User menu

Shopping cart

Magnolia's Reviews

Candelaria by Melissa Lozada-Oliva

Candelaria is the story of three generations of women fighting their way to one another through a surreal and chaotic apocalyptic event. Melissa Lozada-Oliva weaves a tale of generational trauma as five women grapple with various betrayals and failed expectations, with moments of intimate familial nuance that are both dark and deeply humorous. This is a strange and magical book that is raw, tender, horrifying, and utterly weird.

—Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Candelaria: A Novel By Melissa Lozada-Oliva Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781662601804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Astra House - September 19th, 2023

Skeletons in the Closet by Jean-Patrick Manchette

This newly translated novel by Jean-Patrick Manchette inspired by the works of Dashiell Hammett and Jean-Pierre Melville, perfectly encapsulates the gritty existentialism and cool dialogues widely employed in hard-boiled crime fiction. Skeletons in the Closet follows private eye Eugène Tarpon, who is tasked with solving the seemingly dead-end case of a missing philanthropist. Manchette unfolds for us a gruesome mystery, ripe with corruption and greed, that does not lack either humor or heart.  

—Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Skeletons in the Closet By Jean-Patrick Manchette, Alyson Waters (Translated by) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781681377605
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - November 7th, 2023

Liberation Day: Stories by George Saunders

Award-winning author George Saunders is back with yet another dazzling collection of short stories. The nine deeply personal works that make up this collection are mainly speculative stories that involve harsh confrontations with reality alongside smaller and equally poignant narratives on motherly love, generational guilt, and our desire to cling to the past. Those who love Saunders for his wry cynicism, witty prose, and earnest sentimentality will not be disappointed.

—Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Liberation Day: Stories By George Saunders Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525509592
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Random House - October 18th, 2022

Weaving Sundown in a Scarlet Light by Joy Harjo

Poet Laureate Joy Harjo has selected 50 of her best poems from the past 50 years for this truly evocative and intimate collection of poetry. With her attention finely tuned to heritage, femininity, and our relationship with nature and sense of place, Harjo takes us on a journey through her youth as she discovers her own voice, up into her adulthood as she contemplates the deeply human truths of the present. Heart-wrenching and hopeful, this collection is unforgettable.

—Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Weaving Sundown in a Scarlet Light: Fifty Poems for Fifty Years By Joy Harjo, Sandra Cisneros (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Joy Harjo, Sandra Cisneros (Foreword by)
$25.00
ISBN: 9781324036487
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - November 1st, 2022

The World as We Knew It edited by Amy Brady & Tajja Isen

Nineteen acclaimed writers come together in this collection to give personal accounts of how climate change has come to impact their lives. Lydia Millet, Omar El Akkad, Gabrielle Bellot, Terese Svoboda, and many more offer memories and chronicles of life with climate change. The result is a deeply personal portrait of the impact that climate change has on every corner of Earth. 

—Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
The World As We Knew It: Dispatches From a Changing Climate By Amy Brady (Editor), Tajja Isen (Editor) Cover Image
By Amy Brady (Editor), Tajja Isen (Editor)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781646220304
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Catapult - June 14th, 2022

Lives by CJ Evans

Lives is a collection of verse that explores the complicated and personal relationship between our natural world and the human tendency to become violent and destroy. The lyrics of CJ Evans are intimately political, unreserved, and stinging, yet somehow encouraging of our ability to find solace, beauty, and love despite the violence that surrounds us. Reading this collection felt like finally being able to release a breath I’ve been holding in for too long. 

—Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Lives By Cj Evans, Victoria Chang (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Cj Evans, Victoria Chang (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781946448965
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Sarabande Books - June 14th, 2022

The Dawnhounds by Sascha Stronach

Fans of Rebecca Roanhorse and Tamsyn Muir have their next read! The Dawnhounds is a queer, Māori-inspired fantasy tale that follows an ex-street-urchin-turned–police officer who gets killed on the job and is brought back to life on a mission to save the world. Sasha Stronach manages to intertwine technologically modified pirates, chaotic gods, and plant-manipulating magical powers into one mystical adventure that is guaranteed to keep you turning pages. 

—Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
The Dawnhounds (The Endsong #1) By Sascha Stronach Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982187057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Saga Press - June 14th, 2022

The Intersectional Environmentalist by Leah Thomas

Acclaimed environmental activist Leah Thomas has put together an expert and necessary introduction into the ways climate change has most aggressively impacted marginalized communities while simultaneously pinpointing the ways those same voices have historically been ignored within environmentalism movements. The Intersectional Environmentalist is the ultimate guide to addressing some of the planet’s most pressing issues by dismantling privilege and uplifting the voices at the center of these issues which often go unheard.

—Magnolia
 

Staff Pick Badge
The Intersectional Environmentalist: How to Dismantle Systems of Oppression to Protect People + Planet By Leah Thomas Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316279291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Voracious - March 8th, 2022

I'll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara

It’s not just the horrifying story of the Golden State Killer, but also the story of victims and survivors. It’s a timeline of DNA technology and the investigation techniques that influenced the trajectory of this case and others like it. It’s also the story of Michelle and the impact this case will continue to have on anyone with an interest in true crime.

—Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by) Cover Image
By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062319791
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - February 26th, 2019

Riverine by Angela Palm

With some of the most beautiful writing I have ever read, Palm tells the story of growing up alongside the Kankakee river in Indiana. Poetically retracing her path to adulthood and escape from her hometown, her tale is countered by that of her childhood love - now serving a life sentence for murder. These two hauntingly distinct narratives serve as a reminder of the impact our geographies forever have on us.

—Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Riverine: A Memoir from Anywhere but Here By Angela Palm Cover Image
$16.00
This item may be available from the publisher! Give us a call or send us an email to find out.
ISBN: 9781555977467
Published: Graywolf Press - August 16th, 2016

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Magnolia's Reviews