User menu

Shopping cart

Molly S.'s Reviews

If You Were a City Written by Kyo Maclear

If you were a city, how would you be? Asking readers this question opens the door to a celebration of the diversity of cities as well as a hopeful vision for future urban centers. This colorful poem is perfect for engaging kids in a conversation about what their city is like and how their idea of home might change in other cities. It's a brilliant companion to Patricia MacLachlan's My Friend Earth, another book illustrated by Sanna. 
—MOLLY

Staff Pick Badge
If You Were a City By Kyo Maclear, Sanna Francesca (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kyo Maclear, Sanna Francesca (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452155197
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - October 18th, 2022

Arden High: Twelfth Grade Night, Book 1 Written by Molly Booth & Stephanie Strohm

Illustrated by Jamie Green

Shakespeare and high school and fairies, oh my! Gorgeous illustrations bring to life the enchanted world of Arden High in this creative retelling of Twelfth Night. Gender exploration, queerness, and grief are woven in with pranks, crushes, new friends, and school dances to create a perfect snapshot of the mixed-up magic of high school. If you recently read Heartstopper and are looking for your next queer rom-com graphic novel obsession, this is the book for you.

—MOLLY

Staff Pick Badge
Twelfth Grade Night-Arden High, Book 1 By Molly Horton Booth Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781368064651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney Hyperion - October 11th, 2022

Modern Block Printing by Rowan Sivyer

With seventeen fun beginner projects, this book will teach new printers what tools and materials are needed and how to care for them, the basics of design, how to carve and print with stamps and other techniques, and offers tutorials for lovely crafts one can make with block printing. Colorful, modern, and accessible, this guide would be an excellent addition to the collections of art teachers, hobby crafters, and creative home decor enthusiasts. 
—MOLLY

Staff Pick Badge
Modern Block Printing: Over 15 Projects Designed to be Printed by Hand By Rowan Sivyer Cover Image
$22.99
This item may be available from the publisher! Give us a call or send us an email to find out.
ISBN: 9781784885182
Published: Hardie Grant - October 25th, 2022

The Future Is Disabled by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha

In the midst of COVID, “the bodyminds of this country are being disabled & debilitated at varying rates & only a disability justice approach will work.” This is a core thesis of Disability Justice activist Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha’s new book. They propose that a future where the majority is disabled could be “a source of possibility and power,” and that the future we build must be informed by the wisdom of Disability Justice. This book will set your heart aflame, both with hope and rage, and should be read by every crip futurist, climate change activist, and mutual aid organizer.

—MOLLY

Staff Pick Badge
The Future Is Disabled: Prophecies, Love Notes and Mourning Songs By Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781551528915
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - October 4th, 2022

Sensory: Life on the Spectrum by Rebecca Ollerton

As an Autistic comics fan, I could not be more excited for this anthology of comics from Autistic artists and authors. Through an eclectic and engaging array of styles, this collection explores many aspects of Autistic life, from diagnostic journeys to sensory overload to racism in the psychiatric field. Sensory includes tips from fellow Autistic people and visualizations of the experiences of Autism. It is a valuable tool for both Autistic and Allistic readers.  
—MOLLY

Staff Pick Badge
Sensory: Life on the Spectrum: An Autistic Comics Anthology By Bex Ollerton Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524874766
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - October 18th, 2022

Invisible Written by Christina Diaz Gonzalez

In a new bilingual graphic novel, a group of diverse Latinx/Latine middle schoolers show us their individuality while they become a community. As we watch the kids put aside their differences and work together to help a houseless mother and her daughter, we see their personal struggles and growth through a healthy dose of encouragement and quarrels. This heartwarming story of a modern day The Breakfast Club is perfect for fans of Jerry Craft’s New Kid and Raina Telgemeier. —Molly

 

Staff Pick Badge
Invisible: A Graphic Novel By Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Gabriela Epstein (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338194548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 2nd, 2022

Little Houses Written by Kevin Henkes

While walking along the beach looking for shells with their grandparents, a child wonders about the creatures that once called the shells home and other mysteries of the ocean. Through prose infused with a quiet grace and winsome illustrations rendered in thick acrylic paints, Kevin Henkes’s latest offering captures the elusive magic of the seaside. An enchanting read for aspiring marine biologists and for families preparing for a day on the coast.  —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Little Houses By Kevin Henkes, Laura Dronzek (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kevin Henkes, Laura Dronzek (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062965721
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 24th, 2022

The World Belonged to Us Written by Jacqueline Woodson

Woodson’s newest picture book is a latchkey kid’s love letter to a Brooklyn of yore. She tells of summers in the ’70s when, with all the grownups working, the kids were “…free as air. Free as sun. Free as summer,” and the city streets belonged to them. With colorful, nostalgic illustrations, this groovy tale is a perfect introduction to daily life for kids of a past generation.  —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
The World Belonged to Us By Jacqueline Woodson, Leo Espinosa (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, Leo Espinosa (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399545498
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - May 10th, 2022

We’re Not Broken Changing the Autism Conversation by Eric Garcia

Through an engaging mix of history, memoir, and cultural analysis, Eric Garcia’s debut book is an insightful survey of Autistic life. Garcia’s background as a journalist shines through in the depth of research seamlessly worked into the piece. Covering a wide range of topics, including education, health care, gender, and race, this book belongs on the shelves of every politician, teacher, psychologist, and activist, or anyone who is interested in the experiences of Autistic adults in the US.  —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
We're Not Broken: Changing the Autism Conversation By Eric Garcia Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358697145
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harvest - August 2nd, 2022

My Wandering Warrior Existence by Nagata Kabi

My Wandering Warrior Existence is the latest graphic memoir from the acclaimed mangaka behind My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness, and is sure to be as groundbreaking as the rest of her work. Nagata Kabi’s mangas explore themes of mental health, lesbianism, and intimacy, with her latest piece focusing on her search for love and her longing to get married, which has yet to be legalized for same-sex couples in Japan. A highly anticipated new release for fans of LGBTQ manga. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
My Wandering Warrior Existence (My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness #5) By Nagata Kabi Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781648278822
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Seven Seas - March 15th, 2022

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Molly S.'s Reviews