User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Michelle's Reviews

Skunk and Badger, Book 1 Written by Amy Timberlake Illustrated by Jon Klassen

Badger’s Important Rock Work must take a backseat when Skunk knocks on the door of his brownstone. Yet Skunk is much more than an unwelcome distraction, and by morning has served up the first of many antidotes to Badger’s solitary grumpiness. Odd-couple stories! It’s so easy to identify with the traits of one while yearning to be more like the other. Klassen’s earthy illustrations supply the details in this frolicking tale to read aloud or together, with more adventures promised. — Michelle

Staff Pick Badge
Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

Swashby and the Sea Written by Beth Ferry Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal

Retired Captain Swashby lives quietly by the sea with his trusty boat El Recluso for company. That is, until a bright-eyed girl and her granny arrive with a bucketful of beach fun. Swashby knows in his bones that “the sea provide[s] exactly the right thing at exactly the right time” and that’s just how this tale unfolds, one “fiddled-with” gift after another. Sink into the velvety, ocean-colored pastels but don’t be lulled into thinking you already know this story!

Staff Pick Badge
Swashby and the Sea Cover Image
By Beth Ferry, Juana Martinez-Neal (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544707375
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - May 5th, 2020

What About Worms!? (Elephant & Piggie Like Reading!) by Ryan T. Higgins and Mo Willems

What in the world could be worse than worms? Worrying about worms! When is the worry worthwhile? Any time it’s wrapped up in a new addition to the Elephant & Piggie canon. Fans of Mo Willems’s original early reader series will get a big kick out of Tiger and his wormy escapades along with the delightful wordplay from Elephant & Piggie themselves in the opening and closing pages.

Staff Pick Badge
What About Worms!? (Elephant & Piggie Like Reading!) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781368045735
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - May 19th, 2020

King & Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor Written by Dori Hillestad Butler Illustrated by Nancy Meyers

Amateur detectives King (a big friendly dog) and Kayla (his girl) are back, serving up clue after clue as they get to the root of a recent neighborhood mystery. Kayla and her friend Jillian make keen observations, carry out experiments, and analyze data, but they’re always a paw-step behind our intrepid narrator King and his dog buddies. For fans of Nate the Great and Cam Jansen, this early chapter book gives a delightful taste of both kid and dog reasoning.

Staff Pick Badge
King & Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781682630563
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Peachtree Publishing Company - March 1st, 2020

Echo Mountain by Lauren Wolk

From the author of Wolf Hollow and Beyond the Bright Sea comes a fresh take on an old story: one family’s struggle to survive during the Great Depression. Through young Ellie’s eyes, we see both the hardship and the great freedoms that her family’s move to Echo Mountain presents. Ellie’s resilience, cleverness, and profound honesty keep us rooting for her from beginning to end. This novel made me believe that I was running up and down the mountain alongside her.

Staff Pick Badge
Echo Mountain Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525555568
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

One Little Bag: An Amazing Journey by Henry Cole

Inspired by the very first Earth Day celebration, this wordless story follows a paper bag from its stately origins as a forest-dwelling tree through two generations of sack lunch–carrying kids and finally back to the rich soil to nurture a seedling. With intricate pen-and-ink illustrations that completely fill the page, you can find plenty of crisscrossing storylines (e.g., the general store’s “free puppy”, HART-FELT branding, guitars lurking in corners)—sharp eyes will be rewarded with discoveries of their own!

 

Staff Pick Badge
One Little Bag: Amazing Journey Cover Image
By Henry Cole, Henry Cole (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338359978
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - April 7th, 2020

A Big Bed for Little Snow by Grace Lin

This new picture book from award-winning author Grace Lin treats us to a sweet bedtime ritual between mother and child. Like A Big Mooncake for Little Star, this story spans many nights of seemingly small actions that build to transform the newly independent boy as well as the bigger world outside his window. With pajamas that melt into the white-washed backgrounds, mom and son share knowing looks that reassure anyone on the verge of taking their next big step. - Michelle

Staff Pick Badge
A Big Bed for Little Snow Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316478366
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 15th, 2019

Home in the Woods by Eliza Wheeler

“You never know what treasures we’ll find,” says the mom of eight children as they embark on a magical, but also an actual, Depression-era year turning a house into a home. Based on the life of the author’s grandma, Marvel, this picture book recounts the family’s inspiring journey through lovely green-infused watercolors, inconspicuously labeled with general-store items on one page and wildflowers on the next. A generous story of love, with endpapers for those like me who crave more details. - Michelle

Staff Pick Badge
Home in the Woods Cover Image
By Eliza Wheeler (Illustrator), Eliza Wheeler
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399162909
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - October 1st, 2019

Cog by Greg Van Eekhout

Like a typical 12-year-old, Cog (short for “cognitive development”) is a learning machine. However, he’s also an actual machine who takes his job of gaining knowledge by making mistakes quite seriously. In this futuristic version of The Incredible Journey, readers get to experience an epic road trip through the eyes of Cog and his motley robot crew. While fans of The Wild Robot will certainly eat this up, all of us will relish its timely message about the dangers of uniMIND. - Michelle

Staff Pick Badge
Cog Cover Image
By Greg van Eekhout, Beatrice Blue (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062686077
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: HarperCollins - October 1st, 2019

The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown written by Mac Barnett illus. by Sarah Jacoby

Barnett has fashioned a secret door that transports us to a world where Margaret Wise Brown chases dogs, drinks tea, and writes. This book shows us that truth in storytelling is important, especially with children. Awash in pastels, Jacoby’s long-striding Margaret keeps her chin up and her eyes open, and you’ll want to do the same while reading this book. - Michelle

Staff Pick Badge
The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Sarah Jacoby (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062393449
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 21st, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Michelle's Reviews