User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Stuart's Reviews

Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi

Children of Blood and Bone was one of my favorite fantasy novels of 2018, and I’ve eagerly awaited the sequel from the moment I finished it. Tomi Adeyemi is one of fantasy’s best new voices—the world building and characters are superbly drawn, gorgeously rendered, and very human: Zélie and Amari are brave, charismatic, at times afraid and unsure, but always willing to rise to the challenges thrown their way. I can’t wait to see where they go next! - Stuart

Pre-Order Now Badge
Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orisha #2) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250170996
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - December 3rd, 2019

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

This is a novel of urgent and aching beauty. It’s a story about coming of age, triumph in the face of tragedy, and the power of magic, love, and dreams—and holding on to those dreams even when the stately order of the world threatens to crush them beneath its grinding wheels. This is a stunning and gorgeously written debut historical fantasy with a ferociously beating heart, and its fabulously drawn characters, outstanding plotting and pacing, and gorgeous world-building will sweep you effortlessly into its story. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316421997
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Redhook - September 10th, 2019

Rivers by Michael Farris Smith

Perfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy and Paolo Bacigalupi, this gripping, atmospheric, and sparsely beautiful sci-fi novel imagines a near-future Mississippi Gulf Coast ravaged by climate change. The narrative Smith constructs is a bleak one, but this novel features outstanding worldbuilding, fine details, and deeply human characters. - Stuart

Rivers: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781451699432
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - September 9th, 2014

Exhalation by Ted Chiang

Ted Chiang is one of the best modern speculative fiction writers, and his writing encompasses the breadth of the human experience. The stories in this collection are subtle, introspective, and incredibly smart, and Chiang masterfully explores themes of science, theology, fate, heartbreak, and love. I can’t recommend this highly enough for fans of literary science fiction. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Exhalation: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781101947883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - May 7th, 2019

Seven Blades in Black by Sam Sykes

Sal the Cacophony is a gunslinging wizard-hunter on a mission of vengeance, and—armed with a giant sentient handgun—she’s on the hunt for seven vicious outlaw magicians. This book is brutal and bloody with big battles and lots of action, but also features rich, inventive worldbuilding, snappy dialogue, and characters with surprising humor and heart. I couldn’t put it down! - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Seven Blades in Black (The Grave of Empires #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316363433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - April 9th, 2019

3-Step Slow Cooker Cookbook by Drew Maresco

I’m usually too busy to make a meal every night, so my slow cooker has become a godsend. Drew Maresco has made my life even easier with this cookbook, with recipes that are both delicious and extremely easy to prepare. This fantastic cookbook is packed with gorgeous, full-page pictures and covers a wide variety of culinary traditions, and includes vegetarian options. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
3-Step Slow Cooker Cookbook: Delicious, Hassle-Free Homemade Meals Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781624147234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Publishing - January 29th, 2019

The Cost of These Dreams by Wright Thompson

Wright Thompson is one of America’s best long-form sportswriters because his stories are never “just” about sports. Thompson explores sports through the lenses of people, politics, regions, culture, and history with a deft eye, keen wit, and profound empathy, and delivers his stories through gorgeous prose. Thompson is a treasure, and while this collection is a must-read for sports fans, non–sports fans will absolutely be able to appreciate and enjoy Thompson’s writing, too. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Cost of These Dreams: Sports Stories and Other Serious Business Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143133872
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 2nd, 2019

Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

I couldn’t put down this rip-roaring sequel of a novel. Roanhorse assumes you’re already familiar with the world she created in Trail of Lightning, which allows her to throw you headlong into a pulse-pounding adventure in the postapocalyptic hinterlands beyond the Navajo Nation’s protective wall. She continues to explore the complex, troubled characters from her first novel, introduces a couple of wonderful new heroes, and efficiently sets up the third book while still delivering a propulsive and captivating story. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Storm of Locusts (The Sixth World #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534413535
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - April 23rd, 2019

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi

This is one of my all-time favorite sci-fi novels. Set in a drought-ravaged Southwestern U.S. (primarily Phoenix and Las Vegas), water is scarce, and Arizona, Nevada, and California fight over the meager water that remains. This novel is dark and grittily realistic with complex, well-developed characters, expert worldbuilding, and a gripping plot. I couldn’t put it down. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Water Knife Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804171533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 5th, 2016

The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie

This novel is classic Ann Leckie. Her characters are understated and clever, her worldbuilding is rich, unique, and intimately detailed, and the mystery at the novel’s heart is slow to bloom but ultimately very satisfying. This is one hell of a fantasy world, and one I hope she continues to explore. If you like Leckie’s writing, you’ll love this novel. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Tower Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316388696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 26th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Stuart's Reviews