User menu

Shopping cart



MJ's Reviews

Stitching Stolen Live by Sara Trail & Teresa Dureva Wong

Quilts are historically group projects; women sat together, creating from spare fabrics a blanket that has the potential to be handed down for generations, telling stories as they sew. Stitching Stolen Lives weaves a portrait of the power of quilts to share stories and to help one express oneself. Trail helps empower young people to use quilting to not only remember those they have lost but to make a promise to themselves to fight injustice for a better future.—MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Stitching Stolen Lives: Amplifying Voices, Empowering Youth & Building Empathy Through Quilts Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781644031384
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: C&T Publishing - September 25th, 2021

All This Time by Cedar Sigo

All This Time is a gorgeous collection of poetry from Indigenous author Cedar Sigo. His use of the blank page as a canvas on which to paint words was like a literary breeze on my face. Sigo embodies the words and creates a world of their own, something that is wholly new while paying respects to the artists before him. The poems are haunting, with an air about them like recovered memories. Highly suggested for the poet in your life. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
All This Time Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781950268467
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wave Books - October 5th, 2021

The Wildest Ride by Marcella Bell

Romance and rodeos! The Wildest Ride is Bell’s first in a new series, giving us a sexy slow burn of enemies-to-lovers riding the closed circuit. City man meets farm woman in a chase for a million dollar prize; as the competition heats up, so does their time spent together in private. I loved this! - MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Wildest Ride Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781335773227
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hqn - August 10th, 2021

The Bug Club by Elise Gravel

Not only is this little hardcover educational, but it’s so CUTE. Even the passing appreciator of nature will love this adorably illustrated guide to our six-legged friends. Elise Gravel uses her charming art and handwritten text to create an approachable guide that feels more like sharing notes with a very smart friend than reading lists of facts. As a big fan of bugs, I may be biased, but this book is a must-have for the future entomologist in your life. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Bug Club Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781770464155
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - August 10th, 2021

Inflamed: Deep Medicine and the Anatomy of Injustice by Rupa Marya

“Modern medicine always reflects the colonial politics of its time.” I’m a certified health book freak, always scouring the shelves for authors presenting new, insightful information on the connection between our health and the societies we care for it in. Inflamed is all of that and more. Written in an accessible voice, anyone with a body needs to read this. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Inflamed: Deep Medicine and the Anatomy of Injustice Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780374602512
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 3rd, 2021

My Heart Is a Chainsaw by Stephen Graham Jones

Stephen Graham Jones never misses. My Heart is a Chainsaw is for those of us who have a life-long love for horror, putting us behind the wheel with protagonist Jade and her knowledge of all things chainsaw and jumpscare when blood splatter metaphorically (and physically) hits the fan. If you loved Mongrels or The Only Good Indians, please do yourself a favor and read this book! —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
My Heart Is a Chainsaw (The Indian Lake Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781982137632
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - August 31st, 2021

Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

Murakami's writing is a dreamscape that floats before your eyes. His tone is calm and steady; no matter what's happening, you can depend on the voice to be matter-of-fact. For those familiar with his work, his Oedipus complex is as predictable as the surrealist nature of the storytelling as we follow multiple POV's through our world and another. - MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Kafka on the Shore (Vintage International) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781400079278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - January 3rd, 2006

Finding the Mother Tree: Discovering the Wisdom of the Forest by Suzanne Simard

In this book that will appeal to fans of The Soul of the Octopus and H Is for Hawk, Simard relates her years of experience and her groundbreaking findings on the relationship between belowground fungi and trees. Highlighting the symbiotic nature of the relationship, she shows the surprising amount in common within our own human ties. I love a book that has a woman on a journey, and that’s what this memoir is: part scientific discovery, part personal journey. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Finding the Mother Tree: Discovering the Wisdom of the Forest Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780525656098
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Knopf - May 4th, 2021

The Last True Poets of the Sea by Julia Drake

Available in paperback

This is an exceptional modern retelling of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night. Julia Drake takes the classic story, makes it multigenerational, and resettles the characters in Maine, in this tale that at times is laugh-out-loud funny and at other times made me ugly cry. You’ll fall in love with the complex characters. The writing is lyrical and magical while managing to stay grounded. Great for teens and adults! — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780759554993
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 15th, 2021

Ophie’s Ghosts by Justina Ireland

Middle-grade historical fiction with a supernatural twist! I love a haunted manor and ghostly friendships, and that’s where we find ourselves with Ophie. It’s 1922 and in order to save for a home of their own, Ophie joins her mother in working at Daffodil Manor. However, not all ghosts are friendly and, like many old homes, this one has secrets within. It may all be more than Ophie bargained for. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Ophie’s Ghosts Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062915894
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 18th, 2021

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MJ's Reviews