User menu

Shopping cart



MJ's Reviews

How to Keep House While Drowning A Gentle Approach to Cleaning and Organizing by KC Davis

Do you find yourself overwhelmed by cleaning? This small but valuable guide is for you. KC Davis, a therapist, found herself struggling with the day-to-day tasks of living-space upkeep. How to Keep House While Drowning has an empathetic and noncritical tone, and I found myself relaxed and ready to take on the mess, with these new tips and tricks to guide me along the way.  —MJ 

Staff Pick Badge
How to Keep House While Drowning: A Gentle Approach to Cleaning and Organizing Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781668002841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Simon Element - April 26th, 2022

Green Fire Extraordinary Ways to Grill Fruits and Vegetables, from the Master of Live-Fire Cooking by Francis Mallmann

Fire was one of the most influential discoveries of humankind. In a world of stove cooking, Mallmann uses fire to create delicious dishes. The food photography itself is gorgeous enough without even getting to the fabulous foods! But don’t let these recipes go to waste—I suggest the Crispy Artichokes with Labneh and Limoneta. Make beautiful and surprisingly easy dishes and find out for yourself!  —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Green Fire: Extraordinary Ways to Grill Fruits and Vegetables, from the Master of Live-Fire Cooking Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781648290725
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Artisan - May 10th, 2022

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan

Is woman-disguised-as-a-boy-to-learn-to-fight in your wheelhouse? Set during a fantastical Ming dynasty, Zhu must hide who she is and accept a fate that wasn’t hers to fulfill. If you were a fan of Mulan or Alanna growing up, She Who Became the Sun is for you, with Zhu confronting everything from Mongol warlords to gender dysphoria in this epic fantasy.  —MJ

Pre-Order Now Badge
She Who Became the Sun Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250621818
Availability: Not Yet Published - Available for Pre-Order; Please See Publication Date Below Before Ordering
Published: Tor Books - June 28th, 2022

A Proposal They Can’t Refuse by Natalie Caña

I think fake relationships are my favorite romantic literary trope. A Puerto Rican chef and an Irish whiskey distiller are bullied into an engagement by scheming family members, and they must go through with the marriage or risk losing their family businesses forever. A steamy romp, this book is as delicious as it is funny. Perfect for fans of The Worst Best Man and Fake It Till You Bake It.  —MJ

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Proposal They Can't Refuse: A Rom-Com Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780778386094
Availability: Not Yet Published - Available for Pre-Order; Please See Publication Date Below Before Ordering
Published: Mira Books - June 7th, 2022

Some Questions about Trees by Toni Yuly

This picture book is full of whimsical questions from a child’s perspective about the emotional lives of trees. The minimalist illustration is done in a mixture of simple line drawing and collage that reminds me of Eric Carle! With each turn of the page, we get to see the child's wonder as they admire their world, surrounded by different kinds of trees and small forest creatures. This book is perfect for your inquisitive and thoughtful child. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Some Questions About Trees Cover Image
By Toni Yuly, Toni Yuly (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534489158
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - March 22nd, 2022

Yolk by Mary H. K. Choi

This beautifully constructed story about Odd Couple-esque sisters challenges the vastly different women in a devastating way when one of them develops cancer. To save her life, the sisters must commit insurance fraud. How far would you go to save the life of your sibling? From the author of Emergency Contact and Permanent Record, we are presented with one of the most powerful voices in YA yet. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Yolk Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534446014
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2022

Messy Roots: A Graphic Memoir of a Wuhanese American by Laura Gao

This graphic memoir gets to the heart of Gao’s experience immigrating from China to Texas at the age of 4. Following her to modern day, with the impactful backdrop of being Wuhanese during our current pandemic, Gao shares her experiences and struggles with identity, racism, sinophobia, friendship, family, and the concept of home—all the things that make us human. This is one of my favorite graphic novels! —MJ
 

Staff Pick Badge
Messy Roots: A Graphic Memoir of a Wuhanese American Cover Image
By Laura Gao, Laura Gao (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780063067769
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 8th, 2022

Little Thieves by Margaret Owen

Fairytales are ripe for the retelling. This reworked version of the Goose Girl is a fun Ocean’s Eleven Four!—style story about a girl named Vanja, who assumes one girl's life to save her own. If your reading wheelhouse includes dangerous grifting, street-smart girls, retellings, unlikely friendships, and high fantasy, this book from the author of the Merciful Crow duology is for you. Six of Crows fans are sure to enjoy this one.—MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Little Thieves Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250191908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - October 19th, 2021

The Most Fun Thing by Kyle Beachy

For the love of skateboarding! In The Most Fun Thing—a memoir by way of essays—Beachy attempts to find what skateboarding REALLY means, and begins a journey of self-discovery along the way. Sometimes we have to dig deep to uncover the gems inside ourselves, to know what’s important to us. A lovely memoir, perfect whether you’re “regular” or “goofy.”—MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Most Fun Thing: Dispatches from a Skateboard Life Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538754115
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 10th, 2021

Knitting for Radical Self-Care by Brandi Cheyenne Harper

In our time of a global shared trauma, self-care is more important than ever. Many of us have found new hobbies and passions during the various shutdowns, and for anyone who has been knitting, from the seasoned knitter to the knitting newbie, this book is a great source of patterns and comfort. Crafting can be a soothing activity as well as one that leaves you feeling accomplished. Get cozy and ready to take care of yourself, while making something for you or your friends!—MJ 

Staff Pick Badge
Knitting for Radical Self-Care: A Modern Guide Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781419744884
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams - January 4th, 2022

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MJ's Reviews