User menu

Shopping cart

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Molly's Reviews

Artie and the Wolf Moon by Olivia Stephens

This thrilling supernatural graphic novel about a teen girl who just found out she descends from a long line of werewolves is a perfect blend of action and heart. Olivia Stephens weaves a tale of loss, growing up, and family, both found and biological. With art that jumps off the page and a sweet, sapphic romance, fans of Mooncakes and Spill Zone will want to sink their teeth into this fantasy adventure. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Artie and the Wolf Moon Cover Image
By Olivia Stephens, Olivia Stephens (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728420202
Availability: Backordered
Published: Graphic Universe (Tm) - September 7th, 2021

Bright Star by Yuyi Morales

In her latest picture book, beloved author and illustrator Yuyi Morales shines a loving light on the landscape spread across the US-Mexico border. A whitetail fawn learns survival from its mother amongst the towering saguaro cacti, before reaching an impenetrable, barbed-wire topped wall. Morales’ art is bursting with flora, fauna, and life, weaving together different textures and embellished with bits of embroidery. A poetic call for a world without borders. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Bright Star Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823443284
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Neal Porter Books - September 7th, 2021

Anita and the Dragons Written by Hannah Carmona Illustrated by Anna Cunha

Anita, a young Dominican princesa, has spent her life watching the dragons (or airplanes) fly over her island. But when it is her turn to fly with them, Anita must summon her bravery to venture into the unknown. The poetic text, inspired by Carmona’s mother’s immigration story, is accompanied by dreamy illustrations awash in pastels. This narrative about courage is a wonderful choice for talking about moving and change with young people. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Anita and the Dragons Cover Image
By Hannah Carmona, Anna Cunha (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781911373636
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lantana Publishing - April 6th, 2021

Fred Gets Dressed by Peter Brown

A young boy named Fred loves being naked while he romps around the house, but stumbling upon his parent’s closet inspires him to play dress-up. Peter Brown delivers this sweet and silly tale in a stylish palette dominated by olive green, neon pink, and eggplant purple. This is a perfect read-aloud for kids who love fashion, and it offers an affirmative take on makeup, style, and gender expression. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Fred Gets Dressed Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316200646
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 4th, 2021

Shadow Life by Hiromi Goto

Poet and novelist Hiromi Goto makes her graphic novel debut in this tale of an elderly woman, Kumiko, who leaves the assisted living center her daughter placed her in order to enjoy her independence in a bachelor apartment. There she rejoices in a simple and solitary life. She cooks herself tasty meals, goes swimming at the community center…and traps Death in her vacuum cleaner. With quietly beautiful artwork and a dash of Miyazaki-esqe whimsy, Shadow Life explores themes of aging, autonomy, and eldercare through the story of one woman who is just not ready to go yet. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Shadow Life Cover Image
By Hiromi Goto, Ann Xu (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781626723566
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - March 30th, 2021

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: The Illustrated Edition by Douglas Adams, illustrated by Chris Riddell

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is turning 42! To mark this auspicious birthday, illustrator Chris Riddell put pen to paper and has brought to life beloved characters like Arthur Dent, Ford Prefect, Zaphod Beeblebrox, and Marvin the Paranoid Android. Riddell is the prolific artist best known for illustrating The Edge Chronicles and for his work on many Neil Gaiman novels, including versions of Coraline, The Graveyard Book, and Fortunately, the Milk. So grab your towel, pour a cup of something almost but not quite entirely unlike tea, and get ready to share and enjoy this hilarious classic. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Illustrated Edition Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780593359440
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - May 4th, 2021

Outside, Inside by LeUyen Pham

Caldecott Honoree LeUyen Pham shows us all the ways people continued to love, learn, and grow while social distancing during the pandemic. Through emotive illustrations and approachable text, Pham explores both the hope and the hardship of sheltering in place, and shows the important work done by essential workers like doctors and grocers. Gentle yet honest, this is the perfect book for families and classrooms looking for a story to discuss the pandemic with children of all ages. —Molly

 

Staff Pick Badge
Outside, Inside Cover Image
By LeUyen Pham, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250798350
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 5th, 2021

Tune It Out by Jamie Sumner

After a car accident, Lou Montgomery's life changes radically: she's removed from her mom's care, placed with her aunt and uncle, and diagnosed with Sensory Processing Disorder. These changes are accompanied by a cast of new and lovable characters, including Lou’s funny, fabulous, theatrical best friend Well. Thought-provoking in its exploration of disability, wealth, and familial relationships, this novel about a young girl's journey of self-discovery and self-acceptance is perfect for fans of So B. It, Out of My Mind, and Counting By 7s. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Tune It Out Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534457003
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

I Talk Like a River By Jordan Scott

When a boy’s stutter isolates and embarasses him, his dad says, “Let’s go somewhere quiet,” and takes him to a river. Based on his own childhood experience, Jordan Scott’s prose is full of beautiful imagery, and the quiet love the father shows is deeply touching. Sydney Smith’s gouache and watercolor paintings deftly capture the boy’s emotions from loneliness to anxiety to tranquility. The perfect pick for those looking for #OwnVoices stories of disability infused with pride and strength. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
I Talk Like a River Cover Image
By Jordan Scott, Sydney Smith (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823445592
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Neal Porter Books - September 1st, 2020

You Are an Artist Assignments to Spark Creation by Sarah Urist Green

What might it be like to be in an art class being taught by some of the greatest artists alive today? Well, it would be a lot like reading You Are an Artist! Former museum curator and current host of the PBS Digital Studios series “The Art Assignment” has spoken to a wide range of artists, asking them about their work and their process and having them create art assignments for the audience to complete. The assignments range from sculptural (like “Embarrassing Object”) to performance (“Become a Sci-Fi Character”) to photographic (“Sorted Books”) to textile (“Make a Rug”), are usually flexible in terms of medium, and require no formal artistic skill. Combining full-color pictures of contemporary art; art history; and a variety of fun, thoughtful, and inspiring project ideas, this book is perfect for artists both practiced and emerging. 

Staff Pick Badge
You Are an Artist: Assignments to Spark Creation Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780143134091
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 14th, 2020

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Molly's Reviews