User menu

Shopping cart



Ivy's Reviews

Ivy grew up very close to Santa Cruz and is a UC Santa Cruz graduate. She is the head of the Hardback section, History, and helps with Sci-Fi/Fantasy. Her voracious reading appetite can include anything from history, fiction, graphic novels, and anything in between.

 

 

The Ogress and the Orphans by Kelly Barnhill

The orphans of Stone-in-the-Glen live in a once-lovely town. After the library burns down under suspicious circumstances, the newly elected mayor stokes the fires of distrust. The arrival of the ogress on the outskirts of town only heightens the townspeople's fear, despite the mysterious gifts showing up on their doorsteps. Newbery Medal–winning Barnhill (The Girl Who Drank the Moon) has crafted a truly magnificent and charming story about perceptions and the power of small acts of kindness. —Ivy 

Staff Pick Badge
The Ogress and the Orphans Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781643750743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - March 8th, 2022

Squire by Nadia Shammas & Sara Alfageeh

Aiza dreams of a better life, but as one of the Ornu people, she’s not even allowed citizenship. However, if she can make it through squire training, she will be granted full rights. Failure means being sent to the front lines and almost certain death, but the stakes are actually much higher than she knows. Both comic book veterans, the author and artist have created something truly breathtaking in both style and storytelling. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Squire Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062945846
Availability: Backordered
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 8th, 2022

The Chosen & the Beautiful by Nghi Vo

This book is part of our Spring Reading Challenge. Read more here.

It’s the glittering 1920s and magic is everywhere. Jordan Baker is the only Asian American in her group of grotesquely rich social elites and she likes it that way. It makes her special. It allows her to flit from the drawing rooms of friends like Daisy Baker to the glittering parties of Jay Gatsby and shine everywhere she goes. You don’t have to have read The Great Gatsby to enjoy this literal magical retelling. Just be ready for gorgeous prose and unexpected twists. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The Chosen and the Beautiful Cover Image
By Nghi Vo
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250820129
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - March 29th, 2022

Probably Ruby: A Novel by Lisa Bird-Wilson

Ruby Valentine is a bit of a mess. Half Métis and adopted by a white couple before she was a year old, Ruby struggles to connect with a heritage just beyond her reach. Told out of order in bits and pieces, you never get a full picture of her in one go, but neither does she. You can feel her ache for connection in every word. This is a quick read, but one you won’t forget. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Probably Ruby: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593448670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - April 12th, 2022

Terciel & Elinor by Garth Nix

Old Kingdom fans rejoice! 25 years ago, we were introduced to Sabriel and her world. All we saw of her parents were bits of memory, but now we finally hear their story. Elinor has been kept away from knowledge of the Old Kingdom, so she’s baffled when a young man called Terciel knocks on her door speaking of dead creatures. Here’s everything (and more!) Garth Nix fans have come to expect, but previous knowledge is not required to enjoy this lush sorcerous prequel.—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Terciel & Elinor (Old Kingdom) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063049321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - November 2nd, 2021

Vespertine by Margaret Rogerson

Painfully shy after an early encounter with a possessing spirit, Artemisia wants only to keep her head down and escape into the life of a nun who keeps the spirits at bay, but destiny, of course, has other plans. When her home is threatened, she binds herself to a revenant—a dangerous undead spirit trapped in a relic—and makes a deal. Part spooky, part adventure, and all heart, this book is for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Bone Witch.—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Vespertine Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534477117
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - October 5th, 2021

The Beatryce Prophecy written by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Everyone dismissed the prophecy because it was about a girl messing with power. It’s the same reason everyone overlooked Beatryce. With the help of a monk, an orphan boy, a mysterious man in the woods, and a cantankerous goat, Beatryce is going to surprise them all. Kate DiCamillo’s books are always a delight and this does not disappoint, especially when paired with Sophie Blackall’s illustrations. Strange and surreal, it kept me guessing until the last moment.—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The Beatryce Prophecy Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, Sophie Blackall (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781536213614
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 28th, 2021

Pony by R. J. Palacio

Silas Bird has a genius for a father and a ghost for a best friend. Their simple lives are upended when men take his father in the night, believing him to be a notorious criminal. When Silas goes after them, he finds deep woods and even deeper secrets. R.J. Palacio (author of Wonder) has crafted a surprising departure from her previous work and it is excellent. Trust me, this story is both unexpected and exactly what you want.—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Pony Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553508116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

Stuntboy in the Meantime written by Jason Reynolds, illustrated by Raúl the Third

Portico Reeves has a secret. A super secret. Don’t tell anyone, but he’s really a superhero named Stuntboy! His superpower is to protect other supers so they can save the day. But no stunt can stop his parents from fighting or from Herbert the Worst from teasing him. Interspersed with Raúl the Third’s expressive artwork, Jason Reynolds’ story perfectly captures all the trials and anxieties of a young kid living in a turbulent situation. This is a great book for kids going through big changes.—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Stuntboy, in the Meantime Cover Image
By Jason Reynolds, Raúl the Third (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781534418165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - November 30th, 2021

Life Is What You Bake It by Vallery Lomas

As an amateur baker, I’ve oft dreamed of winning an American version of The Great British Baking Show. Now, imagine being the very first winner and…the show gets cancelled before anyone finds out. That’s what happened to Vallery Lomas, but it didn’t stop her from turning lemons into lemon chiffon cake. Drawing on her Southern roots, Lomas has written a cookbook for bakers of all stripes and levels. I particularly appreciated the small, surprising tips with each recipe (don’t twist the biscuit cutter!). —Ivy 

Staff Pick Badge
Life Is What You Bake It: Recipes, Stories, and Inspiration to Bake Your Way to the Top: A Baking Book Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780593137680
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter - September 7th, 2021

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ivy's Reviews