User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Jess's Reviews

A colorful mural on a brick wall of William Shakespeare's bust, with a young woman wearing red standing next to it on the left.Jess is a Santa Cruz native, recently returned from a Master’s Degree program in creative writing from the University of Edinburgh. Living in Scotland for a year gave her a deep appreciation for whisky, graveyards, and the California sun, so now she mostly reads outside, sometimes with a dram of Lagavulin in hand (but usually not near any tombstones). She loves to read fiction, and actively seeks new and diverse voices to inform her own experience of the world. In her spare time, she cooks themed treats for her book club and writes.

Spring by Ali Smith

The third book in her Seasonal Quartet, Spring is full of all the surrealism, gender play, oddball love, and clever puns admirers of Ali Smith have come to expect from her work. Anyone who is desperate for hope in an increasingly hopeless world will find a tonic in Smith’s work; the seeds she planted in Autumn and Winter start to sprout in Spring, as sunlight slowly begins to edge out the night. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Spring: A Novel (Seasonal Quartet) Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781101870778
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Pantheon - April 30th, 2019

Laidlaw by William McIlvanney

A gritty crime novel set in gritty Glasgow, Laidlaw is the book that brought Tartan Noir into existence. As much about gang presence and gang culture as it is about a murderer and his victim, this is a mystery novel for fans of The Wire and The Departed. A psychological and intense detective thriller! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Laidlaw Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781609452018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - June 3rd, 2014

The Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen

For cooks who like to be inventive, who require whimsy in their recipes, The Moosewood Cookbook is a necessary and joy-filled resource. Full of delicious vegetarian recipes that will delight your dinner guests, Moosewood will take you on a magical journey to the past, when cookbooks had character and fonts were handwritten. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
The Moosewood Cookbook: 40th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781607747390
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Ten Speed Press - November 4th, 2014

Dreyer's English by Benjamin Dreyer

Grammar has never been so fun! This book is both a sensational resource for all your questions about the idiosyncratic laws of the English language, as well as a playful acknowledgement of the fact that these laws are often absurd. You’ll laugh, you’ll learn, and you’ll impress your friends with your new ability to define a comma splice. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Dreyer's English: An Utterly Correct Guide to Clarity and Style Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780812995701
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - January 29th, 2019

There But For The by Ali Smith

A guest at a dinner party disappears and locks himself - indefinitely - in the guest room, kicking off a media frenzy that brings together a bunch of lovable outcasts. Smith writes from a place of deep empathy, infusing each page with electric energy and witty wordplay. Reading this book rekindled my fondness for humanity. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
There But For The: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307275240
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - July 24th, 2012

Milkman by Anna Burns

Set in Northern Ireland at the height of the Troubles, Milkman confronts the absurdity of political strife and arbitrary borders, never ignoring the extreme violence and heartbreak that can arise from such divisions. Burns’ voice is dryly humorous, even as her narrator struggles with a stalker, harassment, and a war-torn home. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Milkman: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450000
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - December 4th, 2018

On Beauty by Zadie Smith

Zadie Smith understands people the way Dostoevsky understood people: the ways in which where they come from and who they come from influence where and how they end up. Reading this book is like joining another family, and though every member is flawed - to say the least - each character feels like a real person. A nearly perfect book. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
On Beauty: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143037743
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Penguin Books - August 29th, 2006

Deep Creek by Pam Houston

It takes a certain kind of person - animal-lover, star-gazer, adventure seeker - to thrive while living at 9,000 feet. Pam Houston’s full heart and indomitable spirit are on full display in this memoir, which contains all the meditative and hopeful vignettes fans of Houston have come to expect. A great choice for fans of Cheryl Strayed and Terry Tempest Williams! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780393241020
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 29th, 2019

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

If you’ve heard Beyonce’s song “Flawless,” you’ve already been exposed to a sampling of this incredible treatise. Adichie explains feminism in a straightforward way that makes it easy for everyone to claim it. Set this one out in a prominent place in your home and use it as a litmus test for anyone you’re newly dating. If they nod along to it while they’re reading, they’re a keeper! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
We Should All Be Feminists Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781101911761
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Anchor - February 3rd, 2015

Fox 8 by George Saunders

Another charming, inventive, and bizarre short story from a master of the form, Fox 8 will pinch your heart and make you cackle with laughter. With gorgeous illustrations by Chelsea Cardinal, this is an Aesop’s fable for the modern era. As with all of George Saunders’s other work, Fox 8 will leave you feeling like you’ve ridden a roller coaster through the entire range of human emotions—and isn’t that what literature is for? - Jessica

Staff Pick Badge
Fox 8: A Story Cover Image
By George Saunders, Chelsea Cardinal (Illustrator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984818027
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - November 13th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Jess's Reviews