User menu

Shopping cart



Ivy's Reviews

Ivy grew up very close to Santa Cruz and is a UC Santa Cruz graduate. She is the head of the Hardback section, History, and helps with Sci-Fi/Fantasy. Her voracious reading appetite can include anything from history, fiction, graphic novels, and anything in between.

 

 

The Feeling of Falling in Love by Mason Deaver

Transmasc teen Neil has mostly breezed through his opulent life, but when Josh—his friend with benefits—catches feelings, Neil can't run away fast enough. In a harebrained attempt to show Josh he never had a chance, Neil convinces his roommate at boarding school, Wyatt, to be his fake boyfriend. Mason Deaver, one of my favorite YA authors, has created a pitch-perfect fake-dating romcom for fans of She Drives Me Crazy and Meet Cute Diary. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The Feeling of Falling in Love By Mason Deaver Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338777666
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: PUSH - August 16th, 2022

Attack of the Black Rectangles by Amy Sarig King

Mac hates when teachers ignore the truth in the name of “appropriateness.” When he discovers someone has blacked out a portion of his school book, he sets out to uncover the source of the censorship. This brilliantly written novel by Printz Award winner A.S. King is timely as heck and a vital addition to the conversation about how to handle hard subjects in schools. I was rooting for Mac every step of the way. —Ivy

 

Staff Pick Badge
Attack of the Black Rectangles By A. S. King Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338680522
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 6th, 2022

Three Strike Summer by Skyler Schrempp

All Gloria Mae Willard wants is to play baseball with the Balko boys, but no one wants to play with a “skirt,” even if she’s got the best arm in town. When the Dust Bowl brings tragedy after tragedy to Oklahoma, Gloria’s family packs everything they own into a truck and heads to California in search of hope. Memories of the 1993 film The Sandlot coupled with this novel's labor rights movement (think Paterson’s Lyddie) kept me racing to find out what happened next. 

—Ivy

 

Staff Pick Badge
Three Strike Summer By Skyler Schrempp Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534499140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - August 30th, 2022

You Sexy Thing by Cat Rambo

Former Admiral Nicolette Larson has worked tirelessly to make her restaurant a success. Failure means returning to military service with her former squadron turned restaurant employees and sets back a rescue mission decades in the making. When everything explodes in her face (quite literally), survival is tantamount while also contending with a living ship that believes they’re thieves. Oh and space pirates! For fans of Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and The Great British Baking Show, I savored every minute of this incredible series opener. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
You Sexy Thing By Cat Rambo Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250269294
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - August 2nd, 2022

On the Rooftop by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

Vivian believes her singing daughters could make it on the world’s stage and works towards the dream tirelessly. However, members of The Salvations have grown up and out of their girlhood aspirations. This is a book deeply grounded in place set against the backdrop of 1950s San Francisco Fillmore neighborhood struggling against gentrification. Watching every woman in this book fight to be understood as an individual made this an incredibly satisfying read. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
On the Rooftop: A Novel By Margaret Wilkerson Sexton Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063139961
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - September 6th, 2022

Inheritance: A Visual Poem Written by Elizabeth Acevedo

The highly lauded author of The Poet X is sick of people telling her what to do with her hair and she’s got the perfect response. Acevedo has taken her famous spoken word poem and joined it with Pippins’ beautiful depictions of Blackness in all shades. Everyone is going to be talking about this gorgeous celebration of Afro-Latinx beauty. I recommend it for everyone who needs a dose of self-love with a side of truth.  —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Inheritance: A Visual Poem By Elizabeth Acevedo, Andrea Pippins (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Elizabeth Acevedo, Andrea Pippins (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062931948
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 3rd, 2022

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

It’s finally in paperback! Straddling the world she grew up in and the one she aspires to, Starr Carter struggles to find her voice in the face of a terrible tragedy. The writing is raw and honest and unbelievably good. If you haven’t checked out the debut novel that kicked off Printz Award–winning author Angie Thomas’ meteorite rise, now is your moment. Believe me, it is worth every bit of the hype.  —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The Hate U Give By Angie Thomas, Amandla Stenberg (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Angie Thomas, Amandla Stenberg (Foreword by)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062498540
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 3rd, 2022

Tokyo Ever After (Book 1) by Emiko Jean

Izumi is about to graduate from Mount Shasta High when she sneaks into her mother’s room for makeup and accidentally sets off a chain of events, culminating in the discovery that she is actually the illegitimate love child of the Crown Prince of Japan. She jumps at the chance to meet her father and hopefully find a place where she can finally fit in. A perfect summer read, this story is a delicious cross between The Princess Diaries and Crazy Rich Asians.  —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Tokyo Ever After: A Novel By Emiko Jean Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250766625
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 3rd, 2022

River of the Gods Genius, Courage, and Betrayal in the Search for the Source of the Nile by Candice Millard

In 1857, three white men embarked on an expedition to “discover” the source of the Nile. It’s hard to imagine a world in which you couldn’t just jump on Google Maps to find your answer or, better yet, believe the people who lived there. From the jump, this expedition was fraught with mishaps and tragedies. Millard, once again, paints a fascinating picture of intrigue, betrayal, and the fragile egos of European men. This is the perfect book for the history-loving reader who wants a bit of a challenge to their biases.  —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
River of the Gods: Genius, Courage, and Betrayal in the Search for the Source of the Nile By Candice Millard Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780385543101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - May 17th, 2022

How to Raise an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi

This book is SO good, it’s life changing. If we're to leave our children with a more equitable world, then as parents we must acknowledge our own shortcomings, be actively antiracist in raising them, and work to exclude our biases from their lives, baby proofing for racial harm as much as injury. This is true, most especially, for those growing up in predominantly white environments like Santa Cruz. This book is going to be required reading for every person who cares for my children going forward. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
How to Raise an Antiracist By Ibram X. Kendi Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593242537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - June 14th, 2022

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ivy's Reviews