User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Stuart's Reviews

Rivers by Michael Farris Smith

Perfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy and Paolo Bacigalupi, this gripping, atmospheric, and sparsely beautiful sci-fi novel imagines a near-future Mississippi Gulf Coast ravaged by climate change. The narrative Smith constructs is a bleak one, but this novel features outstanding worldbuilding, fine details, and deeply human characters. - Stuart

Rivers: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781451699432
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - September 9th, 2014

Exhalation by Ted Chiang

Ted Chiang is one of the best modern speculative fiction writers, and his writing encompasses the breadth of the human experience. The stories in this collection are subtle, introspective, and incredibly smart, and Chiang masterfully explores themes of science, theology, fate, heartbreak, and love. I can’t recommend this highly enough for fans of literary science fiction. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Exhalation: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781101947883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - May 7th, 2019

Seven Blades in Black by Sam Sykes

Sal the Cacophony is a gunslinging wizard-hunter on a mission of vengeance, and—armed with a giant sentient handgun—she’s on the hunt for seven vicious outlaw magicians. This book is brutal and bloody with big battles and lots of action, but also features rich, inventive worldbuilding, snappy dialogue, and characters with surprising humor and heart. I couldn’t put it down! - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Seven Blades in Black (The Grave of Empires #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316363433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - April 9th, 2019

3-Step Slow Cooker Cookbook by Drew Maresco

I’m usually too busy to make a meal every night, so my slow cooker has become a godsend. Drew Maresco has made my life even easier with this cookbook, with recipes that are both delicious and extremely easy to prepare. This fantastic cookbook is packed with gorgeous, full-page pictures and covers a wide variety of culinary traditions, and includes vegetarian options. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
3-Step Slow Cooker Cookbook: Delicious, Hassle-Free Homemade Meals Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781624147234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Publishing - January 29th, 2019

The Cost of These Dreams by Wright Thompson

Wright Thompson is one of America’s best long-form sportswriters because his stories are never “just” about sports. Thompson explores sports through the lenses of people, politics, regions, culture, and history with a deft eye, keen wit, and profound empathy, and delivers his stories through gorgeous prose. Thompson is a treasure, and while this collection is a must-read for sports fans, non–sports fans will absolutely be able to appreciate and enjoy Thompson’s writing, too. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Cost of These Dreams: Sports Stories and Other Serious Business Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143133872
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 2nd, 2019

Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

I couldn’t put down this rip-roaring sequel of a novel. Roanhorse assumes you’re already familiar with the world she created in Trail of Lightning, which allows her to throw you headlong into a pulse-pounding adventure in the postapocalyptic hinterlands beyond the Navajo Nation’s protective wall. She continues to explore the complex, troubled characters from her first novel, introduces a couple of wonderful new heroes, and efficiently sets up the third book while still delivering a propulsive and captivating story. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Storm of Locusts (The Sixth World #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534413535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - April 23rd, 2019

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi

This is one of my all-time favorite sci-fi novels. Set in a drought-ravaged Southwestern U.S. (primarily Phoenix and Las Vegas), water is scarce, and Arizona, Nevada, and California fight over the meager water that remains. This novel is dark and grittily realistic with complex, well-developed characters, expert worldbuilding, and a gripping plot. I couldn’t put it down. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Water Knife Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804171533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 5th, 2016

The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie

This novel is classic Ann Leckie. Her characters are understated and clever, her worldbuilding is rich, unique, and intimately detailed, and the mystery at the novel’s heart is slow to bloom but ultimately very satisfying. This is one hell of a fantasy world, and one I hope she continues to explore. If you like Leckie’s writing, you’ll love this novel. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Tower Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316388696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 26th, 2019

American Pop by Snowden Wright

This sweeping, gorgeously written novel follows the dynastic Forster family, who in Wright’s telling are the first family in America to invent and popularize soda pop. Wright follows each family member across decades and continents, and they are by turns troubled, ambitious, humorous, heroic, and tragic, but all are written with incredible sympathy and humanity. I adored it. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
American Pop: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062697745
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - February 5th, 2019

The Kingdom of Copper by S.A. Chakraborty

The City of Brass sequel is here! This novel again follows Nahri, Dara, and Ali, and introduces a terrifying new opponent—Nahri's own mother, who is determined to retake the Daevabad throne at any cost. Like its predecessor, this novel features a dynamic cast, captivating plot, rich political intrigue, and immersive worldbuilding. It’s the best kind of sequel. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Kingdom of Copper: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy #2) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062678133
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - January 22nd, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Stuart's Reviews