User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Mystery and True Crime

The French Girl by Lexie Elliott

This well-crafted mystery builds momentum and suspense as the tale unfolds. Ten years ago six Oxford students vacationed at a farmhouse in the countryside of France. Severine, the French girl next door, became an integral part of their week together. On the last day of their visit, she disappeared. Now the discovery of Severine's body unearths long buried secrets that threaten everyone. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The French Girl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399586972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - March 5th, 2019

Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

This compulsively readable book is as much about NYC as it is about the two toxic friends who party in its private clubs and brownstone lofts. Burton takes you on a heart-pounding ride as Lavinia introduces Louise to a lifestyle any girl would kill for. It’s Bright Lights Big City meets The Talented Mr. Ripley, down to the last, bloody page. - Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
Social Creature: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780385543521
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Doubleday - June 5th, 2018

Laidlaw by William McIlvanney

A gritty crime novel set in gritty Glasgow, Laidlaw is the book that brought Tartan Noir into existence. As much about gang presence and gang culture as it is about a murderer and his victim, this is a mystery novel for fans of The Wire and The Departed. A psychological and intense detective thriller! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Laidlaw Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781609452018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - June 3rd, 2014

The Wicked Boy by Kate Summerscale

In 1857, a child was convicted of murdering his mother after her body was found decomposing in their home. This lurid point of entry belies a fascinating and surprisingly compassionate examination of a crime that gripped Victorian London. Like the best crime narratives, its focus is not on the crime itself, but on the extraordinary ways it shaped the lives left in its wake. - Katherine

Staff Pick Badge
The Wicked Boy: An Infamous Murder in Victorian London Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143110460
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - July 4th, 2017

I'll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara

An absolute must-read for any true crime fan, this horrifying account of a decades-long California crime spree will have you locking your doors and windows at night. The compassion and bulldog advocacy McNamara brought to the story is truly a new standard for the genre, and the killer was recently apprehended in Sacramento due to her efforts.

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer Cover Image
By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062319791
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - February 26th, 2019

The Fact of a Body by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich

A compelling and carefully crafted blend of memoir and investigative journalism. The author begins with a heinous murder case she stumbled upon as a law intern, and slowly reveals how she uncovered her own deeply traumatic past while researching the murder. Her deft touch with seriously sensitive material finds hope even in the darkest of stories. - Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
The Fact of a Body: A Murder and a Memoir Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250080554
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - May 8th, 2018

Sons of Cain by Peter Vronsky

Are you a fan of true crime but getting tired of the buddy-buddy, let’s get friendly nature of its verse? Are you tired of murdered folks sharing just a bit too much for your comfort? Prefer your sociopath insights hidden behind graphs and numbers? Then this is the book for you <3 - Rachel

Staff Pick Badge
Sons of Cain: A History of Serial Killers from the Stone Age to the Present Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780425276976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - August 14th, 2018

The Feral Detective by Jonathan Lethem

Phoebe Siegler, a Manhattan woman who finds herself shattered and floundering after the results of the presidential election, jumps to volunteer to find her close friend’s runaway daughter. Following leads to the California desert, Phoebe meets an obscure private detective known for his ability to find and aid runaways and strays. In search of the missing girl, the two set out on a journey that feels chimerical and twisted. The pair must rely on the desert’s fringe inhabitants, and the story starts to hint of violence and turmoil. This novel/mystery/love story is both an enigmatic tale of being lost and found and a frame for the subtext of a divided America, one where truth, power, and the haves and the have-nots are in need of deep scrutiny. - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Badge
The Feral Detective: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062859068
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Ecco - November 6th, 2018

The Hole by Hye-Young Pyun

If you liked Stephen King’s classic Misery, pick up a copy of this tense, gripping novel by Hye-Young Pyun, winner of many of Korea’s top literary prizes. Oghi has woken from a coma after causing a devastating car accident that took his wife’s life and left him paralyzed and badly disfigured. Cared for by his mother-in-law, his world shrinks to the room he lies in. As Oghi searches for a way to escape, he discovers the difficult truth about his wife and the toll their life together took on her.

The Hole: A Novel Cover Image
By Hye-young Pyun, Sora Kim-Russell (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781628729917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arcade - October 23rd, 2018

The Widows of Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey

I loved this novel! Sujata Massey is a strong, confident storyteller and this captivating mystery, set in 1920s Bombay, features superb world-building, a riveting plot, and great characters. Perveen Mistry is a richly written protagonist: By turns confident and conflicted, she strives to do the right thing and is more than capable of getting herself out of trouble. Highly recommended for a fresh take on the mystery genre. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Widows of Malabar Hill (A Perveen Mistry Novel #1) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616959760
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - November 20th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery and True Crime