User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Stuart's Reviews

Let's Go (So We Can Get Back) by Jeff Tweedy

Jeff Tweedy—best known as the frontman for the bands Wilco and Uncle Tupelo—has had a long and storied career in the Chicago alternative rock scene. Let’s Go covers Tweedy’s life, from his childhood in Belleville, Illinois, to his musical start in St. Louis, to his move to Chicago and becoming part of Wilco. A must-read for any Wilco fan! -Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
Let's Go (So We Can Get Back): A Memoir of Recording and Discording with Wilco, Etc. Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101985267
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - November 13th, 2018

The Widows of Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey

I loved this novel! Sujata Massey is a strong, confident storyteller and this captivating mystery, set in 1920s Bombay, features superb world-building, a riveting plot, and great characters. Perveen Mistry is a richly written protagonist: By turns confident and conflicted, she strives to do the right thing and is more than capable of getting herself out of trouble. Highly recommended for a fresh take on the mystery genre. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
The Widows of Malabar Hill (A Mystery of 1920s India #1) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616959760
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Soho Crime - November 20th, 2018

A Girl's Guide to Missiles by Karen Piper

Karen Piper’s fascinating memoir is a surreal and starkly honest look at growing up on the secretive China Lake military base in the Mojave Desert, where Piper’s parents designed missiles for the U.S. Navy. With wit and humor, she explores the dichotomies of being raised in a strict but loving Baptist household by parents whose day jobs were to create some of America's most fearsome weapons of war. This memoir is perfect for fans of Tara Westover’s Educated. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
A Girl's Guide to Missiles: Growing Up in America's Secret Desert Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399564543
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - August 14th, 2018

The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty

This gripping fantasy novel focuses on Nahri, a young conwoman in 18th-century Cairo who accidentally summons a djinn warrior, and is then swept into an epic adventure to discover the truth of her heritage in Daevabad, the djinn capital city. The book features gorgeous prose, fantastic characters, and a riveting plot, with superb worldbuilding inspired by Islamic mythology. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062678119
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - July 3rd, 2018

Proud by Ibtihaj Muhammad

In 2016, fencer Ibtihaj Muhammad became the first hijab-wearing Muslim American woman to compete -and medal- in the Olympics. Her inspiring memoir details how she challenged stereotypes surrounding black and Muslim woman in America, and how she overcame self-doubt, racism, misogyny, and Islamophobia to proudly represent the United States on the world stage. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
Proud: My Fight for an Unlikely American Dream Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316518963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - July 24th, 2018

Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse

This is a riveting novel that, while at times a slow burn, builds relentlessly to a brutal, heartbreaking climax. Roanhorse has created a captivating world built from Navajo culture and mythology, and her novel shines with a superb story and gorgeously rendered (and heartbreakingly real) characters. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a captivating, innovative, post-apocalyptic science-fiction/fantasy novel. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534413504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Saga Press - June 26th, 2018

Chasing New Horizons by Alan Stern

In July 2015, the New Horizons probe reached Pluto after a 10-year voyage and sent back the first clear pictures of our solar system’s outermost neighbor. This is the inside story of how that journey happened, written by the scientists involved. You don’t need to be an astronomer to enjoy this book; it is easy to read and understand and provides fantastic insight into what it actually took to get this unlikely space mission off the ground. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
Chasing New Horizons: Inside the Epic First Mission to Pluto Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250098962
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - May 1st, 2018

Head On by John Scalzi

John Scalzi writes incredibly fun and propulsive science fiction and Head On, the sequel to 2014’s Lock In, is another fast, exciting read. This novel again follows FBI detective Chris Shane as he investigates the death of a Haden’s Syndrome– afflicted athlete, and more murders and corporate intrigue—as well as plenty of humor—follow. If you’re looking for a fun science fiction police procedural, Head On is a great choice. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
Head On: A Novel of the Near Future Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765388919
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - April 17th, 2018

The Map of Salt and Stars by Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar

This deeply moving and gorgeously written narrative follows the intertwining stories of two young women: In 2011, Nour is a Syrian American girl who must escape the Syrian Civil War with her family, while 800 years earlier, Rawiya disguises herself as a boy and apprentices with the world’s best mapmaker in search of adventure. On the way, they find themselves walking similar paths through the Middle East and North Africa while they search for the meaning of family and home. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
The Map of Salt and Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781501169038
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Touchstone - May 1st, 2018

Educated by Tara Westover

Gripping, evocative, and richly detailed, Tara Westover's clear-eyed account of how she achieved a Ph.D.— despite the fact that her father's religious fundamentalism kept her out of school until she was 17 (and she and her siblings out of hospitals, despite some truly horrendous injuries)—is a must-read. I couldn't put this memoir down. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
Educated: A Memoir Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780399590504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - February 20th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Stuart's Reviews