Young Reader

The creator of Smile and Drama is back! Ghosts is an all-new graphic novel set in Bahía de la Luna (a blend of Half Moon Bay and the Santa Cruz Boardwalk) that features sisters Catrina (Cat) and Maya. As Cat’s family prepares to celebrate the Day of the Dead after moving to a new town, Cat dodges black cats, ghosts, and difficult truths she doesn’t want to face. Another crowd-pleaser from Raina Telgemeier, whom Bookshop will be hosting on the Day of the Dead, November 1st. (See page 43 for details.) Ages 9–13.  —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Ghosts Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780545540612
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016

Reynolds uses a swift, light touch to tell the endearing story of a feisty black middle school boy who is rescued by running track. It’s terrific.   —Ga

 

Staff Pick Logo
Ghost (Track #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481450157
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books - August 30th, 2016

For readers who loved The One and Only Ivan or The Thing About Jellyfish. Maybe a Fox had me in its grasp from the first few sentences and didn’t let go until the last word. Gripping, heartbreaking, and lovely, this small, sweet novel holds nothing back. Sighting a fox is known to be lucky (as is believed in Jules’ small town), but Jules has been nothing but unlucky in life. When a newborn fox is born at the same moment as a tragedy occurs, Jules stands in need of all the luck she can get, and maybe a special gift from an unusual and mysterious creature. Ages 10–13. —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Maybe a Fox Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442482425
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books - March 8th, 2016

The Secret Horses of Briar Hill is a shivery, magical treat that has one foot in the real world and one in moonlight and dreams. Emmaline has been a resident at Briar Hill Hospital for Tubercular Children for as long as she can remember. But only recently has she started hearing hooves on the ceiling and caught glimpses of a winged horse in the mirror. When she finds the horse staring at her pleadingly, Emmaline knows she has a choice to make. An utterly lovely masterpiece along the lines of The Secret Garden and Narnia. Grades 4–8. —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
The Secret Horses of Briar Hill Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101939758
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - October 11th, 2016

There just aren’t enough robot camping stories. This science fiction adventure is part survival story and part celebration of wildness, with a quiet warning of climate change snaking through. We follow Roz the robot from the moment she is marooned on the island—and fortuitously activated by some curious otters—through her first harsh experiences with winter (one of the worst on record). Though faced with steep terrain and a steeper learning curve, our quirky hero Roz travels through each adversity with grace and amazing generosity. Peter Brown’s black-and-gray illustrations are sprinkled lightly throughout this book, gently giving form to his words. This near-future tale gives us a peek at the twists and turns technology might take and a chance to consider what we might do. Grades 3–5. —MICHELLE

 

Staff Pick Logo
The Wild Robot Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316381994
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 5th, 2016

This big-hearted novel will send your empathy off the charts. Perry has lived at the Blue River Coed Correctional Facility with his mom for all of his 11 years. But what’s normal to Perry—a morning run, school, dinner with his mom, and an extended family of other prisoners—looks wrong to others, who can’t imagine a life on the “inside.” It’s up to Perry to convince everyone that only by listening to each other’s stories can we find the truth. Prepare for some heart-exploding, belly-laughing fun from Newbery Award winner Leslie Connor. Ages 9–12.  —Tera

 

Staff Pick Logo
All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062333469
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 1st, 2016

This story from Newbery Medal–winning author Patricia MacLachlan starts simply enough: “I found the boy at dusk.” But with the next spare words, we are immersed in a forceful snowstorm that brings the speaker—a dog named Teddy—into the lives of two children just at the moment when everyone needs a little saving. Beside a cozy fire, the three weave together their stories while whipping up some creative suppers from provisions on hand. The seemingly disparate threads weave together as the blizzard takes its course, taking us through poetry lessons past and present. Maybe only children and poets can hear the dog speak, but aren’t we all children and poets at heart? Grades 3 & up.  —MICHELLE

Staff Pick Logo
The Poet's Dog Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062292629
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 13th, 2016

Adam Rex tells a story that is so perfect it’s hard to believe no one else has thought of it before. The newly built Frederick Douglass Elementary is nervous about his first day of school. His friend the janitor, who is laconic yet warm, assures him that the kids will like him, that he can be himself (even if he did accidently have a fire drill). Feeling comfortable in one’s own skin, or bricks, while experiencing new ideas is what learning is all about. The acrylic paint and collage illustrations of Christian Robinson (the 2016 Caldecott winner) open the door to the school, where we see that when the children came, “there were more of them than the school could possibly have imagined. They got everywhere.” Author Adam Rex, who in the past has impressed with clever word play and complex construction, here revels in simple lines, easy cadence, quiet wit, and tenderness. While School’s First Day is ostensibly about a particular situation, this book can be read (and read and read) as a sweet, gentle way of overcoming fear. Grades pre-K–2.  — GA

 

Staff Pick Logo
School's First Day of School Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781596439641
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - June 28th, 2016

Probably the most heartfelt book about cowboys that will ever exist, this lovely paean to life on the range celebrates loyalty, endurance, diversity, and the occasional good cry. I fell in love with the ephemeral, soulful art of Jonathan Bean, and with the unexpected sincerity of Kate Hoefler’s mesmerizing, poetic text. This is fast becoming my favorite book of the year. Each time I read it, I fall harder. Ages 5–8. —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Real Cowboys Cover Image
By Kate Hoefler, Jonathan Bean (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544148925
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 4th, 2016

A young boy feels overwhelmed by his unusual name, which he shares with his boisterous, strong, and loving father. Thunder Boy Jr. is eager to find a name that’s truly his own, and it is eventually granted to him by his thoughtful father: Now he’s “Lightning.” “Together my dad and I will become amazing weather.” Written by the brilliant Sherman Alexie (in his first foray into picture books), this story is illustrated by the multi-award–winning artist Yuyi Morales. Her art sparkles and crashes and bursts with emotion, while the textures of her bold, multimedia collages are taken from the clay bricks and wood of a crumbling, antique house in Mexico, near where she has her studio. Ages 4 & up.  —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Thunder Boy Jr. Cover Image
By Sherman Alexie, Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316013727
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 10th, 2016

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060