User menu

Shopping cart



Poetry

Time Is a Mother by Ocean Vuong

In this second collection of poetry, Ocean Vuong looks at the intimacy of memory and the fleeting nature of self through the lens of his mother’s recent passing. Vuong writes with a noticeably matured and sharper voice, while playing with some more stylistically formal choices. At times quiet and always brutally honest, Time Is a Mother is another of Vuong’s masterpieces.  —Holly

Staff Pick Badge
Time Is a Mother By Ocean Vuong Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780593300237
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - April 5th, 2022

The Path to Kindness Poems of Connection and Joy Edited by James Crews

James Crews has given us all the chance to breathe deeply with this follow-up to How to Love the World. Each poem in this anthology is a warm sweater, a soft hug, a glimmer of hope. Drawing from the works of veterans of the craft as well as emerging poets, The Path to Kindness walks us through themes such as motherhood, friendship, and the tenderness of our mortality. This is a collection that belongs on your bedside table, always within reach.  —Holly

Staff Pick Badge
The Path to Kindness: Poems of Connection and Joy By James Crews (Editor), Danusha Laméris (Foreword by) Cover Image
By James Crews (Editor), Danusha Laméris (Foreword by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781635865332
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Storey Publishing, LLC - April 12th, 2022

The Hurting Kind by Ada Limón

My heart, rejoice! Ada Limón’s new collection is here and with it, an emotional resonance for the complexity of living, especially through these past few years. Full of lyricism, image, and insight, her poems feel guided by this charge in The First Lesson: “My mother nailed the wing / to her studio wall. // She told me not to be / scared. I watched // and learned to watch // closely the world.” Limón’s keen observation of our interconnectedness with each other and the living world guides us through loss, joy, and profound, exquisite, everyday living.  —Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
The Hurting Kind By Ada Limón Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781639550494
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - May 10th, 2022

Lives by CJ Evans

Lives is a collection of verse that explores the complicated and personal relationship between our natural world and the human tendency to become violent and destroy. The lyrics of CJ Evans are intimately political, unreserved, and stinging, yet somehow encouraging of our ability to find solace, beauty, and love despite the violence that surrounds us. Reading this collection felt like finally being able to release a breath I’ve been holding in for too long.  —Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Lives By Cj Evans, Victoria Chang (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Cj Evans, Victoria Chang (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781946448965
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sarabande Books - June 14th, 2022

Pilgrim Bell: Poems by Kaveh Akbar

Kaveh Akbar’s honest resonance is unmatched by any poet I have read in this decade. With an unflinching spirituality, Akbar takes us on a journey through discomfort, through holiness, through beauty in its ugliest forms. Often returning to the body, and always drawing upon his experience as a Muslim American, Akbar paints images so sharp they could cut skin. This collection of poetry is breathtaking, harrowing, and utterly necessary. —Holly V.

Staff Pick Badge
Pilgrim Bell: Poems By Kaveh Akbar Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - August 3rd, 2021

Philomath: Poems by Devon Walker-Figueroa

Philomath is “love of learning” by definition and the name of poet Devon Walker-Figueroa’s beyond-rural Oregon childhood town, now ghostly. Grounded in the personal, entangled with those who stay and those who leave, and overgrown with the ripe, natural world, this smart debut collection is small-town America told with an unerring eye toward the real, all while lyrically spinning a new mythology. It is its own marvel, worth rereading, and out loud. —Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Philomath: Poems By Devon Walker-Figueroa Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571315229
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 14th, 2021

Playlist for the Apocalypse: Poems by Rita Dove

“Let it be said, while in the midst of horror, we fed on beauty—and that, my love, is what sustained us.” Rita Dove’s newest collection of poetry is a prayer for our collective future. Whether musing on love through the eyes of a cricket or investigating the wounds of racialized trauma, Dove writes with clever honesty and radical vulnerability. Playlist for the Apocalypse is the kind of book you clutch to your chest upon finishing, and pray that not a single word of it will be forgotten. —Holly

Staff Pick Badge
Playlist for the Apocalypse: Poems By Rita Dove Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393867770
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - August 17th, 2021

All This Time by Cedar Sigo

All This Time is a gorgeous collection of poetry from Indigenous author Cedar Sigo. His use of the blank page as a canvas on which to paint words was like a literary breeze on my face. Sigo embodies the words and creates a world of their own, something that is wholly new while paying respects to the artists before him. The poems are haunting, with an air about them like recovered memories. Highly suggested for the poet in your life. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
All This Time By Cedar Sigo Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781950268467
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wave Books - October 5th, 2021

Be Holding by Ross Gay

Starts with a significant moment in basketball history and turns into a lyrical masterpiece about connection, loss, and the intimacy of human witness. Gay writes with urgency and attention, you'll find yourself in tears over a moment from the 1980 NBA finals. For fans of Hanif Abdurriqib and Ocean Vuong, this book-length poem will break your heart in all the right ways, only to put it back together again with force. - Holly

Staff Pick Badge
Be Holding: A Poem (Pitt Poetry Series) By Ross Gay Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780822966234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Pittsburgh Press - September 8th, 2020

The Essential June Jordan Edited by Jan Heller Levi & Christoph Keller

This wonderfully curated collection of June Jordan’s poetry takes works from every stage of her writing life, including four previously unpublished pieces. Her verse is some of the most important poetry created in the 20th century; every page feels like a privilege, a gift of her talent. I appreciate not only the selection but the flow of the book. There is a rhythm to the order of the poems. Every aspect in here feels intentional. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Essential June Jordan By June Jordan, Jan Heller Levi (Editor), Christoph Keller (Editor) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781556596209
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Copper Canyon Press - May 4th, 2021

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Poetry