User menu

Shopping cart

Ivy's Reviews

Ivy is the head of our Children's section and is spectacular at her job!

 


 

Call Me Iggy Written by Jorge Aguirre Illustrated by Rafael Rosado

Growing up in Ohio, Iggy’s link with his own Colombian culture is weak at best. While rooting around in the basement, Iggy accidentally releases his grandfather’s spirit. Iggy should use the opportunity to learn more about his family, but instead sees a way to ace his Spanish class and find tips for smooth talking girls. The expressive art highlights a hilarious, but ultimately touching story of finding and maintaining one’s roots.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Call Me Iggy By Jorge Aguirre, Rafael Rosado (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jorge Aguirre, Rafael Rosado (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250204134
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 13th, 2024

A Door in the Dark by Scott Reintgen

After a miscast spell kills one student and launches five others into the wilderness, the primary goal is to get home. But even in mortal peril, everyone has their own agenda. In a world where magic is tightly rationed, a natural caste system has developed and even acceptance into the prestigious magic school Balmerick is no guarantee of a better life. This dark academia novel with its expansive worldbuilding and compelling cast had me glued from the jump.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
A Door in the Dark (Waxways #1) By Scott Reintgen Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781665918695
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - March 26th, 2024

The Boy Lost in the Maze Written by Joseph Coelho Illustrated by Kate Milner

Myths have the power to speak to the human experience, even thousands of years later. So it’s no wonder Theo finds common cause with Theseus, his latest school assignment. Like his Greek counterpart, Theo must search for a father he didn’t know he’d lost while grappling with grifters and (maybe) metaphoric monsters. Told in verse and mirroring Theseus’s adventures, this novel reminds us: as we search for something lost, perhaps we are the ones hoping to be found.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The Boy Lost in the Maze By Joseph Coelho, Kate Milner (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joseph Coelho, Kate Milner (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781536236415
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 26th, 2024

Next Stop by Debbie Fong

Pia is convinced a desert bus tour ending at the mystical Cessarine Lake will heal the rift in her family. However, after her father breaks his leg, she finds herself taking this strange and fantastical journey alone. An homage to road trips—and the weird ephemera seen at roadside stands—this stunning graphic novel with a deceptively simple art style tells a story of grief, independence, and ultimately self-discovery that is sure to alight any imagination.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Next Stop: (A Graphic Novel) By Debbie Fong Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780593425183
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - March 19th, 2024

The First State of Being by Erin Entrada Kelly

Michael is certain the world is going to end on December 31, 1999, when the Y2K bug overtakes every computer, creating mass chaos. With help from a teenager named Ridge (a supposed time-traveler) and Gibby, his smart and intriguing neighbor, Michael is determined to discover how Y2K will turn out. Newberry award winner Erin Entrada Kelly’s newest venture is full of 90s trivia, time travel, and tons of heart.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The First State of Being By Erin Entrada Kelly Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063337312
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - March 5th, 2024

Ty’s Travels: Showtime! by Kelly Starling Lyons Illustrated by Niña Mata

Ty loves to play music, especially in front of a crowd, but the only way to enjoy all the instruments together is with the help of his friends. His enthusiasm is infectious and soon they have an excited audience ready to clap along. I’ve been a fan of Ty for years. With short, easy sentences and joyful illustrations, this is the perfect series to enthrall young ones ready to read on their own.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Ty's Travels: Showtime! (My First I Can Read) By Kelly Starling Lyons, Niña Mata (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kelly Starling Lyons, Niña Mata (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780063083684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - March 5th, 2024

Bunny and Clyde Written by Megan McDonald Illustrated by Scott Nash

Bunny and Clyde are tired of being good. They want to be bad. So obviously they go to the library to do some research. However, some critters (or people) are never going to be good at being bad no matter how hard they try. Illustrated with gentle line drawings, I found this early chapter book to be laugh-out-loud funny and surprisingly kind. Perfect for fans of Bad Guys and Ivy & Bean.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Bunny and Clyde By Megan McDonald, Scott Nash (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Megan McDonald, Scott Nash (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536228731
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 12th, 2024

Cascade Failure by L.M. Sagas

Are you also salty that Firefly ended too soon? This is the perfect book for you! A ragtag crew is racing across the galaxy in the hope of saving everyone from a world-killing code that can destroy settlements’ life support systems. I’m personally a sucker for found family tropes, especially in a sci-fi world, and was drawn right in. It’s got heart and action in all the right places.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Cascade Failure: A Novel (Ambit's Run #1) By L. M. Sagas Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250871251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - March 19th, 2024

Roaming by Jillian Tamaki & Mariko Tamaki

Zoe and Dani have been best friends forever. They’ve planned an elaborate sightseeing trip to New York City during one of their college breaks, but Dani’s classmate Fiona comes along and throws off the whole dynamic. The Tamaki cousins Jillian and Mariko remind us how insufferable and painfully earnest we all were while we were trying to figure out our true selves. The storytelling in Roaming is deft and the artwork is beautifully sparse and dynamic. Such a triumph! 

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Roaming By Jillian Tamaki, Mariko Tamaki Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9781770464339
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - September 12th, 2023

Haruki Murakami Manga Stories by Haruki Murakami, illustrated by PMGL

Here’s the painful honest truth: I haven’t read much of Haruki Murakami’s work. He’s one of those authors that I’ve been meaning to get to for ages, but there are just too many choices when it comes to books. This collection of reimagined stories, though, has convinced me it’s time. Each one is delightfully weird and poignant. PMGL’s artwork has an incredible amount of movement to it, enhancing each story’s oddity. What an incredible way to experience Murakami’s work.  

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Haruki Murakami Manga Stories 1: Super-Frog Saves Tokyo, Where I'm Likely to Find It, Birthday Girl, the Seventh Man By Haruki Murakami, JC Deveney (Adapted by), Pmgl (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Haruki Murakami, JC Deveney (Adapted by), Pmgl (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9784805317648
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tuttle Publishing - October 24th, 2023

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ivy's Reviews