User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Jason's Reviews

Evicted by Matthew Desmond

Desmond, a Harvard sociologist, lived in low-income neighborhoods for three years, recording this true story of people in the slums of Milwaukee, as they struggled (and failed) to keep a roof over their heads. Evicted engages the topic of income inequality with honest reportage and real solutions to ensure that everyone has a place to call home. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780553447453
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - February 28th, 2017

Basketball (and Other Things) by Shea Serrano, illus. by Arturo Torres

What was Michael Jordan’s best season? Who was the greatest dunker ever? These and other explorations of hoops make this book so much fun. I totally geeked out on the Franken-player section, where you can combine the skills and attributes of multiple players to design a super-baller. (Mine got Steph Curry’s jumper.) It also has super cool illustrations. A must-have for anyone who loves sports. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Basketball (and Other Things): A Collection of Questions Asked, Answered, Illustrated Cover Image
By Shea Serrano, Arturo Torres (Illustrator), Reggie Miller (Foreword by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419726477
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Image - October 10th, 2017

Spineless by Juli Berwald

Why are jellyfish populations growing? How does that growth relate to global warming? Oceanographer Juli Berwald goes on an epic adventure, including swimming with giant jellies off the shores of Japan and studying their stings in Israel. As she acquires more knowledge about the resilient (and in some cases immortal) jellyfish, she ends up learning even more about her own indomitable spirit. This is great memoir writing grounded by top-notch scientific research. Spineless is this year’s Soul of an Octopus. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Spineless: The Science of Jellyfish and the Art of Growing a Backbone Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735211261
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - November 7th, 2017

The Pure Joy of Being by Fabrice Midal

I was immediately struck by the beauty of this book, which also contains an impressive survey of Buddhist teachings and is full of insights and instructions to assist us on our spiritual path. Jack Kornfield writes an excellent introduction and makes a case for this as an important addition to a personal collection of books on Eastern wisdom. For me, it was the many color-plated images of rare Tibetan paintings and sculptures that kept me turning pages. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
The Pure Joy of Being: An Illustrated Introduction to the Story of the Buddha and the Practice of Meditation Cover Image
By Fabrice Midal, Jack Kornfield (Foreword by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781611804843
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Shambhala - October 17th, 2017

The Dharma of The Princess Bride by Ethan Nichtern

Was Fezzik a Bodhisattva? How do I practice compassion toward Ted Cruz (who is apparently a huge fan of the movie)? In this wise and funny book, Nichtern interweaves personal stories about his own romantic relationships with the love life of Princess Bride’s Westley and Buttercup, all the while teaching the Dharma. It works on every level. Fans of Benjamin Hoff’s The Tao of Pooh and Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance will enjoy this unique book as will, of course, lovers of The Princess Bride. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
The Dharma of The Princess Bride: What the Coolest Fairy Tale of Our Time Can Teach Us About Buddhism and Relationships Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780865477766
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: North Point Press - September 12th, 2017

Zen Mind Beginner's Mind by Shunryu Suzuki

Just be, Grasshopper. You are ready to practice Zen now. This is one of the very best books on Zen ever written. Written by the founder of the San Francisco Zen Center, Suzuki Roshi designed this to be read by experienced meditators and novices alike. No need for more words at this time. Just read. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind: Informal Talks on Zen Meditation and Practice Cover Image
By Shunryu Suzuki, Trudy Dixon (Editor), Huston Smith (Preface by), Richard Baker (Introduction by), David Chadwick (Afterword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781590308493
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Shambhala - June 28th, 2011

A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle

What is everyone were truly awake? In this bestselling follow up to The Power of Now, Tolle imagines a world in which all people have had a spiritual awakening, giving us a new Utopian blueprint. He expands on the message of being fully present, and offers an optimistic vision for all of civilization. In what can often seem like discouraging times, this is an inspiring book. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
A New Earth (Oprah #61): Awakening to Your Life's Purpose Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780452289963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - January 30th, 2008

Children of the New World by Alexander Weinstein

A sublime collection of speculative, dystopian short stories. Weinstein’s near-future is full of isolating cybersex, social media implants and memory manufacturers. A father has to deal with his malfunctioning robot son. A suburban town has to decide which local kid to shoot off into space. Perfect for fans of George Saunders or Phillip K. Dick. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Children of the New World: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250098993
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - September 13th, 2016

Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore

The oldest soul in the world just can’t seem to reach perfection. He was a disciple of the Buddha, a superhero on an alien prison planet, a wise fisherman… but every single time, Milo doesn’t get it right. On a positive note, every time he dies, he reunites with his girlfriend, Death (who also goes by the name Susie). This book is totally goofy, sweet and wise. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Reincarnation Blues: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780399178481
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Del Rey - August 22nd, 2017

Fates & Furies by Lauren Groff

Perfect writing and a tragic love story. This is about the marriage of two beautiful people, told in asymmetrical halves. Inspired by the classics, and fueled by passion, this book builds and bends, until it breaks your heart. Buy it to read great storytelling, but fall in love with the gorgeous language. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Fates and Furies: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594634482
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - September 13th, 2016

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Jason's Reviews