User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

Jason's Reviews

Love and Rage: The Path of Liberation Through Anger by Lama Rod Owens

There is a healthy way to be angry at Trump and white supremacy. In this profound and helpful book, a queer Black Buddhist teacher wrestles with his own rage. He teaches us how spiritual practice and vigilant activism can be interwoven. He does not teach us to bypass anger, but instead to use it as a tool. This is the book on social justice and mindfulness we have been waiting for. I cannot recommend it highly enough. — Jason 

Staff Pick Badge
Love and Rage: The Path of Liberation through Anger Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781623174095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: North Atlantic Books - June 16th, 2020

Memorial by Bryan Washington

Benson’s boyfriend Mike goes to Japan and leaves his mother, who barely speaks English, in his stead. While Mike is in Osaka working as a bartender for his dying father, Benson works through his own family trauma. This is the debut novel by a rising literary star, the author of last year’s breakout short story collection, Lot. Fans of There There and On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous will devour this meditation on love and loss. — Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Memorial: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593087275
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - October 27th, 2020

Architects of Memory by Karen Osborne

Ash is an indentured servant trying to earn her freedom. She’s in love with the Captain of her spaceship, but they can’t be together—not until the war ends. Ash soon discovers a powerful alien weapon that could turn the tide of the war, but at what cost? Cool world-building and endless action make for a page-turning thrill ride. The ending is full of surprises. Fans of The Expanse will love this nail-biter of a space opera.  —Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Architects of Memory (The Memory War #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250215475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - September 8th, 2020

True Story by Kate Reed Petty

This book screams breakout hit! It’s fun, mysterious, and totally genre defying. Is it a coming-of-age murder mystery? Or literary fiction about female friendship involving serial killers? Kate Reed Petty is an innovator. I loved the way she shifts points of view and deviates from standard forms (an entire chapter told through emails) while never losing the story. Fans of The Goldfinch or Gone Girl will love this dark, beautifully-written tale. —Jason

Staff Pick Badge
True Story: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984877680
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - August 4th, 2020

Sansei and Sensibility by Karen Tei Yamashita

This hilarious new collection of stories and essays will make you chuckle, though underneath the humor is deft critique. Marie Kondo’s tidying up is juxtaposed with a tour of World War II internment camps. Sexist techno-orientalism and the meaning of Godzilla are reexamined. Local treasure, UCSC professor emerita, and acclaimed novelist Karen Tei Yamashita has written a book about the Japanese American experience both entertaining and vital in this era of anti-immigration politics.

Staff Pick Badge
Sansei and Sensibility Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566895781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - May 5th, 2020

Future Tense Fiction from the editors of Future Tense

Robot ethics, zero-carbon-footprint urban living, humans interbreeding with aliens: An all-star lineup of diverse bestselling authors (Charlie Jane Anders, Paolo Bacigalupi, Carmen Maria Machado, Nnedi Okorafor, among others) explore contemporary issues of science and politics in these 14 mind-blowing tales. This collection is terrific for readers of speculative and science fiction. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Future Tense Fiction: Stories of Tomorrow Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781944700959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Unnamed Press - October 2nd, 2019

On Fire by Naomi Klein

From the bestselling author of The Shock Doctrine comes a detailed blueprint for a Green New Deal. Inspired by the millions of children protesting their governments, the book’s title emerged from a quote by young activist Greta Thunberg: “I want you to act as if your house is on fire—because it is.” Naomi Klein wrote this book to help us put the fire out. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
On Fire: The (Burning) Case for a Green New Deal Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982129910
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - September 17th, 2019

The World Doesn't Require You: Stories by Rion Amilcar Scott

This book is a stream of devastating sermons on racial injustice. Metaphysical and often experimental short stories penned in raw and irreverent prose. If Friday Black was speculative Ta-Nahesi Coates, then this book is a speculative WuTang Album. Strong language warning! Not for your sweet little grandmama. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
The World Doesn't Require You: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781631495380
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Liveright - August 20th, 2019

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Straight up: This is Book One of the best dystopian trilogy I have ever read. The human population is all but wiped out by a deadly version of Viagra. The Crakers, weird simple-minded blue-penised clones, are the caretakers of the future. False prophet Snowman the Jimmy narrates this tale of what went wrong. You will speed-read through this book to find out what happens next. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Oryx and Crake (The MaddAddam Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780385721677
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - March 30th, 2004

Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore

The oldest soul in the world just can’t seem to reach perfection. He was a disciple of the Buddha, a superhero on an alien prison planet, a wise fisherman… but every single time, Milo doesn’t get it right. On a positive note, every time he dies, he reunites with his girlfriend, Death (who also goes by the name Susie). This book is totally goofy, sweet and wise. I loved the ending. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Reincarnation Blues: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780399178504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - July 10th, 2018

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Jason's Reviews