User menu

Shopping cart

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Poetry

Be Holding by Ross Gay

Starts with a significant moment in basketball history and turns into a lyrical masterpiece about connection, loss, and the intimacy of human witness. Gay writes with urgency and attention, you'll find yourself in tears over a moment from the 1980 NBA finals. For fans of Hanif Abdurriqib and Ocean Vuong, this book-length poem will break your heart in all the right ways, only to put it back together again with force. - Holly

Staff Pick Badge
Be Holding: A Poem (Pitt Poetry Series) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780822966234
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: University of Pittsburgh Press - September 8th, 2020

The Essential June Jordan Edited by Jan Heller Levi & Christoph Keller

This wonderfully curated collection of June Jordan’s poetry takes works from every stage of her writing life, including four previously unpublished pieces. Her verse is some of the most important poetry created in the 20th century; every page feels like a privilege, a gift of her talent. I appreciate not only the selection but the flow of the book. There is a rhythm to the order of the poems. Every aspect in here feels intentional. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Essential June Jordan Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781556596209
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Copper Canyon Press - May 4th, 2021

I Am Not Trying to Hide My Hungers from the World by Kendra DeColo

Kendra DeColo’s book of poems is a page-turning, mind-bending, hilariously unabashed celebration of defiance. DeColo reinvents what poetic form can be: “A poem should be heavy metal / worn as armor when the world hurts”. She defines motherhood as punk-rock heroism, pop culture as an absurd but necessary addiction, and life as a series of joyful misfortunes. For those who enjoy their poetry with a heaping spoonful of humor and wit. — Juj

Staff Pick Badge
I Am Not Trying to Hide My Hungers from the World (American Poets Continuum #185) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781950774272
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: BOA Editions - April 20th, 2021

nedí nezu (Good Medicine) by Tenille Campbell

Indigenous poet Tenille Campbell, in her sensual, adventurous, and romantic way, embraces love and heartbreak across both physical and virtual social spheres in this volume of poetry. Between would-be lovers and soul connections are the wisdom of mothers and aunties and the intimate songs of her inner voice which, again and again, chooses to love itself. — Juj

Staff Pick Badge
Nedí Nezų (Good Medicine) Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781551528465
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - April 13th, 2021

Wicked Enchantment: Selected Poems by Wanda Coleman

This posthumous collection edited by Terrance Hayes is a stunning introduction to the undeservedly underknown Wanda Coleman, and a vibrant review for those more familiar with her work. The poems Hayes has curated showcase the range of Coleman’s singular voice and agile, robust language. These poems are vignettes, deliriums, odysseys, and letters, ranging from the beautifully fantastic and deftly sexy to the poignantly matter-of-fact, with lines and images to hold and turn over and over. A powerful and lingering poetic experience. — Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Wicked Enchantment: Selected Poems Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781574232462
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Black Sparrow Press - March 23rd, 2021

The Selected Works of Audre Lorde Edited by Roxane Gay

The timeless words of trailblazer Audre Lorde never fail to move, challenge, and inspire me. This stellar collection, edited by Roxane Gay, showcases the breadth of Lorde’s poems and prose as she speaks to motherhood, race, patriarchy, white feminism, and the fight for justice. For those new to Lorde’s thoughtful and brilliant work, Selected Works is a great introduction, and for those of us who are already admirers, it is an essential addition to our shelves. — S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
The Selected Works of Audre Lorde Cover Image
By Audre Lorde, Roxane Gay (Editor), Roxane Gay (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781324004615
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 8th, 2020

Whale Day: And Other Poems by Billy Collins

Former US poet laureate Billy Collins’s newest collection (his first in 4 years) is a wonderful gathering of poems that shines with its combination of mirth and depth. While the subject of these poems varies, there is an undercurrent of looking at life from the eyes of someone who is aging and holding mortality in view. I was delighted by the humor and wit that Collins juxtaposes with the tender and profound. This is a wonderful, readable book. Collins has once again proven himself, with poems that delight as much as they touch the heart. — S.M.C.

Staff Pick Badge
Whale Day: And Other Poems Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399589751
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - September 29th, 2020

Guillotine: Poems by Eduardo C. Corral

“How did you make it through those days? / When you’re hurt, you’re not completely in the world.” —Eduardo C. Corral
Guillotine is a mystifying journey between worlds both real and imaginary, where sensation is severe and reason becomes blurred. In Guillotine, Corral has expanded Gloria Anzaldúa’s “borderlands” concept into our present moment, carefully teetering on the small divide between nations, gender identity, sexuality, and realities. Images of desert crossings, bloodied bodies, and dear, untouchable men take shape in bilingual and experimental poetic form. This collection of poems is an essential addition to the developing queer-Latinx imaginary. — Juj

Staff Pick Badge
Guillotine: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450307
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - August 4th, 2020

Dearly: New Poems by Margaret Atwood

Last year, Margaret Atwood’s partner of more than 40 years, Graeme Gibson, died at the age of 85. Her new collection of poetry, Dearly, encompasses the grief, beauty, and pain of that loss, with all the wit and skill that she possesses. Who can strike your heart with more efficiency than Margaret Atwood? You probably already know that she’s a brilliant novelist; after reading this book, I bet she’ll also be among your favorite poets. — Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Dearly: New Poems Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063032491
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - November 10th, 2020

Resistencia: Poems of Protest and Revolution Edited by Mark Eisner & Tina Escaja, Introduction by Julia Alvarez

This collection amplifies and revitalizes the Latin American tradition of protest poetry. Featuring the work of beloved poets such as Cesar Vallejo, Pablo Neruda, Nancy Morejon, and Ana Maria Rodas, this bilingual text asks us to remember that the fight for justice is ongoing and motivated by our own creative and collective power. — Juj

Staff Pick Badge
Resistencia: Poems of Protest and Revolution Cover Image
By Julia Alvarez (Introduction by), Mark Eisner (Editor), Tina Escaja (Editor)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781951142070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - September 15th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Poetry