User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Jason's Reviews

The Dharma of The Princess Bride by Ethan Nichtern

Was Fezzik a Bodhisattva? How do I practice compassion toward Ted Cruz (who is apparently a huge fan of the movie)? In this wise and funny book, Nichtern interweaves personal stories about his own romantic relationships with the love life of Princess Bride’s Westley and Buttercup, all the while teaching the Dharma. It works on every level. Fans of Benjamin Hoff’s The Tao of Pooh and Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance will enjoy this unique book as will, of course, lovers of The Princess Bride. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
The Dharma of The Princess Bride: What the Coolest Fairy Tale of Our Time Can Teach Us About Buddhism and Relationships Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780865477766
Availability: Backordered
Published: North Point Press - September 12th, 2017

Zen Mind Beginner's Mind by Shunryu Suzuki

Just be, Grasshopper. You are ready to practice Zen now. This is one of the very best books on Zen ever written. Written by the founder of the San Francisco Zen Center, Suzuki Roshi designed this to be read by experienced meditators and novices alike. No need for more words at this time. Just read. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind: Informal Talks on Zen Meditation and Practice Cover Image
By Shunryu Suzuki, Trudy Dixon (Editor), Huston Smith (Preface by), Richard Baker (Introduction by), David Chadwick (Afterword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781590308493
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Shambhala - June 28th, 2011

A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle

What is everyone were truly awake? In this bestselling follow up to The Power of Now, Tolle imagines a world in which all people have had a spiritual awakening, giving us a new Utopian blueprint. He expands on the message of being fully present, and offers an optimistic vision for all of civilization. In what can often seem like discouraging times, this is an inspiring book. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
A New Earth (Oprah #61): Awakening to Your Life's Purpose Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780452289963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - January 30th, 2008

Children of the New World by Alexander Weinstein

A sublime collection of speculative, dystopian short stories. Weinstein’s near-future is full of isolating cybersex, social media implants and memory manufacturers. A father has to deal with his malfunctioning robot son. A suburban town has to decide which local kid to shoot off into space. Perfect for fans of George Saunders or Phillip K. Dick. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Children of the New World: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250098993
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - September 13th, 2016

Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore

The oldest soul in the world just can’t seem to reach perfection. He was a disciple of the Buddha, a superhero on an alien prison planet, a wise fisherman… but every single time, Milo doesn’t get it right. On a positive note, every time he dies, he reunites with his girlfriend, Death (who also goes by the name Susie). This book is totally goofy, sweet and wise. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Reincarnation Blues: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780399178481
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Del Rey - August 22nd, 2017

Fates & Furies by Lauren Groff

Perfect writing and a tragic love story. This is about the marriage of two beautiful people, told in asymmetrical halves. Inspired by the classics, and fueled by passion, this book builds and bends, until it breaks your heart. Buy it to read great storytelling, but fall in love with the gorgeous language. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Fates and Furies: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594634482
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - September 13th, 2016

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz

The year is 2044, and a performance enhancing drug is causing people to work themselves to death. Tractor Jack, a female drug pirate with a submarine, embarks upon a mission to stop the spread of the deadly drug before it becomes an epidemic. An unlikely man-robot love affair sweetens an otherwise dystopian storyline. The political undertone (a pharmaceutical big bad, human and A.I. trafficking) echoes Margaret Atwood. This is my early pick for best Sci-Fi book of the year. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Autonomous: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765392077
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - September 19th, 2017

Dharma Punx by Noah Levine

Santa Cruz native Noah Levine couldn’t kick. All the punk life had gotten him was high and behind bars, until his dad (Buddhist teacher Stephen Levine) visited him in jail, and said “learn to meditate.” Since then, this bad-boy-turned-spiritual-Guru has started an international movement of Buddhist-based recovery from drugs and alcohol. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Dharma Punx Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060008956
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperOne - May 4th, 2004

Show Your Work! by Austin Kleon

Are you ready to show your art to the world? This book is for writers, painters, and candlestick makers- and any type of artist who just can’t seem to propel their career beyond the status of garage bands genius. Popular blogger and social media ninja Austin Kleon knows what it takes to be a self-promoting artist. This book inspired me to start a blog and send my work to publishers. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Show Your Work!: 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9780761178972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Workman Publishing Company - March 6th, 2014

The Most Beautiful World Our Hearts Know is Possible by Charles Eisenstein

This is the optimistic eco-conscious treatise you are looking for. Written by a true radical thinker, and Yale educated philosopher, Eisenstein focuses mostly on the environment and what he calls a societal separation anxiety disorder, offering an alternative of interdependence between humanity and the planet. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
The More Beautiful World Our Hearts Know Is Possible (Sacred Activism #2) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781583947241
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: North Atlantic Books - November 5th, 2013

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Jason's Reviews