User menu

Shopping cart



Young Reader

No! Said Custard the Squirrel by Sergio Ruzzier

Always delightfully silly, Ruzzier’s early reader combines lovable characters with fun and interesting words. It’s just the book for kids who are learning to read and pronounce larger words through repetition, plus who can resist a story about saying “No!”. Recommended for kids at the beginning of their reading journey that want an exciting and ridiculous, but not too challenging read. —Eli

Staff Pick Badge
NO! Said Custard the Squirrel By Sergio Ruzzier Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781419755248
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - September 6th, 2022

Anna Hibiscus, Book 1 Written by Atinuke

Anna Hibiscus is a loving, adventurous little girl living in Africa, amazing Africa, whose stories by Nigeria-born Atinuke are brought to life by Lauren Tobia's playful illustrations. Anna's escapades are funny and relatable to any small child (and any older friends reading along). Finally back in print, this fun, heart-warming series about Anna, her big, boisterous family, and her boundless curiosity is great for kids excited for all the experiences offered by this bright big world. —Jocelyn
 

Staff Pick Badge
Anna Hibiscus By Atinuke, Lauren Tobia (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Atinuke, Lauren Tobia (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781536225235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - April 12th, 2022

Training Day (El Toro & Friends) Written by Raúl the Third Colors by Elaine Bay

It’s training day for El Toro, and he’s got a lot to cover if he’s going to smash The Wall! But sleeping in sounds so much better than training…. Although I’m no luchador, like El Toro I too cherish my sleep. Lovably silly characters, dynamic graphics, and trippy colors make this a visually rich read. By incorporating Spanish and English, this book will appeal to bilingual readers and language learners alike. — Eli

Staff Pick Badge
Training Day: El Toro & Friends (World of ¡Vamos!) By III Raúl the Third Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780358380382
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Versify - May 4th, 2021

Azmina the Gold Glitter Dragon (Dragon Girls, Book 1) by Maddy Mara

Moving from a city to a small town is quite the adjustment, but Azmina did not count on having a magical destiny as part of her move. Following a mysterious call in her new backyard, she learns she’s actually the Gold Glitter Dragon and needs to save the Magic Forest. Fun and inventive, this is a terrific start of an adventure for fans of Dragon Master and Kingdom of Wrenly. The first three books in the series debut simultaneously. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Azmina the Gold Glitter Dragon (Dragon Girls #1) By Maddy Mara Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781338680638
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - May 4th, 2021

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey (Maybe Marisol, Book 1) by Erin Entrada Kelly

I absolutely loved reading this book and spending time with Newbery medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s Marisol Rainey and her world. Each stage of the story stands on its own and is relatable for people of all ages and genders. The book is broken into chapters that are ideal for an early reader to work through on their own or for the family to share at bedtime. I saw myself in Marisol, as I think anyone who has ever needed a reminder that they are smart, creative, and brave will. — Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey By Erin Entrada Kelly, Erin Entrada Kelly (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062970428
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 4th, 2021

Skunk and Badger, Book 1 Written by Amy Timberlake Illustrated by Jon Klassen

Badger’s Important Rock Work must take a backseat when Skunk knocks on the door of his brownstone. Yet Skunk is much more than an unwelcome distraction, and by morning has served up the first of many antidotes to Badger’s solitary grumpiness. Odd-couple stories! It’s so easy to identify with the traits of one while yearning to be more like the other. Klassen’s earthy illustrations supply the details in this frolicking tale to read aloud or together, with more adventures promised. — Michelle

Staff Pick Badge
Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

Willa the Wisp: The Fabled Stables, Book 1 Written by Jonathan Auxier Illustrated by Olga Demidova

This delightful, highly illustrated chapter book is perfect for early readers who love animals and dream of adventures where they get to save the day. Auxier introduces readers to a cast of fascinating characters and creatures, chief among them Auggie, the young caretaker of the Fabled Stables. Demidova’s colorful illustrations move you through the story, and are playful when things are light-hearted and exciting during action sequences. A great start to a wonderful new series. — Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Willa the Wisp (The Fabled Stables Book #1) By Jonathan Auxier, Olga Demidova (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jonathan Auxier, Olga Demidova (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781419742699
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Amulet Books - October 20th, 2020

What About Worms!? (Elephant & Piggie Like Reading!) by Ryan T. Higgins and Mo Willems

What in the world could be worse than worms? Worrying about worms! When is the worry worthwhile? Any time it’s wrapped up in a new addition to the Elephant & Piggie canon. Fans of Mo Willems’s original early reader series will get a big kick out of Tiger and his wormy escapades along with the delightful wordplay from Elephant & Piggie themselves in the opening and closing pages.

Staff Pick Badge
What About Worms!? (Elephant & Piggie Like Reading!) By Ryan Higgins, Mo Willems Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781368045735
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - May 19th, 2020

King & Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor Written by Dori Hillestad Butler Illustrated by Nancy Meyers

Amateur detectives King (a big friendly dog) and Kayla (his girl) are back, serving up clue after clue as they get to the root of a recent neighborhood mystery. Kayla and her friend Jillian make keen observations, carry out experiments, and analyze data, but they’re always a paw-step behind our intrepid narrator King and his dog buddies. For fans of Nate the Great and Cam Jansen, this early chapter book gives a delightful taste of both kid and dog reasoning.

Staff Pick Badge
King & Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor By Dori Hillestad Butler, Nancy Meyers (Illustrator) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781682630563
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Peachtree - March 3rd, 2020

When You Trap a Tiger by Tae Keller

This story layers themes of Korean culture, family, and fantasy and highlights the importance of family history and our connections to our loved ones who are no longer with us. I related to Lily’s connection to her family through the stories and recipes passed down to her. This will be an interesting read for fans of folktales, myths, or Korean culture and will be helpful to anyone going through a big change or processing grief. —CELESTE

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
When You Trap a Tiger: (Winner of the 2021 Newbery Medal) By Tae Keller Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524715700
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 28th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Young Reader