User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Science Fiction/Fantasy

The Bird King by G. Willow WIlson

The Bird King is so many things at once. It plays with love, power, religion, freedom and what those words mean to different people at different times. You will be swept away in this gorgeously written historical fantasy. I have been a fan of Wilson’s ever since Alif the Unseen and she doesn’t disappoint here. In fact, she’s only gotten better as an author. - Karena

Staff Pick Badge
The Bird King Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802129031
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - March 12th, 2019

The Luminous Dead by Caitlin Starling

Eerie in the best way with character relationships so well developed you forget the novel is pared down to just two voices. The Luminous Dead follows Gyre's solo journey through empty caves in deep space, with only the voice of her handler over the coms as back-up. Of course neither Gyre nor her handler are as they initially appear, and are the caves truly empty? Starling plays with universal human fears to ratchet up the tension for thrills and chills. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
The Luminous Dead: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062846907
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - April 2nd, 2019

New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color edited by Nisi Shawl

With an incredible collection of stories ranging from the fantastic to the macabre, told by established and emerging authors alike, New Suns is a book that you’ll have a hard time putting down. From the first page of the introduction by Lavar Burton to the afterword by the collection’s editor, Nisi Shawl, the reader will find tales of intergalactic tourism, interspecies erotica, and creative retellings of fairy tales. A fun read for all fans of Sci-fi and Fantasy. - Aric

Staff Pick Badge
New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781781085783
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Solaris - March 12th, 2019

The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie

Eolo, a transgender warrior, accompanies his prince, Mawat, to claim his role as Lease of the Raven, leader of their people, only to discover a death, a betrayal, and a mystery. As Eolo searches for the truth, an unseen narrator relays his own ancient history, the two tales combining for an epic of politics and gods, power and revenge, loyalty and friendship, in an engrossing fantasy world and story unlike any being written today. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Tower Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316388696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 26th, 2019

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I make time every year to reread this and I always find a new reason to love it. The imagery alone is worth it. Descriptions of tents full of magic and wonder, characters who defy reality, and a circus that no one can predict makes this one of my favorite books of all time. "The circus arrives without warning." Consider this your warning. This is the read you were waiting for. - Karena

Staff Pick Badge
The Night Circus Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307744432
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - July 3rd, 2012

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi

This is one of my all-time favorite sci-fi novels. Set in a drought-ravaged Southwestern U.S. (primarily Phoenix and Las Vegas), water is scarce, and Arizona, Nevada, and California fight over the meager water that remains. This novel is dark and grittily realistic with complex, well-developed characters, expert worldbuilding, and a gripping plot. I couldn’t put it down. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Water Knife Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804171533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 5th, 2016

Full Fathom Five by Max Gladstone

Come for the necromantic-urban-space-lawyer-priests, stay for the twisty plots and hard-core women. This is the 3rd/5th book in the sequence (don't ask), but also completely readable as a standalone. The world building is endlessly cool. Soul is the universal currency that feeds coins, idol-gods, and the stock market, but how much of your soul can you give away? - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Full Fathom Five: A Novel of the Craft Sequence Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765335760
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - April 14th, 2015

The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie

This novel is classic Ann Leckie. Her characters are understated and clever, her worldbuilding is rich, unique, and intimately detailed, and the mystery at the novel’s heart is slow to bloom but ultimately very satisfying. This is one hell of a fantasy world, and one I hope she continues to explore. If you like Leckie’s writing, you’ll love this novel. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Tower Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316388696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 26th, 2019

Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Prismatic light forms the basis of magic and government in this twisty conspiracy saga. Weeks absolutely raises the bar for the genre with the depth and uniqueness of the Lightbringer magic system and world building. He is a master of character and the diverse protagonists expand the story with nuance and heart. Great for fans of Rothfuss, Sanderson, or Abercrombie. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
The Black Prism (Lightbringer #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316246279
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - July 23rd, 2013

Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames

This book is a wicked good time. As someone who grew up on 70s/80s rock, the idea of reimagining monster fighting mercenaries as touring rock bands makes my heart pitter patter. Saga being the retired “we’ve seen it all, smoked it all, fought it all” on a comeback tour/rescue mission is ingenious and hilarious. Read this if you love adventure, laughs, and amazing band names. - Karena

Staff Pick Badge
Kings of the Wyld (The Band) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316362474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 21st, 2017

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Science Fiction/Fantasy