User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Trey's Reviews

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

This remarkable debut novel is a richly imagined tale that immerses the reader in a unique culture. Interstellar politics set the stage for a murder mystery, a struggle of assimilation and questions of identity. Fascinating characters, an intricate plot, and a background of stars make this a brilliant space opera. Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, Yoon Ha Lee and Issac Asimov. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250186430
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - March 26th, 2019

The Color of Bee Larkham's Murder by Sarah J. Harris

A kaleidoscope of colors permeates this creative coming of age story.  Jason, age 13, has synesthesia and face blindness. He sees colors instead of hearing sounds. He can only identify people by the color of their voice and the clothes they wear. When police discover the body of his neighbor, Jason believes he may have been witness to a murder. This is a fascinating and unique mystery. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The Color of Bee Larkham's Murder: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501187902
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 5th, 2019

Talk to Me by James Vlahos

Voice computing represents the biggest shift in how we interact with computers since the advent of the smart phone. The changes brought on by Siri and Alexa are affecting every aspect of our lives. This well researched book provides a fascinating account of how voice computing developed the current state of the technology, and the possibilities and pitfalls of its future. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Talk to Me: How Voice Computing Will Transform the Way We Live, Work, and Think Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781328799302
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - March 26th, 2019

The Forking Trolley by James M. Russell

Are you a fan of the popular sitcom The Good Place?  Would you like to dig a bit deeper into the ethical dilemmas explored on the show? If so, this book is for you! Russell uses traditional and modern thought experiments to provide a concise, illuminating tour of the main issues humans face when trying to "do the right thing". This is a great introduction to Ethical Philosophy. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The Forking Trolley: An Ethical Journey to The Good Place Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781786750792
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Palazzo Editions - May 4th, 2019

My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing

Dexter meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in a delightful, dark and twisted psychological thriller that features a perfect loving couple with the requisite two kids, nice house, and great jobs, who also happen to be serial killers. Samantha Downing’s devious plot goes well with her warped characters in this impressive debut. The surprising twists kept me turning the pages until the final unexpected stab at the end! - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
My Lovely Wife Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780451491725
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - March 26th, 2019

Blood Relations by Jonathan Moore

Rough-and-tumble San Francisco private eye Lee Crowe gets more than he bargained for in this gritty mystery/thriller. Questions start to pile up as he investigates the suspicious death of a wealthy young woman. What are the strange marks on her back? Who is the woman living in her home, marked in the same way? Jonathan Moore has written a well-crafted, engaging tale. This is an author worth checking out.  - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Blood Relations Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781328987815
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - June 18th, 2019

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

A whirlwind inside account of the rise and fall of the 70’s legendary rock band Daisy Jones & The Six. Well written and believable as a biography of a real band, this unique and fun novel is hard to put down once started. The unusual interview style illuminates the complex dynamics propelling the band to stardom. This is an entertaining read for all fans of rock and roll. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Daisy Jones & The Six: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524798628
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - March 5th, 2019

The French Girl by Lexie Elliott

This well-crafted mystery builds momentum and suspense as the tale unfolds. Ten years ago six Oxford students vacationed at a farmhouse in the countryside of France. Severine, the French girl next door, became an integral part of their week together. On the last day of their visit, she disappeared. Now the discovery of Severine's body unearths long buried secrets that threaten everyone. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The French Girl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399586972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - March 5th, 2019

Waiting for Bojangles by Olivier Bourdeant

A beautiful French novel exploring the difficult subject of mental illness. Written to the soundtrack of Nina Simone singing Mr. Bojangles, this is a magical love story. A young boy tells the story of watching his parents dance their way through life even as his mother descends into madness. This is a book that will make you laugh and cry. An international bestseller. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Waiting for Bojangles Cover Image
By Olivier Bourdeaut, Regan Kramer (Translated by)
$23.99
ISBN: 9781501145919
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 19th, 2019

Any Man by Amber Tamblyn

This daring debut novel by actress, poet, and activist Amber Tamblyn is a powerful gut-wrenching indictment of sexual violence. A gender role reversal has the effect of immersing the reader into the dark emotional and physical aftermath of sexual assault. Tamblyn's brilliant mix of prose and poetry had me captured from the first page. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Any Man: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062688927
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - June 26th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Trey's Reviews