User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Molly's Reviews

You Are an Artist Assignments to Spark Creation by Sarah Urist Green

What might it be like to be in an art class being taught by some of the greatest artists alive today? Well, it would be a lot like reading You Are an Artist! Former museum curator and current host of the PBS Digital Studios series “The Art Assignment” has spoken to a wide range of artists, asking them about their work and their process and having them create art assignments for the audience to complete. The assignments range from sculptural (like “Embarrassing Object”) to performance (“Become a Sci-Fi Character”) to photographic (“Sorted Books”) to textile (“Make a Rug”), are usually flexible in terms of medium, and require no formal artistic skill. Combining full-color pictures of contemporary art; art history; and a variety of fun, thoughtful, and inspiring project ideas, this book is perfect for artists both practiced and emerging. 

Staff Pick Badge
You Are an Artist: Assignments to Spark Creation Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780143134091
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 14th, 2020

When Stars Are Scattered Written by Victoria Jamieson & Omar Mohamed Illustrated by Victoria Jamieson & Iman Geddy

For this excellent graphic novel memoir, Victoria Jameison worked closely with Omar Mohamed, a Somali refugee and founder of the nonprofit Refugee Strong, to tell Mohamed’s story of growing up in a refugee camp, which included caring for his younger brother Hassan, who has a developmental disability. The characters are deeply relatable, and the realities of refugee life are presented without being overwhelming or melodramatic. A great choice for fans of nonfiction and historical fiction graphic novels like March and White Bird.

Staff Pick Badge
When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

The Deep & Dark Blue by Niki Smith

This debut middle grade graphic novel features a political coup, a religious order where women spin magical blue thread, a trans protagonist, and a vibrant, jewel-toned world. It’s also a refreshing switch on the traditional ‘girl disguised as a boy’ trope, with twins Hawke and Grayson assuming the identities of Hanna and Grayce in order to escape the coup and join the aforementioned religious order. This beautiful book is perfect for fans of The Witch Boy and The Nameless City.

Staff Pick Badge
The Deep & Dark Blue Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316486019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

Mother Jones and Her Army of Mill Children by Jonah Winter

This inspiring tale chronicles the March of the Mill Children, a trek from Philadelphia to New York made by child workers of textile factories and led by iconic labor activist Mother Jones. Mother Jones’ narration and a color palette made up of shades of gray and muted colors transports readers to turn-of-the-century America, in the union halls and factory floors where Jones spoke to workers. Perfect for teaching young activists the importance of strikes and collective action.

Staff Pick Badge
Mother Jones and Her Army of Mill Children Cover Image
By Jonah Winter, Nancy Carpenter (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780449812914
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Schwartz & Wade - February 25th, 2020

My Friend Earth by Patricia MacLachlan

In this lovely, spirited ode to the majesty of nature, Sanna’s illustrations are graceful and whimsical, with beautiful color choices and entertaining cut-out features. Mother Earth is a dark-skinned youth with round cheeks and long, flowing black hair who starts the book asleep under a bed of snow, then wakes to celebrate her way through the seasons, before settling in for her winter nap. An excellent read-aloud for nature-loving families looking forward to Earth Day, which turns 50 this year!

 

Staff Pick Badge
My Friend Earth: (Earth Day Books with Environmentalism Message for Kids, Saving Planet Earth, Our Planet Book) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780811879101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - February 25th, 2020

Freedom Soup by Tami Charles

“Haiti is free! Freedom Soup for everyone!” Belle and her grandmother sing and cook for New Year’s Eve. On pages full of sunny yellows and sky blues, the story of the Haitian Revolution rises in the steam from the soup pot. Charles’ text is richly poetic and Alcantara’s illustrations dance across the page. An excellent choice for discussing the cultural significance of food and a filling tale of intergenerational learning sure to be loved by all who partake.

 

Staff Pick Badge
Freedom Soup Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763689773
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - December 10th, 2019

The Finer Things Timeless Furniture, Textiles, and Details by Christiane Lemieux

Are you a student of design? A lover of understated luxury? I dare you to walk away from this book of impeccable interiors—wall treatments that will saturate your senses, mid-century modern delights at every turn—by Christiane Lemieux, founder of DwellStudio. If you appreciate timeless design, you’ll want this gorgeous book on your coffee table.  —Molly

 

Staff Pick Badge
The Finer Things: Timeless Furniture, Textiles, and Details Cover Image
By Christiane Lemieux, Miles Redd (Foreword by)
$60.00
ISBN: 9780770434298
Availability: Backordered
Published: Clarkson Potter - September 6th, 2016

Walk Through Walls: A Memoir by Marina Abramovi´c

It should be no surprise that artistic icon Marina Abramovi´c’s writing voice is lucid and that her stories captivate as well as devastate. In this book that will appeal to students of spirituality and art, Abramovi´c includes diary entries from performances that touch on the transcendent states she reaches while performing. If you enjoy Patti Smith’s memoirs or Kim Gordon’s Girl in a Band, you will devour this book. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Walk Through Walls: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101905043
Availability: Backordered
Published: Crown Archetype - October 25th, 2016

They Can’t Kill Us All The Story of #blacklivesmatter by Wesley Lowery

Wesley Lowery began covering the Black Lives Matter movement in August 2014, during the protests in Ferguson, Missouri, over the death of Michael Brown. What he thought would be a few days of journalism became several months of covering the activism surrounding the troubling and ever-growing list of names at the heart of the Black Lives Matter movement. They Can’t Kill Us All is Lowery’s reflection, sourced from his own notes and experiences. —Molly

 

Staff Pick Badge
They Can't Kill Us All: Ferguson, Baltimore, and a New Era in America's Racial Justice Movement Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316312479
Availability: Backordered
Published: Little, Brown and Company - November 15th, 2016

Mad Enchantment by Ross King

When an artist becomes so famous as to be ubiquitous it can make their work seem safe, apolitical, and even boring. Years of seeing Claude Monet’s water lilies on countless mugs, cutting boards and other tchotchkes has had this effect. This book opens up the completely devastating, radical and gorgeous life of Monet—a man who painted through blindness and depression, and who would not allow a single flower at his funeral.  —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Mad Enchantment: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781632860125
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Bloomsbury USA - September 6th, 2016

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Molly's Reviews