User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Mystery and True Crime

Falling Glass & The Cold Cold Ground by Adrian McKinty

This fall, not one, but two of McKinty’s terrific crime novels make their way to our shores. Falling Glass follows the Irish tinker (or Payee) Killian as the economic downturn forces him to take a dicey job hunting down the ex-wife and daughters of a shady Irish businessman. Of course things turn out to be a bit more complicated than they first seemed. Michael Forsythe fans will welcome a brief cameo. Not everyone’s going to like the ending, but it absolutely blew me away.

I’ve long wanted McKinty to use the material of his own life growing up in war-torn Northern Ireland, and with The Cold Cold Ground, he more than fulfills my wishes. Sean Duffy is a Roman Catholic cop stationed in a Protestant town where the police have to check under their cars every morning for mercury tilt bombs. Duffy gets assigned a case which may involve a serial killer, but he sometimes must pursue his investigations in full riot gear. Beautifully evocative of a tragic era, often tersely funny, this novel shows McKinty at the top of his game—a very high level indeed.

Reviewed by: 
Seana
Staff Pick Badge
Falling Glass Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781846687839
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Serpent's Tail - October 9th, 2012

Staff Pick Badge
The Cold Cold Ground: A Detective Sean Duffy Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781616147167
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Seventh Street Books - November 13th, 2012

Talking to the Dead by Harry Bingham

This is a mesmerizing and thrilling novel—perfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larsson—that introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates. “Fans of Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander will cotton to the heroine of British author Bingham’s highly entertaining U.S. debut, Det. Constable Fiona Griffiths, whose social awkwardness and intensity make her unpopular among her fellow officers in Cardiff, Wales.” —Publishers Weekly

Talking to the Dead Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780345533739
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Delacorte Press - September 25th, 2012

The Malice of Fortune by Michael Ennis

I dove into this thrilling mystery and didn't come up for air for two days, it was that good. Set in Renaissance Italy and filled with political intrigue, occult murders, and a tender love story, one of the most fascinating aspect was how incredibly well-researched the novel was and how much of what drives the plot is actually taken from historical records.
Reviewed by: 
Nici
Staff Pick Badge
The Malice of Fortune Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385536318
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Doubleday - September 11th, 2012

Garment of Shadows by Laurie R. King

A woman wakes in a strange room in a strange city, bandaged and bloodied from a nasty head wound, and she has no idea who she is. We, of course, know this is Mary Russell, wife of Sherlock Holmes, and we watch her wander into truly unfamiliar territory, struggling to piece together her memory, her identity and her surroundings. The latest in Laurie R King’s wildly popular series is electric, unexpected and addictive as all get out.
Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Badge
Garment of Shadows: A novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780553807998
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Bantam - September 4th, 2012

The Double Game by Dan Fesperman

Washington Post reporter Bill Cage gets drawn into the spy world of his Le Carre-esque idol Lemaster in a very unexpected way. Years after an interview in which Lemaster admits that he considered working as a double agent for the Soviets, Cage receives a note—composed of cutouts from his favorite classic spy novels—telling him to find out what really happened. The Double Game is a fast-paced espionage adventure for the Cold War buff. Don't miss it!
Reviewed by: 
Andrea
The Double Game Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780307700131
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Knopf - August 21st, 2012

The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler-Olsen

After a serious trauma, Carl Morck is assigned to Department Q, home of Denmark’s cold cases, where, to his surprise, he finds himself pulled into a case. The flawed, tormented Morck is a hero worth rooting for, and Adler-Olsen has a deft sense of humor and a knack for surprises, as evidenced by the unexpected ending. This is a fantastic thriller that will leave you wanting more. Good thing the second book is out!

Reviewed by: 
Flannery
The Keeper of Lost Causes: The First Department Q Novel (A Department Q Novel #1) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780452297906
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Dutton - July 31st, 2012

The Absent One by Jussi Adler-Olsen

I was really impressed by Adler-Olsen’s debut novel. His new book, continuing the adventures of the king of cold cases, Carl Morck, is yet another swiftly paced, thrilling mystery. There have been some changes in Dept. Q (a second assistant!), but that doesn’t stop them from digging into a case involving a group of rich, twisted killers who hide their dastardly crimes behind their fortunes. This is a fast, fun, thoroughly enjoyable read.

Reviewed by: 
Flannery
Staff Pick Badge
The Absent One Cover Image
By Jussi Adler-Olsen, K. E. Semmel (Translator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780525952893
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Dutton Books - August 21st, 2012

The Yard by Alex Grecian

Set in London right after the reign of Jack the Ripper, this novel has Walter Day— newly hired on at Scotland Yard—trying to solve the murder of a fellow detective. Afraid that they face a new Ripper and still suffering from low public opinion, the whole squad struggles with the possibility of a new type of criminal—the serial killer. Rich with historic details and full of tantalizing action, this is a fascinating look at the very start of modern police investigation—and the start of modern crime.
Reviewed by: 
Nici
Staff Pick Badge
The Yard Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780399149542
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Putnam Adult - May 29th, 2012

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Nick and Amy are unhappily married, and when Amy disappears on their fifth wedding anniversary, leaving behind a string of clues and signs of a struggle, suspicion falls on Nick. As days go by and a tabloid frenzy grows, Nick appears more and more guilty…almost too guilty. A book of masterful twists, uncomfortably real characters and moody wit—I can’t imagine a better beach read.
Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Badge
Gone Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780307588371
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Broadway Books - April 22nd, 2014

Carte Blanche by Carlo Lucarelli

It's April, 1945. Fascist Italy is on its last legs, and everyone is scrambling to save their own fortunes—or skins. Enter the enigmatic figure of Commissario DeLuca, who, though an ordinary policeman, has previously been employed by some dubious characters of the crumbling regime. All he wants to do is solve an ordinary murder. But that may be too much to ask. The first of an acclaimed trilogy.
Reviewed by: 
Seana
Carte Blanche Cover Image
By Carlo Lucarelli, Michael Reynolds (Translated by)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781933372150
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Europa Editions - July 1st, 2006

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery and True Crime