon. Luckily for the possess-y, she's got a best friend who knows something is up, and won't stop until someone's head spins around. - J Gallo

Staff Pick Badge
My Best Friend's Exorcism: A Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781594749766
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - July 11th, 2017

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

This remarkable debut novel is a richly imagined tale that immerses the reader in a unique culture. Interstellar politics set the stage for a murder mystery, a struggle of assimilation and questions of identity. Fascinating characters, an intricate plot, and a background of stars make this a brilliant space opera. Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, Yoon Ha Lee and Issac Asimov. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250186430
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - March 26th, 2019

Empress of Forever by Max Gladstone

I want to be Vivian Liao when I grow up. Tech genius, revolutionary subversive and chosen by a god, she is at the center of a whirlwind adventure across the galaxy to save space, time and autonomy. I loved the unique, brash characters running around in Gladstone's magic and computer-science-based world. So fun! - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Empress of Forever: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765395818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - June 18th, 2019

Exhalation by Ted Chiang

Ted Chiang is one of the best modern speculative fiction writers, and his writing encompasses the breadth of the human experience. The stories in this collection are subtle, introspective, and incredibly smart, and Chiang masterfully explores themes of science, theology, fate, heartbreak, and love. I can’t recommend this highly enough for fans of literary science fiction. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Exhalation: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781101947883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - May 7th, 2019

Amberlough by Lara Elena Donnelly

Amberlough delighted me and broke me and did it all over again. A Jazz-age alternate world of queer spy-vs-spy shenanigans and cat-and-mouse politics, featuring the rise of a conservative facist government in a diverse and throbbingly alive world. Possibly a little too real in our current real-world, but author Lara Elena Donnelly kept me hoping against reason for the characters, even as she broke me down. Fair warning: you will immediately need to pick up the sequel. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Amberlough: Book 1 in the Amberlough Dossier Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780765383822
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 13th, 2018

Seven Blades in Black by Sam Sykes

Sal the Cacophony is a gunslinging wizard-hunter on a mission of vengeance, and—armed with a giant sentient handgun—she’s on the hunt for seven vicious outlaw magicians. This book is brutal and bloody with big battles and lots of action, but also features rich, inventive worldbuilding, snappy dialogue, and characters with surprising humor and heart. I couldn’t put it down! - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Seven Blades in Black (The Grave of Empires #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316363433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - April 9th, 2019

Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore

The oldest soul in the world just can’t seem to reach perfection. He was a disciple of the Buddha, a superhero on an alien prison planet, a wise fisherman… but every single time, Milo doesn’t get it right. On a positive note, every time he dies, he reunites with his girlfriend, Death (who also goes by the name Susie). This book is totally goofy, sweet and wise. I loved the ending. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Reincarnation Blues: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399178504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - July 10th, 2018

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Elaborate heist? Elaborate magical heist? Elaborate, brilliantly realized world inspired by historical Amsterdam, but filled with living, breathing people with complex histories and personalities, that will come together for the pay-off of their lives – and maybe save the world? I devoured this novel that will satisfy fantasy fans of any age, of six young criminals and misfits who refuse to accept a (brilliantly-built) world that won’t accept them. Trust me – you’ll be glad there’s more.

Staff Pick Badge
Six of Crows Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250076960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - February 6th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Science Fiction/Fantasy