User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Young Reader

Martin McLean, Middle School Queen by Alyssa Zaczek

Mathlete, amateur astronomer, and… drag queen? Martin McLean is a quiet kid dealing with middle school by making the least amount of noise possible; that is, until his Tío Billy introduces him to the world of drag, and he finds a new way to express himself. Lose yourself in this tender story about self-discovery and the power of community. 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Martin McLean, Middle School Queen Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781454935704
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sterling Children's Books - January 7th, 2020

The List of Things That Will Not Change by Rebecca Stead

Rebecca Stead really knows young people and what they think about. Bea, age ten, has lots of things on her mind like her parents’ divorce, bothersome eczema, difficult classmates, the desire for a sister, and her father’s upcoming marriage to a wonderful man named Jesse. Fortunately, Miriam, her therapist, can help. Any young reader will identify with Bea, who learns that “….life is a trip. A very long one. And what matters most is the people you travel with.”

 

Staff Pick Badge
The List of Things That Will Not Change Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101938096
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - April 7th, 2020

From the Desk of Zoe Washington by Janae Marks

I loved watching Zoe’s transformation from someone who knows little about social justice to a person determined to help right a egregious wrong. I also appreciated how friendship was examined in this book: when Zoe catches her friend not standing up for her, she expects him not only to apologize but also to change his behavior—good modeling for all, especially girls. A great choice for fans of A Good Kind of Trouble and Lalani of the Distant Sea.

 

Staff Pick Badge
From the Desk of Zoe Washington Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062875853
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 14th, 2020

Black Brother, Black Brother by Jewell Parker Rhodes

After unnecessary escalation by school administration, Donte, who is Black, finds himself in the back of a cop car and suspended from school. His white-passing brother, Trey, doesn’t understand why people treat Donte differently, but both find ways forward from an unlikely place. Complex and raw, this book challenged me in the best way and showed me a new perspective on racial injustice. Perfect for kids not quite ready for The Hate U Give.

 

Staff Pick Badge
Black Brother, Black Brother Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316493802
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 3rd, 2020

Harbor Me by Jacqueline Woodson

Every kid has a story, and the students in classroom 501 have nothing to do but talk. A clever teacher has corralled some of the “left behind” kids into a room and banished their phones. It takes a while, but when their words break open, each kid begins to truly see the other. A snappy, compelling story about compassion and empathy. Grades 5–8. - Tera

Staff Pick Badge
Harbor Me Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399252525
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2018

Winnie's Great War written by Lindsay Mattick & Josh Greenhut; illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Winnie-the-Pooh was based on a real bear (as many of us know), but this version of her story is unspeakably charming and deftly retold. Winnie is rescued after her mother dies, and is brought up by a thoughtful boy, then by a veterinarian who takes care of the horses being transported to wartime Europe. Sensitive Winnie wants nothing but to make everyone around her laugh at her antics. We can’t help but feel and hope for her safe return to the woods of Canada. Like Charlotte’s Web or Bambi, this read-aloud book will enchant and transport every listener. Grades 3–6. - Tera

Staff Pick Badge
Winnie's Great War Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316447126
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 18th, 2018

Inkling & Bob

Two really funny books about a boy and girl who are befriended and aided by extra-ordinary companions. (One is an anthropomorphic inkblot. The other is a clever, sweet, green-hued, demigod-like well-dweller—in a chicken suit.) Heartwarming and zany, with great artwork. For kids who found Wild Robot irresistible. Grades 3–6. - Ga

Staff Pick Badge
Inkling Cover Image
By Kenneth Oppel, Sydney Smith (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524772819
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - November 6th, 2018

Staff Pick Badge
Bob Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250166623
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - May 1st, 2018

Louisiana's Way Home by Kate DiCamillo

Sweet, vulnerable, but rather crafty when it comes down to it, Louisiana is pulled along by her granny into a roadtrip adventure she doesn’t want to take. Along the way she meets Burke Allen and his pet crow, talks her way into the hearts of those around her, and discovers she is not the person she thought she was. Kate DiCamillo is one of the masters of children’s literature and she charms us all the way through this tale of a girl who has strayed very far from home. Grades 4–6. - Tera

Staff Pick Badge
Louisiana's Way Home Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763694630
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Candlewick - October 2nd, 2018

The Book of Boy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

A medieval setting, ancient relics, a quest. It all sounds like something that has been done before, but this fantasy is peculiar in a way you wouldn’t expect. You see, Boy (the humble goatherd taken up by a passing sorcerer), well, he may not be a boy at all, but neither is he the opposite. What he is and what that means to him is something that will have to be discovered along the way. The Book of Boy is a rich, satisfying novel, drawing heavily on medieval mysticism and crafted with impressive literary aplomb by Catherine Murdock. Grades 4–6. - Tera

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Boy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062686206
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 6th, 2018

Endling: The Last by Katherine Applegate

Three not-yet-friends team up to hunt for a rumored land where 11-year-old Byx—our lead character—may find others of her kind and mitigate the pain of being the last of her species, an endling. Byx is a Dairne; she’s canine’ish, speaks intelligently, walks upright, and, when in need of swift locomotion, glides small distances. She rescues Tobble, a small, round, fiercely loyal, unfailingly polite Wobbyk. They travel with a human (Can you trust them? Humans are among the six species vying for power in Nedarra and are responsible for the genocide of Byx’s people.) The human Khara is 14 years old, brown-skinned, disguised as a boy, and playing her own intricate game. As they hunt for Dairneland, Byx, Tobble, and Khara are being hunted due to another skill the Dairne possess: the invaluable ability to always recognize a lie. This book is not just a whimsical animal fantasy; it is a brightly shattering, all-too-aware environmental novel with a bracingly quick pace, set in a highly believable landscape, and one of my favorite books this season. Grades 4–7. - Ga

Staff Pick Badge
Endling #1: The Last Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062335524
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 1st, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Young Reader