User menu

Shopping cart



MJ's Reviews

The Honeys by Ryan La Sala

If you like tense, atmospheric horror, you will bathe in the friction emanating from the pages of The Honeys. I found myself immersed in the character of Mars, our genderqueer narrator who must figure out what happened to their twin sister, Caroline. The shiny, bucolic veneer of the lifestyles of the rich and influential might be hiding something altogether different. This novel reads like an LGBT Pretty Little Liars meets summer camp… if that camp was Midsommar. —MJ

 

Staff Pick Badge
The Honeys By Ryan La Sala Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338745313
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: PUSH - August 16th, 2022

Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel Written by James Howe & Andrew Donkin

Parents rejoice! Our beloved cat and dog detective duo are back, this time fully illustrated. Bunnicula was one of my favorites as a child, a little spooky but mostly silly. Donkin and Gilpin do a great job adapting this 1979 classic and breathing new life into a series that stands the test of time. Amazing for any child who loves to live on the creepy side of life, even those with a low scare tolerance! —MJ

 

Staff Pick Badge
Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel (Bunnicula and Friends) By James Howe, Andrew Donkin, Stephen Gilpin (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534421622
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 30th, 2022

Knocking Myself Up: A Memoir of My (In)Fertility by Michelle Tea

The beloved Bay Area local Michelle Tea has come back with a memoir surrounding her experiences trying to get pregnant later in life. Grab your turkey basters and settle in for a funny, witty, and ever-authentic account on the journey to parenthood. I am currently pregnant so this book hit home for me, but everyone can find something to relate to in this book; be they a parent, pregnant, or child-free. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Knocking Myself Up: A Memoir of My (In)Fertility By Michelle Tea Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063210622
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dey Street Books - August 2nd, 2022

How to Keep House While Drowning A Gentle Approach to Cleaning and Organizing by KC Davis

Do you find yourself overwhelmed by cleaning? This small but valuable guide is for you. KC Davis, a therapist, found herself struggling with the day-to-day tasks of living-space upkeep. How to Keep House While Drowning has an empathetic and noncritical tone, and I found myself relaxed and ready to take on the mess, with these new tips and tricks to guide me along the way.  —MJ 

Staff Pick Badge
How to Keep House While Drowning: A Gentle Approach to Cleaning and Organizing By KC Davis, LPC Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781668002841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Simon Element - April 26th, 2022

Green Fire: Extraordinary Ways to Grill Fruits and Vegetables, from the Master of Live-Fire Cooking by Francis Mallmann

Fire was one of the most influential discoveries of humankind. In a world of stove cooking, Mallmann uses fire to create delicious dishes. The food photography itself is gorgeous enough without even getting to the fabulous foods! But don’t let these recipes go to waste—I suggest the Crispy Artichokes with Labneh and Limoneta. Make beautiful and surprisingly easy dishes and find out for yourself!  —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Green Fire: Extraordinary Ways to Grill Fruits and Vegetables, from the Master of Live-Fire Cooking By Francis Mallmann, Peter Kaminsky (With), Donna Gelb (With) Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781648290725
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Artisan - May 10th, 2022

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan

Is woman-disguised-as-a-boy-to-learn-to-fight in your wheelhouse? Set during a fantastical Ming dynasty, Zhu must hide who she is and accept a fate that wasn’t hers to fulfill. If you were a fan of Mulan or Alanna growing up, She Who Became the Sun is for you, with Zhu confronting everything from Mongol warlords to gender dysphoria in this epic fantasy.  —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
She Who Became the Sun (The Radiant Emperor Duology #1) By Shelley Parker-Chan Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250621818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - June 28th, 2022

A Proposal They Can’t Refuse by Natalie Caña

I think fake relationships are my favorite romantic literary trope. A Puerto Rican chef and an Irish whiskey distiller are bullied into an engagement by scheming family members, and they must go through with the marriage or risk losing their family businesses forever. A steamy romp, this book is as delicious as it is funny. Perfect for fans of The Worst Best Man and Fake It Till You Bake It.  —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
A Proposal They Can't Refuse: A Rom-Com Novel By Natalie Caña Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780778386094
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mira Books - June 7th, 2022

Some Questions about Trees by Toni Yuly

This picture book is full of whimsical questions from a child’s perspective about the emotional lives of trees. The minimalist illustration is done in a mixture of simple line drawing and collage that reminds me of Eric Carle! With each turn of the page, we get to see the child's wonder as they admire their world, surrounded by different kinds of trees and small forest creatures. This book is perfect for your inquisitive and thoughtful child. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Some Questions About Trees By Toni Yuly, Toni Yuly (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Toni Yuly, Toni Yuly (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534489158
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - March 22nd, 2022

Yolk by Mary H. K. Choi

This beautifully constructed story about Odd Couple-esque sisters challenges the vastly different women in a devastating way when one of them develops cancer. To save her life, the sisters must commit insurance fraud. How far would you go to save the life of your sibling? From the author of Emergency Contact and Permanent Record, we are presented with one of the most powerful voices in YA yet. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Yolk By Mary H. K. Choi Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534446014
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2022

Messy Roots: A Graphic Memoir of a Wuhanese American by Laura Gao

This graphic memoir gets to the heart of Gao’s experience immigrating from China to Texas at the age of 4. Following her to modern day, with the impactful backdrop of being Wuhanese during our current pandemic, Gao shares her experiences and struggles with identity, racism, sinophobia, friendship, family, and the concept of home—all the things that make us human. This is one of my favorite graphic novels! —MJ
 

Staff Pick Badge
Messy Roots: A Graphic Memoir of a Wuhanese American By Laura Gao, Laura Gao (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Laura Gao, Laura Gao (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780063067769
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 8th, 2022

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MJ's Reviews