User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Jess's Reviews

A colorful mural on a brick wall of William Shakespeare's bust, with a young woman wearing red standing next to it on the left.Jess is a Santa Cruz native, recently returned from a Master’s Degree program in creative writing from the University of Edinburgh. Living in Scotland for a year gave her a deep appreciation for whisky, graveyards, and the California sun, so now she mostly reads outside, sometimes with a dram of Lagavulin in hand (but usually not near any tombstones). She loves to read fiction, and actively seeks new and diverse voices to inform her own experience of the world. In her spare time, she cooks themed treats for her book club and writes.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Handmaid’s Tale is the gift that keeps on giving. As a book, it’s set the standard for feminist dystopian literature, and the recent TV show has brought Offred’s story to life on the screen, reminding us how relevant her story still is. Enter this new graphic novel, with astoundingly graceful line work and watercolor images by artist Renee Nault, who creates a juxtaposition of beauty and brutality that will sit with readers for a long time to come.      —Jessica

Staff Pick Badge
The Handmaid's Tale (Graphic Novel): A Novel Cover Image
By Margaret Atwood, Renee Nault (Illustrator)
$22.95
ISBN: 9780385539241
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nan A. Talese - March 26th, 2019

My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Ottessa Moshfegh

How is this possible? How could a book about a woman who chooses to sleep a whole year away be so engrossing, so propulsive, that I could not put it down. Moshfegh’s narrator follows in the footsteps of The Catcher in the Rye’s Holden Caulfield and The Bell Jar’s Esther Greenwood, skewering the phonies of New York and modern consumer culture armed with nothing but her own apathy and acerbic wit. Well, that and an arsenal of prescription sleep aids.

Staff Pick Badge
My Year of Rest and Relaxation Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525631934
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Large Print - July 10th, 2018

There There by Tommy Orange

Believe the hype! This novel is a scorcher. Set around a powwow at the Oakland Coliseum, There There follows a large cast of characters as they navigate their individual experiences as “urban Indians.” With prose that will pound at your heart, Orange brings each character to brutal life and forces readers to confront the darker truths of colonialism’s legacy. Truly a game-changer for American literature.  —Jessica

Staff Pick Badge
There There Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525436140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - May 7th, 2019

Spring by Ali Smith

The third book in her Seasonal Quartet, Spring is full of all the surrealism, gender play, oddball love, and clever puns admirers of Ali Smith have come to expect from her work. Anyone who is desperate for hope in an increasingly hopeless world will find a tonic in Smith’s work; the seeds she planted in Autumn and Winter start to sprout in Spring, as sunlight slowly begins to edge out the night. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Spring: A Novel (Seasonal Quartet) Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781101870778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - April 30th, 2019

Laidlaw by William McIlvanney

A gritty crime novel set in gritty Glasgow, Laidlaw is the book that brought Tartan Noir into existence. As much about gang presence and gang culture as it is about a murderer and his victim, this is a mystery novel for fans of The Wire and The Departed. A psychological and intense detective thriller! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Laidlaw Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781609452018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - June 3rd, 2014

The Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen

For cooks who like to be inventive, who require whimsy in their recipes, The Moosewood Cookbook is a necessary and joy-filled resource. Full of delicious vegetarian recipes that will delight your dinner guests, Moosewood will take you on a magical journey to the past, when cookbooks had character and fonts were handwritten. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
The Moosewood Cookbook: 40th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781607747390
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - November 4th, 2014

Dreyer's English by Benjamin Dreyer

Grammar has never been so fun! This book is both a sensational resource for all your questions about the idiosyncratic laws of the English language, as well as a playful acknowledgement of the fact that these laws are often absurd. You’ll laugh, you’ll learn, and you’ll impress your friends with your new ability to define a comma splice. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Dreyer's English: An Utterly Correct Guide to Clarity and Style Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780812995701
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - January 29th, 2019

There But For The by Ali Smith

A guest at a dinner party disappears and locks himself - indefinitely - in the guest room, kicking off a media frenzy that brings together a bunch of lovable outcasts. Smith writes from a place of deep empathy, infusing each page with electric energy and witty wordplay. Reading this book rekindled my fondness for humanity. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
There But For The: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307275240
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - July 24th, 2012

Milkman by Anna Burns

Set in Northern Ireland at the height of the Troubles, Milkman confronts the absurdity of political strife and arbitrary borders, never ignoring the extreme violence and heartbreak that can arise from such divisions. Burns’ voice is dryly humorous, even as her narrator struggles with a stalker, harassment, and a war-torn home. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Milkman: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450000
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - December 4th, 2018

On Beauty by Zadie Smith

Zadie Smith understands people the way Dostoevsky understood people: the ways in which where they come from and who they come from influence where and how they end up. Reading this book is like joining another family, and though every member is flawed - to say the least - each character feels like a real person. A nearly perfect book. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
On Beauty: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143037743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - August 29th, 2006

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Jess's Reviews