User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Mystery and True Crime

Big Sky by Kate Atkinson

Picking up a novel by Kate Atkinson always feels like running into a long-lost best friend. My brain just clicks with hers, and soon I’m 100 pages in and marveling at her ability to twist between absurd humor and piercing empathy in mere sentences. PI Jackson Brodie is my favorite of her characters, and I couldn’t be happier to see Atkinson return to his world, and to see if just this once he might catch a break (I doubt it).

Staff Pick Badge
Big Sky (Jackson Brodie #5) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316523097
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 25th, 2019

The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

The second in the Cormac Reilly series, this smartly-constructed police procedural also reads well on its own. A grisly hit-and-run on the Galway University campus sees DS Reilly heading rapidly into professional and personal crisis as his hunt for the killer leads him uncomfortably close to home. With its believable cast of characters, this series makes a good itch-scratcher for Tana French fans impatiently awaiting The Witch Elm’s paperback release. - Ilana

Staff Pick Badge
The Scholar: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143133698
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 14th, 2019

The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths

The tangled love lives of a school English department are rudely interrupted by a grisly murder in this standalone mystery. Fans of gothic suspense, British humour, and books rich with literary references will love this, as will those who, like me, have never recovered from their teenage fascination with what's really happening behind the teacher's lounge door. An excellent starting point to discover Griffiths' immensely satisfying style. Excuse me while I devour her back catalogue. - Ilana

Staff Pick Badge
The Stranger Diaries Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781328577856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - March 5th, 2019

The French Girl by Lexie Elliott

This well-crafted mystery builds momentum and suspense as the tale unfolds. Ten years ago six Oxford students vacationed at a farmhouse in the countryside of France. Severine, the French girl next door, became an integral part of their week together. On the last day of their visit, she disappeared. Now the discovery of Severine's body unearths long buried secrets that threaten everyone. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The French Girl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399586972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - March 5th, 2019

Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

This compulsively readable book is as much about NYC as it is about the two toxic friends who party in its private clubs and brownstone lofts. Burton takes you on a heart-pounding ride as Lavinia introduces Louise to a lifestyle any girl would kill for. It’s Bright Lights Big City meets The Talented Mr. Ripley, down to the last, bloody page. - Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
Social Creature: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385543521
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - June 5th, 2018

Laidlaw by William McIlvanney

A gritty crime novel set in gritty Glasgow, Laidlaw is the book that brought Tartan Noir into existence. As much about gang presence and gang culture as it is about a murderer and his victim, this is a mystery novel for fans of The Wire and The Departed. A psychological and intense detective thriller! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Laidlaw Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781609452018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - June 3rd, 2014

The Wicked Boy by Kate Summerscale

In 1857, a child was convicted of murdering his mother after her body was found decomposing in their home. This lurid point of entry belies a fascinating and surprisingly compassionate examination of a crime that gripped Victorian London. Like the best crime narratives, its focus is not on the crime itself, but on the extraordinary ways it shaped the lives left in its wake. - Katherine

Staff Pick Badge
The Wicked Boy: An Infamous Murder in Victorian London Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143110460
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - July 4th, 2017

I'll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara

An absolute must-read for any true crime fan, this horrifying account of a decades-long California crime spree will have you locking your doors and windows at night. The compassion and bulldog advocacy McNamara brought to the story is truly a new standard for the genre, and the killer was recently apprehended in Sacramento due to her efforts.

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer Cover Image
By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062319791
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - February 26th, 2019

The Fact of a Body by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich

A compelling and carefully crafted blend of memoir and investigative journalism. The author begins with a heinous murder case she stumbled upon as a law intern, and slowly reveals how she uncovered her own deeply traumatic past while researching the murder. Her deft touch with seriously sensitive material finds hope even in the darkest of stories. - Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
The Fact of a Body: A Murder and a Memoir Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250080554
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 8th, 2018

Sons of Cain by Peter Vronsky

Are you a fan of true crime but getting tired of the buddy-buddy, let’s get friendly nature of its verse? Are you tired of murdered folks sharing just a bit too much for your comfort? Prefer your sociopath insights hidden behind graphs and numbers? Then this is the book for you <3 - Rachel

Staff Pick Badge
Sons of Cain: A History of Serial Killers from the Stone Age to the Present Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780425276976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - August 14th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery and True Crime