User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Ivy's Reviews

Ivy grew up very close to Santa Cruz and is a UC Santa Cruz graduate. She is the head of the Hardback section, History, and helps with Sci-Fi/Fantasy. Her voracious reading appetite can include anything from history, fiction, graphic novels, and anything in between.

 

 

Doggo and Pupper, Book 1 Written by Katherine Applegate Illustrated by Charlie Alder

Doggo’s daily routine is set; he never deviates, and that’s just the way he likes it. Then his humans get an idea (which is never good). In comes Pupper, a rambunctious and mischievous puppy, to break up Doggo’s expectations. Applegate, who normally writes for an older crowd, has crafted a brilliant book for newly independent readers. This is perfect for families that are beginning to expand—in a furry or human way—or for anyone who loves dogs!  —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Doggo and Pupper Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250620972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - March 23rd, 2021

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas

Wendy and her brothers went missing when she was thirteen. She returned home after six months, without her brothers or any memories of her time away. Five years later, kids begin to go missing again and Wendy must face her own trauma if she’s to help the mysterious Peter save them. A very loving retelling of a classic fairy tale, but full of unexpected turns that keep you on your toes. I couldn’t put it down until the mystery was solved. —Ivy

 

Staff Pick Badge
Lost in the Never Woods Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250313973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Swoon Reads - March 23rd, 2021

Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre Written by Carole Boston Weatherford

This is not an easy subject, but it is vital. A century ago, something unspeakable occured. Tulsa was prosperous for its Black citizens. The white population stewed in resentments that finally boiled over when a white lady screamed. Carole Boston Weatherford and Floyd Cooper are the perfect pair to take on this important, suppressed piece of history. Handled with delicacy and love, I urge everyone to pick this book and learn from the past.  —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781541581203
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Carolrhoda Books (R) - February 2nd, 2021

The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

Susan is searching for the identity of her father and knows London is the place to start. Before truly beginning, she’s drawn into the whirlwind world of the electrifying Merlin (no, not that Merlin) and his strange family of booksellers, who keep the world of goblins and fae in balance. This madcap adventure with unparalleled world building kept me guessing at every step. The Left-Handed Booksellers of London deserves a place on the shelf with Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones.
— Ivy
 

Staff Pick Badge
The Left-Handed Booksellers of London Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062683250
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 22nd, 2020

Twins, Vol. 1 Written by Varian Johnson Illustrated by Shannon Wright

Francine and Maureen are best friends who happen to be identical twins. Starting sixth grade, Maureen doesn’t want things to change, but Francine suddenly wants to be Fran and pushes her sister away. Everything comes to a head when the sisters run against each other for class president. Both girls are realistically drawn (figuratively and literally) and I found myself bouncing between sides. If you’ve read Real Friends or Invisible Emmie, you’ll want to check out this series-starting graphic novel! — Ivy
 

Staff Pick Badge
Twins: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
By Varian Johnson, Shannon Wright (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781338236170
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Graphix - October 6th, 2020

Fly on the Wall by Remy Lai

Henry Khoo, who is NOT a baby, is on a mission to prove his independence. His proof? He’s going on a long-distance trip by himself without telling his family. What follows is a series of mishaps worthy of a farce. This graphic novel/prose hybrid is hilarious, fun, and inspiring. I related so much to Henry and was charmed by his successes and mistakes. Great for fans of Jerry Craft’s New Kid and Shannon Hale’s work. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Fly on the Wall Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250314116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 15th, 2020

All Because You Matter by Tami Charles

All Because You Matter is the continuation of an important conversation parents are having right now about the Black Lives Matter movement. The art celebrates Black joy and the text is uplifting—a celebration without minimizing the wrongs done to Black people. The past must be reckoned with to move forward and work toward a more just world, and as the parent of a white child, I appreciate the support and language this book gives us to build a better future for all. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
All Because You Matter Cover Image
By Tami Charles, Bryan Collier (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338574852
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orchard Books - October 6th, 2020

The Contradictions by Sophie Yanow

It feels like every college student is trying to find themself and often it’s the failures that become the most meaningful. With Yanow’s expert eye and bold art style, The Contradictions explores the world of the college student trying to find themself and finding that their failures end up being the most meaningful part of their journey. While studying abroad, Sophie falls into a group of anarchists and sees firsthand the struggle and contradictions not just of her new friends but of herself. Yanow has managed to tap into the psyche of youth and come out with some profound insights into the human condition.  — Ivy
 

Staff Pick Badge
The Contradictions Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781770464070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - September 8th, 2020

Baking at the 20th Century Cafe: Iconic European Desserts from Linzer Torte to Honey Cake by Michelle Polzine

My obsession with baking took a weird turn during shelter-in-place. Finding the intersection of history and baked goods took over my life (I even started a blog), and I totally fell in love with Michelle Polzine’s passion for Middle and Eastern European Old World recipes. Her cookbook is funny, insightful, and full of surprises. Making the now-famous Honey Cake is definitely an exacting trial, but there are recipes for bakers of every level. I’ll be referencing this one a lot for the wow factor alone!  — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Baking at the 20th Century Cafe: Iconic European Desserts from Linzer Torte to Honey Cake Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781579658984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Artisan - October 20th, 2020

Conditional Citizens by Laila Lalami

We’re having a moment of reckoning right now in relation to race, immigration, and the trajectory of this country. Laila Lalami (The Other Americans) has a unique insight into what it means to be American through the act of choosing to become one. It’s not an easy process and, as Lalami expertly outlines, is never really a finished or concrete process either. An excellent contribution to this vital global conversation, Conditional Citizens brims with the beautiful language and insight we have come to expect from such an excellent writer. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Conditional Citizens: On Belonging in America Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781524747169
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - September 22nd, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ivy's Reviews