User menu

Shopping cart



Mystery and True Crime

Invisible Written by Christina Diaz Gonzalez

In a new bilingual graphic novel, a group of diverse Latinx/Latine middle schoolers show us their individuality while they become a community. As we watch the kids put aside their differences and work together to help a houseless mother and her daughter, we see their personal struggles and growth through a healthy dose of encouragement and quarrels. This heartwarming story of a modern day The Breakfast Club is perfect for fans of Jerry Craft’s New Kid and Raina Telgemeier. —Molly

 

Staff Pick Badge
Invisible: A Graphic Novel By Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Gabriela Epstein (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338194548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 2nd, 2022

Slenderman: Online Obsession, Mental Illness, and the Violent Crime of Two Midwestern Girls by Kathleen Hale

Slenderman is a full, well-researched account of The Slenderman Stabbing, one of the most disquieting crimes of the last decade. Coverage of this story has been ongoing since the event, but this title explores new material based on interviews with those affected and court transcripts. On reading, this book is full of exquisite detail and empathy, and a desire to expound on the contribution mental illness played in the crime. If you enjoy reading or listening to true crime, you’ll devour this notable contribution to the genre. —Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
Slenderman: Online Obsession, Mental Illness, and the Violent Crime of Two Midwestern Girls By Kathleen Hale Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802159809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - August 16th, 2022

A Dreadful Splendor by B.R. Myers

Take the atmospheric details of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca and mix it with a cast of character personalities from a Jane Austen novel and what do you get? A satisfyingly creepy, Victorian era gothic mystery that is—A Dreadful Splendor by B.R. Myers. Myers creates a riveting page turner with enough plot twists that keep you guessing till the end. A perfect read for the autumn months ahead. —Kristina

Staff Pick Badge
A Dreadful Splendor: A Novel By B.R. Myers Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063209831
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 23rd, 2022

Shutter by Ramona Emerson

Indigenous photographer Rita Todacheene hears from the dead after documenting violent crime scenes. When the ghost of a victim demands justice, Rita has no choice but to put her own life on the line to solve the crime. More than a whodunnit, Shutter shows us the reality of growing up on a Navajo reservation and the familial love that can help us persevere despite the odds. —Glenn

 

Staff Pick Badge
Shutter By Ramona Emerson Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781641293334
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - August 2nd, 2022

Nettle & Bone by T. Kingfisher

I'm a sucker for fantastical quests, magical companions, and princesses who refuse to be the victim. This book delivered all that and more, with a darker spin on these tropes that I absolutely devoured. For some of us the perfect beach read takes place in a dappled wood where the vines get twisty and something magical or malicious (or both?) lingers beneath the leaves. If that sounds like a good time, Nettle & Bone is perfect for you.  —Jax

Staff Pick Badge
Nettle & Bone By T. Kingfisher Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250244048
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - April 26th, 2022

One-Shot Harry by Gary Phillips

Hardboiled but with hope, Black Korean War veteran–turned-photojournalist Harry Ingram gets the job done in this tangibly immersive historical noir. Jazz rhythms set the pace as the diverse communities of 1960s Los Angeles come to vibrant life, tensions rising ahead of a visit from Martin Luther King Jr, and Harry searches for the truth, maybe even justice, following the death of an old friend. An eminently satisfying start to a new, wholly original historical mystery series.  —Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
One-Shot Harry By Gary Phillips Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781641292917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - April 12th, 2022

Portrait of a Thief by Grace D. Li

This enthralling debut by Grace D. Li will steal your attention from the first line. Following the fates of five young Chinese American art thieves as they pilfer priceless Chinese art from Western museums, and written in a lyrical, fast-paced style, Portrait of a Thief is part heist novel and part character study. Inspired by classics of cinema like Ocean's 11 and the Fast & Furious franchise, Li’s page-turning debut will no doubt lead you to reconsider what it means to be a criminal.  —Aric

Staff Pick Badge
Portrait of a Thief: A Novel By Grace D. Li Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593184738
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tiny Reparations Books - April 5th, 2022

Breathless by Amy McCulloch

Anything can happen on the mountain. One wrong step. An improperly knotted rope. Cerebral edema. Avalanche in the dead of night. A dropped ice axe. Bad weather. A snapped neck. Travel journalist Cecily Wong has an opportunity to die for. An exclusive interview with mountaineering legend Charles McVeigh on the summit of Manaslu could make her career. Or take her life. McVeigh’s band of misfit toys enters the Death Zone and oxygen levels drop as the body count soars. Cecily must uncover the secrets of the mountain before she becomes its next victim. Perfect for fans of Into Thin Air and anyone who loves thrillers that leave them, well, breathless.   —Lindsay

Staff Pick Badge
Breathless: A Thriller By Amy McCulloch Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593315491
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - May 3rd, 2022

More Than You’ll Ever Know by Katie Gutierrez

Gutierrez’s novel gave me so much more than I expected, with its beautiful and thoughtful examinations of motherhood, marriage, and the ethics of true-crime journalism, all in the setting of an intricate and thrilling mystery. As a true-crime lover and a fan of literary prose, this novel is one of my new favorites and a definite recommendation to anyone looking for a deep story to get lost in.  —Nikole

Staff Pick Badge
More Than You'll Ever Know: A Novel By Katie Gutierrez Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063118454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - June 7th, 2022

Northern Spy by Flynn Berry

Berry’s slow-burning thriller is set against the backdrop of an alternate version of contemporary Northern Ireland. After the IRA resumes hostilities in the decades after the Good Friday Agreement, BBC producer and new mother Tessa learns that her sister Marian has been involved in terrorist activities in support of the group. Unconvinced she participated willingly, Tessa sets out to find her sister and the truth. Full of intrigue and suspense, Northern Spy is a quick and engaging read.   —Josúe

Staff Pick Badge
Northern Spy: A Novel By Flynn Berry Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735225015
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 5th, 2022

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery and True Crime