User menu

Shopping cart



Jason's Reviews

The Modern Proper: Simple Dinners for Every Day by Holly Erickson & Natalie Mortimer

This cookbook has it all, from scrumptious toasts to delicious dinners like Stuffed Chicken Breast with Mozzarella and Creamy Kale. More than 100 recipes for making quick dinners and fabulous brunches. There is an egg chapter, a vegetarian chapter, and one devoted entirely to meatballs! Tools, tricks, and shortcuts for all levels of chef make this a must-have in every kitchen.  —Jason

Staff Pick Badge
The Modern Proper: Simple Dinners for Every Day (A Cookbook) By Holly Erickson, Natalie Mortimer Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781982177669
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Simon Element - April 5th, 2022

The Wok by J. Kenji López-Alt

Want to learn how to make perfect General Tso's chicken? What’s the best way to stir fry vegetables? From the author of the bestseller The Food Lab comes yet another amazing cookbook, well-researched and full of easy-to-follow recipes. This is seriously one of the best cookbooks I have ever read.  —Jason

Staff Pick Badge
The Wok: Recipes and Techniques By J. Kenji López-Alt Cover Image
$50.00
ISBN: 9780393541212
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 8th, 2022

Don’t Worry 48 Lessons on Relieving Anxiety from a Zen Buddhist Monk by Shunmyo Masuno

If the overall state of the world has you feeling stressed, this little book will bring you comfort. Want to sleep better? Be more relaxed? Have a healthier relationship to money? Short, easy-to-read chapters teach you how to simplify your life and be minimalist in your home, as well as give you helpful tools to navigate personal relationships. It was a joy to read.  —Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Don't Worry: 48 Lessons on Relieving Anxiety from a Zen Buddhist Monk By Shunmyo Masuno, Allison Markin Powell (Translated by) Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780143136705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Life - April 5th, 2022

I’m Waiting for You: And Other Stories by Kim Bo-young

In the titular story, a man writes letters to his fiancé from a spaceship while he travels back in time. Their plan was to be married on Earth, before it was destroyed. The second novella-length story has awesome world building and a fear-mongering alien prophet. These are inventive speculative ideas told in straightforward prose. Fans of Ted Chiang and Ken Liu will love this book.  —Jason

Staff Pick Badge
I'm Waiting for You: And Other Stories By Kim Bo-young Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062951472
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - April 26th, 2022

Horse by Geraldine Brooks

The origin of a long-lost painting leads to the remarkable (and true) story of Lexington, the greatest racehorse in American history. Brooks’ novel weaves its way through Lexington's life from antebellum Kentucky through the Civil War and up to the present, where the Smithsonian is studying his bones. Highly recommended for readers of Colson Whitehead. Fans of compelling historical fiction will love this skillfully braided narrative—sure to be nominated for a big literary award.  —Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Horse: A Novel By Geraldine Brooks Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399562969
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - June 14th, 2022

Bittersweet: How Sorrow and Longing Make Us Whole by Susan Cain

Looking at the Pixar movie Inside Out and the songs of Nina Simone and Leonard Cohen, Bittersweet examines why melancholy art makes us feel so inspired. Cain (author of the bestseller Quiet) shines a light on sadness and creativity much in the way her last book redefined introversion. This is the perfect book to help you move all of the longing and grief felt in the world today into something transcendent, like a cold and very broken Hallelujah. —Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Bittersweet: How Sorrow and Longing Make Us Whole By Susan Cain Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780451499783
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - April 5th, 2022

Zen and the Art of Saving the Planet by Thich Nhat Hanh

Reading this book is like taking a deep breath. One of our great living Zen masters has gifted us with a loving reminder to wake up, both to the beauty of our planet and to the great suffering of its inhabitants. This book teaches us to use our practice, our breath, and our insights to stop climate change before it is too late. It is a love letter to the next generation, an apology on behalf of the baby boomers, and a solution: All of us need to become Buddhas to save our world.—Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Zen and the Art of Saving the Planet By Thich Nhat Hanh Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062954794
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperOne - October 5th, 2021

How to Meditate by Pema Chödrön

I cannot think of a better idea in this era of great uncertainty and anxiety than to learn to meditate. And I can think of no better universal teacher than Pema Chödrön. I have long enjoyed her books and teachings. She is ever-accessible both for beginners to meditation and to seasoned practitioners. This would be a wonderful gift for anyone in your life who needs to feel more peace.—Jason

Staff Pick Badge
How to Meditate: A Practical Guide to Making Friends with Your Mind By Pema Chödrön Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781683648420
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sounds True - October 26th, 2021

The Book of Hope by Jane Goodall & Douglas Abrams

Intimate, uplifting conversations with a beloved icon. Local writer Doug Abrams (cowriter of The Book of Joy with the Dalai Lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu) has written yet another book with a living legend. In The Book of Hope, he spends time with naturalist and wise elder Jane Goodall. Together they ask: What is hope? How can we find it in these dark days? I cannot think of a better book to lift all of our spirits right now.—Jason

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Hope: A Survival Guide for Trying Times (Global Icons Series) By Jane Goodall, Douglas Abrams Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250784094
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Celadon Books - October 19th, 2021

The Dawn of Everything: A New History of Humanity by David Graeber

From one of the founding members of the Occupy movement and author of the critically acclaimed Debt comes a posthumous epic that will change the way you see the past. It fundamentally questions major epochs (like the hunter-gatherer era) asking what really happened. It analyzes old structures and offers new paradigms from which to organize society. Readers of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens will be riveted by this well-researched and important new masterpiece of anthropology.—Jason

Staff Pick Badge
The Dawn of Everything: A New History of Humanity By David Graeber, David Wengrow Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780374157357
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - November 9th, 2021

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Jason's Reviews