User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

History, Biography, and Politics

Smoke Gets In Your Eyes by Caitlin Doughty

I fell in love with this book for the wonderfully written, humorous, heart-breaking story of Doughty herself. If you’re a fan of weird science or the macabre, chances are you’ve heard of this – the entertainingly honest memoir of a modern-day mortician. If, like me, you put off picking it up, take my word for it and hesitate no longer. I was fascinated by the humanizing facts of death. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Logo
Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393351903
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 28th, 2015

Deep Creek by Pam Houston

It takes a certain kind of person - animal-lover, star-gazer, adventure seeker - to thrive while living at 9,000 feet. Pam Houston’s full heart and indomitable spirit are on full display in this memoir, which contains all the meditative and hopeful vignettes fans of Houston have come to expect. A great choice for fans of Cheryl Strayed and Terry Tempest Williams! - Jess

Staff Pick Logo
Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780393241020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 29th, 2019

The Red Parts by Maggie Nelson

The stunning follow up to her 2005 memoir in verse, Jane, this book's form is what makes it so powerful. Part true crime, part memoir, The Red Parts is most interesting when the moving personal story of grief at its core becomes a cultural critique of America's obsession with violence against women. - Kristi

Staff Pick Logo
The Red Parts: Autobiography of a Trial Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - April 5th, 2016

Call Them by Their True Names by Rebecca Solnit

The vision of a better future doesn’t have to deny the crimes and sufferings of the present; it matters because of them.” Solnit covers topics from the gentrification of San Francisco to the horror of the 2016 election. I was kicked in the teeth with every sentence, but it also reverberated in my brain that even though we have miles to go, there are others to help us on the journey. - Karena

Staff Pick Logo
Call Them by Their True Names: American Crises (and Essays) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781608469468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Haymarket Books - September 4th, 2018

Brothers of the Gun by Marwan Hisham & Molly Crabapple

From young Arab Spring protester in 2011 to war journalist in Raqqa at the height of the Syrian War. This vivid coming-of-age tale of Hisham and his two childhood friends' wildly different paths paints a complicated picture of the breadth of experiences and factors at play in the conflict. Crabapple’s illustrations brings alive the people and emotions on the ground in Syria. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
Brothers of the Gun: A Memoir of the Syrian War Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590627
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - May 15th, 2018

Dirty River by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha

I experienced every emotion I’ve ever experienced, plus maybe one or two new ones, while reading this book. “Dirty River” is about a queer, disabled, woman of color building community, facing her trauma, and building a better life for herself. A clever voice and an incredible life makes for a great read. - Wren

Staff Pick Logo
Dirty River: A Queer Femme of Color Dreaming Her Way Home Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781551526003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - November 3rd, 2015

American Overdose by Chris McGreal

The opioid crisis has recently received considerable coverage in the media nation-wide. However, it is not in any way, a new phenomenon, and for years, a great effort was expended to obscure its severity. McGreal’s investigative journalism reads like true crime and the story he tells is tragic, common, and ongoing. - Jade

American Overdose: The Opioid Tragedy in Three Acts Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781610398619
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: PublicAffairs - November 13th, 2018

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

If you’ve heard Beyonce’s song “Flawless,” you’ve already been exposed to a sampling of this incredible treatise. Adichie explains feminism in a straightforward way that makes it easy for everyone to claim it. Set this one out in a prominent place in your home and use it as a litmus test for anyone you’re newly dating. If they nod along to it while they’re reading, they’re a keeper! - Jess

Staff Pick Logo
We Should All Be Feminists Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781101911761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - February 3rd, 2015

Maid by Stephanie Land

The way this country reviles people in need of government assistance has always appalled me. As a child of parents who have, at one time or another been those people, Maid resonated. Land thoughtfully recounts her experiences being a working mom with no support and abusive partners, proving yet again how this country is built on the backs of the invisible and ignored. - Karena

Staff Pick Logo
Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316505116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - January 22nd, 2019

The Ornament of the World by Maria Rosa Menocal

Countering the assumption of the Middle Ages as stagnant and prejudiced, Menocal explores the diverse, flourishing world of Muslim Spain. I was fascinated by the cultural exchange between Muslims, Christians, and Jews that nourished such unique art, poetry, philosophy, and architecture. Beautiful history writing with a hopeful message. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
The Ornament of the World: How Muslims, Jews, and Christians Created a Culture of Tolerance in Medieval Spain Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316168717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - April 2nd, 2003

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - History, Biography, and Politics