User menu

Shopping cart



Trey's Reviews

Year of the Monkey by Patti Smith

Patti Smith’s latest memoir begins in Santa Cruz at the Dream Inn early on the morning of New Year’s Day, 2016. The book is hypnotic and dreamy, weaving in and out of what’s real and what’s not real but is still true, often with no warning. This is a book about the loss of dear friends, about aging, the political landscape, and drinking lots of coffee. Anything is possible on a strange and beautiful journey with Patti Smith. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Year of the Monkey Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780525657682
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Knopf - September 24th, 2019

The New Orleans Kitchen by Justin Devillier

Bring the glorious cuisine of New Orleans into your home kitchen with this comprehensive instructional cookbook from award-winning chef Justin Devillier. I grew up in the rich food culture of New Orleans and I’m here to tell you that this is the real deal. Mouth-watering classic recipes that have been updated with practical modern techniques. New creative favorites that are sure to please. Duck and Andouille Gumbo. Crawfish Etouffée. Sticky Chicken. Blue Crab Beignets. Café au Lait Ice Cream. Laissez les bons temps rouler! -Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The New Orleans Kitchen: Classic Recipes and Modern Techniques for an Unrivaled Cuisine [A Cookbook] Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9780399582295
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lorena Jones Books - October 29th, 2019

Semiosis by Sue Burke

This debut sci-fi novel is an engrossing tale of space colonization and alien first contact on a world full of sentient plants. The saga spans 100 years and 6 generations, each with its own unique story. Infusing plants with sentience and agency gives the book an eerie quality that’s hard to shake. Thought-provoking concepts, excellent world-building, and solid character development. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Semiosis: A Novel (Semiosis Duology #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765391360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - March 12th, 2019

A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook by Bob Stahl

Stress is an unavoidable part of modern life for most of us. This workbook is a practical introduction to using mindfulness meditation to reduce and manage stress. It includes well-organized information about alleviating stress, anxiety, panic, depression, and chronic pain. This revised and updated 2nd edition can help you permanently change the way you handle stress in your daily life. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781684033553
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Harbinger Publications - September 1st, 2019

The Lost Vintage by Ann Mah

WWII Historical Fiction set in the vineyards of beautiful Burgundy France. This is a compelling story of survival during the German Occupation. A captivating tale of family, wine, romance, and mystery. Ann Mah has crafted a dual timeline story that pairs present-day Kate with her great aunt Helen-Marie. A long-lost diary found at the family’s ancestral vineyard reveals secrets buried in the past. Complex characters and rich descriptive language make this an enjoyable and enlightening read. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Vintage: A Novel Cover Image
By Ann Mah
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062823328
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 6th, 2019

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

This remarkable debut novel is a richly imagined tale that immerses the reader in a unique culture. Interstellar politics set the stage for a murder mystery, a struggle of assimilation and questions of identity. Fascinating characters, an intricate plot, and a background of stars make this a brilliant space opera. Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, Yoon Ha Lee and Issac Asimov. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250186430
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Tor Books - March 26th, 2019

The Color of Bee Larkham's Murder by Sarah J. Harris

A kaleidoscope of colors permeates this creative coming of age story.  Jason, age 13, has synesthesia and face blindness. He sees colors instead of hearing sounds. He can only identify people by the color of their voice and the clothes they wear. When police discover the body of his neighbor, Jason believes he may have been witness to a murder. This is a fascinating and unique mystery. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The Color of Bee Larkham's Murder: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781501187902
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Atria Books - February 5th, 2019

Talk to Me by James Vlahos

Voice computing represents the biggest shift in how we interact with computers since the advent of the smart phone. The changes brought on by Siri and Alexa are affecting every aspect of our lives. This well researched book provides a fascinating account of how voice computing developed the current state of the technology, and the possibilities and pitfalls of its future. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Talk To Me: How Voice Computing Will Transform the Way We Live, Work, and Think Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781328799302
Availability: Hard to Find - Believed to be Out of Stock Indefinitely
Published: Harper - March 26th, 2019

The Forking Trolley by James M. Russell

Are you a fan of the popular sitcom The Good Place?  Would you like to dig a bit deeper into the ethical dilemmas explored on the show? If so, this book is for you! Russell uses traditional and modern thought experiments to provide a concise, illuminating tour of the main issues humans face when trying to "do the right thing". This is a great introduction to Ethical Philosophy. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The Forking Trolley: An Ethical Journey to The Good Place Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781786750792
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Palazzo Editions - May 4th, 2019

My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing

Dexter meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in a delightful, dark and twisted psychological thriller that features a perfect loving couple with the requisite two kids, nice house, and great jobs, who also happen to be serial killers. Samantha Downing’s devious plot goes well with her warped characters in this impressive debut. The surprising twists kept me turning the pages until the final unexpected stab at the end! - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
My Lovely Wife Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780451491725
Availability: Hard to Find - Believed to be Out of Stock Indefinitely
Published: Berkley - March 26th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Trey's Reviews