User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Tera's Reviews

All in a Day written by Cynthia Rylant, illustrated by Nikki McClure

Newbery Award–winner Cynthia Rylant celebrates all the little treasures a day brings, from planting seeds to sailing a paper boat in a puddle. Nikki McClure illustrates this board book with gorgeous black silhouettes set against bright backdrops of yellow and blue. - Tera

Staff Pick Badge
All in a Day Cover Image
By Cynthia Rylant, Nikki McClure (Illustrator)
$8.95
ISBN: 9781419726125
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - May 2nd, 2017

The Other Slavery by Andres Resendez

The Other Slavery is a masterful new picture of the Americas, unlike anything in a conventional history book. It is a sweeping story of how conquest, debt peonage, and bureaucratic sleight-of-hand were used to cover up a vast slave-trading network that began in the Caribbean and spread through Latin America, and New Mexico, California, and the rest of the American West, affecting millions of Native Americans. Written with a storyteller’s aplomb and a historian’s expertise, it kept my jaw dropping and my light on late into the night. - Tera

Staff Pick Badge
The Other Slavery: The Uncovered Story of Indian Enslavement in America Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780544947108
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - April 18th, 2017

Lucy and Linh by Alice Pung

Funny, sarcastic, and real, Lucy is a heroine who is just trying to make it out of adolescence with her self-respect intact. This gem from an Asian-Australian writer penetrates deeply into how we try to leave our old selves behind for something shiny and new—and how that never works out. A standout like Eleanor & Park and I’ll Give You the Sun, this is by far my favorite young adult book of the year. Read this book! Ages 13 & up.                                                   —TERA

Staff Pick Badge
Lucy and Linh Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399550485
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 6th, 2016

March: Book Three by John Lewis

All three books in Congressman John Lewis’ epic graphic novel biography series have received massive acclaim. Compulsively readable and powerfully told, March: Book Three takes graphic novel literature to a new level, while also teaching with visceral impact about the civil rights movement. This final book in the trilogy takes on the tumultuous years before the passage of the Voting Rights Act in 1965. Great literature that digs deep into justice, nonviolence, and courage. Ages 12 & up.        —TERA

Staff Pick Badge
March: Book Three Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781603094023
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 2nd, 2016

The Swan Riders by Erin Bow

Even better than Scorpion Rules, the first book in the series, The Swan Riders is gripping from beginning to end, with a fast, tight plot that keeps you wanting more. But what makes it unique among young adult science fiction novels is the relationship between Greta, royal heir of the Pan Polar Confederacy, and Talis, the AI who controls the fate of the world in his spider’s web. When one of his incarnations breaks away from the central mastermind, he starts to experience what enforced peace, free will, and emotional attachment mean on the human level. Even an AI can have doubts in this utterly fascinating dystopian novel. Ages 13 & up.  —TERA

Staff Pick Badge
The Swan Riders (Prisoners of Peace) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481442749
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 20th, 2016

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

Luna was left in the woods as an infant by superstitious villagers. Xan, a witch, intends to take her for adoption to a nearby town but can’t seem to part with her. When she feeds her on the moon’s magic, Xan knows she’s created a big problem: Luna has magic, and too much of it. Meanwhile, something evil suppresses the hopes of the villagers, feeding on their despair. A delightful fantasy, featuring a kindly witch, a sage swamp monster, his buddy (a miniature dragon who imagines himself big), and an epic struggle to save the forest. For readers of Jinx, Real Boy, and Rick Riordan. Grades 5–8.  —TERA

 

Staff Pick Badge
The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616205676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier

The creator of Smile and Drama is back! Ghosts is an all-new graphic novel set in Bahía de la Luna (a blend of Half Moon Bay and the Santa Cruz Boardwalk) that features sisters Catrina (Cat) and Maya. As Cat’s family prepares to celebrate the Day of the Dead after moving to a new town, Cat dodges black cats, ghosts, and difficult truths she doesn’t want to face. Another crowd-pleaser from Raina Telgemeier, whom Bookshop will be hosting on the Day of the Dead, November 1st. (See page 43 for details.) Ages 9–13.  —TERA

 

Staff Pick Badge
Ghosts Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780545540612
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016

Maybe a Fox by Kathi Appelt

For readers who loved The One and Only Ivan or The Thing About Jellyfish. Maybe a Fox had me in its grasp from the first few sentences and didn’t let go until the last word. Gripping, heartbreaking, and lovely, this small, sweet novel holds nothing back. Sighting a fox is known to be lucky (as is believed in Jules’ small town), but Jules has been nothing but unlucky in life. When a newborn fox is born at the same moment as a tragedy occurs, Jules stands in need of all the luck she can get, and maybe a special gift from an unusual and mysterious creature. Ages 10–13. —TERA

 

Staff Pick Badge
Maybe a Fox Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442482425
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - March 8th, 2016

The Secret Horses of Briar Hill by Megan Shepherd

The Secret Horses of Briar Hill is a shivery, magical treat that has one foot in the real world and one in moonlight and dreams. Emmaline has been a resident at Briar Hill Hospital for Tubercular Children for as long as she can remember. But only recently has she started hearing hooves on the ceiling and caught glimpses of a winged horse in the mirror. When she finds the horse staring at her pleadingly, Emmaline knows she has a choice to make. An utterly lovely masterpiece along the lines of The Secret Garden and Narnia. Grades 4–8. —TERA

 

Staff Pick Badge
The Secret Horses of Briar Hill Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781101939758
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - October 11th, 2016

All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook by Leslie Connor

This big-hearted novel will send your empathy off the charts. Perry has lived at the Blue River Coed Correctional Facility with his mom for all of his 11 years. But what’s normal to Perry—a morning run, school, dinner with his mom, and an extended family of other prisoners—looks wrong to others, who can’t imagine a life on the “inside.” It’s up to Perry to convince everyone that only by listening to each other’s stories can we find the truth. Prepare for some heart-exploding, belly-laughing fun from Newbery Award winner Leslie Connor. Ages 9–12.  —Tera

 

Staff Pick Badge
All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062333469
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 1st, 2016

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Tera's Reviews