User menu

Shopping cart



Magnolia's Reviews

The World as We Knew It Dispatches from a Changing Climate Edited by Amy Brady & Tajja Isen

Nineteen acclaimed writers come together in this collection to give personal accounts of how climate change has come to impact their lives. Lydia Millet, Omar El Akkad, Gabrielle Bellot, Terese Svoboda, and many more offer memories and chronicles of life with climate change. The result is a deeply personal portrait of the impact that climate change has on every corner of Earth.  —Magnolia

Pre-Order Now Badge
The World As We Knew It: Dispatches From a Changing Climate Cover Image
By Amy Brady (Editor), Tajja Isen (Editor)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781646220304
Availability: Not Yet Published - Available for Pre-Order; Please See Publication Date Below Before Ordering
Published: Catapult - June 14th, 2022

Lives by CJ Evans

Lives is a collection of verse that explores the complicated and personal relationship between our natural world and the human tendency to become violent and destroy. The lyrics of CJ Evans are intimately political, unreserved, and stinging, yet somehow encouraging of our ability to find solace, beauty, and love despite the violence that surrounds us. Reading this collection felt like finally being able to release a breath I’ve been holding in for too long.  —Magnolia

Pre-Order Now Badge
Lives Cover Image
By Cj Evans, Victoria Chang (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781946448965
Availability: Not Yet Published - Available for Pre-Order; Please See Publication Date Below Before Ordering
Published: Sarabande Books - June 14th, 2022

The Dawnhounds by Sascha Stronach

Fans of Rebecca Roanhorse and Tamsyn Muir have their next read! The Dawnhounds is a queer, Māori-inspired fantasy tale that follows an ex-street-urchin-turned–police officer who gets killed on the job and is brought back to life on a mission to save the world. Sasha Stronach manages to intertwine technologically modified pirates, chaotic gods, and plant-manipulating magical powers into one mystical adventure that is guaranteed to keep you turning pages.  —Magnolia

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Dawnhounds (The Endsong #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982187057
Availability: Not Yet Published - Available for Pre-Order; Please See Publication Date Below Before Ordering
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - June 14th, 2022

The Intersectional Environmentalist by Leah Thomas

Acclaimed environmental activist Leah Thomas has put together an expert and necessary introduction into the ways climate change has most aggressively impacted marginalized communities while simultaneously pinpointing the ways those same voices have historically been ignored within environmentalism movements. The Intersectional Environmentalist is the ultimate guide to addressing some of the planet’s most pressing issues by dismantling privilege and uplifting the voices at the center of these issues which often go unheard. —Magnolia
 

Staff Pick Badge
The Intersectional Environmentalist: How to Dismantle Systems of Oppression to Protect People + Planet Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780316279291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Voracious - March 8th, 2022

I'll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara

It’s not just the horrifying story of the Golden State Killer, but also the story of victims and survivors. It’s a timeline of DNA technology and the investigation techniques that influenced the trajectory of this case and others like it. It’s also the story of Michelle and the impact this case will continue to have on anyone with an interest in true crime. - Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer Cover Image
By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062319791
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - February 26th, 2019

Riverine by Angela Palm

With some of the most beautiful writing I have ever read, Palm tells the story of growing up alongside the Kankakee river in Indiana. Poetically retracing her path to adulthood and escape from her hometown, her tale is countered by that of her childhood love - now serving a life sentence for murder. These two hauntingly distinct narratives serve as a reminder of the impact our geographies forever have on us. - Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Riverine: A Memoir from Anywhere but Here Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977467
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - August 16th, 2016

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

This hilarious and heart-wrenching retelling of Don Quixote follows high-school junior Cameron Smith as he struggles with his recent diagnosis of mad cow disease. Bray blurs the lines between reality and hallucination in this action-packed adventure of self-discovery. From talking garden gnomes to punk guardian angels, this book truly has it all. - Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Going Bovine Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780385733984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - September 28th, 2010

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

This timeless classic about an American bombardier in WWII fighting a system in which everything is against him is perfect for those of us who have felt trapped in an endless cycle of defeat this past year. Confusing and frustrating in the most coherent way possible, Catch-22 excellently embodies the absurdity of trying to navigate between survival and duty. - Magnolia

Staff Pick Badge
Catch-22: 50th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
By Joseph Heller, Christopher Buckley (Introduction by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781451626650
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 5th, 2011

Subscribe to RSS - Magnolia's Reviews