User menu

Shopping cart

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Ivy's Reviews

Ivy grew up very close to Santa Cruz and is a UC Santa Cruz graduate. She is the head of the Hardback section, History, and helps with Sci-Fi/Fantasy. Her voracious reading appetite can include anything from history, fiction, graphic novels, and anything in between.

 

 

Cranky Chicken by Katherine Battersby

A cranky chicken and an optimistic worm are unlikely pals in this hilarious series starter about friendship and learning to love people as they are. Cranky likes being cranky and doesn’t want any friends, but after saving a worm named Speedy, it would seem she is stuck with one. The illustrations are laugh-out-loud funny, and I have never felt like a chicken was a kindred spirit until now. Perfect for fans of Bad Guys and the Narwhal and Jelly series. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Cranky Chicken Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534469884
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 7th, 2021

The Little Wooden Robot and the Log Princess by Tom Gauld

After turning to magic and technology to achieve children, a royal couple is blessed with a magical log princess and robotic prince. Rather than rely on an evil person to speed the plot along, bad luck is the true antagonist in this lovely homage to fairy tales. This book is so utterly charming. I fell in love with it due to Gauld’s signature art style and complex wit. Come join the adventure! —Ivy

The Little Wooden Robot and the Log Princess Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823446988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Neal Porter Books - August 24th, 2021

The Quiet Zone: Unraveling the Mystery of a Town Suspended in Silence by Stephen Kurczy

One of quietest towns in the world is in rural West Virginia. Due to the presence of Green Bank Observatory, many of the radio frequencies of modern life are banned such as cell phones and Wi-Fi. This town should be truly free from the noise of modern life, but not everything is so simple. I was utterly fascinated by this slice of America that was at once silent and roiling. Do not miss this one. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The Quiet Zone: Unraveling the Mystery of a Town Suspended in Silence Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062945495
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dey Street Books - August 3rd, 2021

On the Hook by Francisco X. Stork

Hector, one of the “good kids,” is thrown for a loop when Joey, one of the “bad kids,” singles him out and says he’s going to kill him. Navigating the fear of death pervades Hector’s existence. It all comes to a head in a violent confrontation between the two boys’ older brothers, the fallout of which shows Hector that the lines between good and bad can blur. This is a book that stayed with me for a long time. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
On the Hook Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338692150
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - May 18th, 2021

Witches Steeped in Gold by Ciannon Smart

Two young women from warring clans with long histories of distrust join together to create a better world. Jazmyne is heir to the throne; one taken by force by her mother. Ira is the deposed heir of the dead empress. Jazmyne and Ira are both willing to risk everything. This is a very rich fantasy book, full of complex political machinations and intense magical systems. I loved delving into the intricacies of this book and watching Jazmyne and Ira’s plans unfold. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Witches Steeped in Gold Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062945983
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - April 20th, 2021

Azmina the Gold Glitter Dragon (Dragon Girls, Book 1) by Maddy Mara

Moving from a city to a small town is quite the adjustment, but Azmina did not count on having a magical destiny as part of her move. Following a mysterious call in her new backyard, she learns she’s actually the Gold Glitter Dragon and needs to save the Magic Forest. Fun and inventive, this is a terrific start of an adventure for fans of Dragon Master and Kingdom of Wrenly. The first three books in the series debut simultaneously. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Azmina the Gold Glitter Dragon (Dragon Girls #1) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781338680638
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - May 4th, 2021

The First Ten Years: Two Sides of the Same Love Story

I am a big fan of Welcome to Night Vale and Joseph Fink. Fink always takes something simple and puts a fascinating spin on it. He could have just written a memoir. Instead, his wife Meg Bashwiner and he give us two different perspectives on 10 of their years. Brilliant. In fact, Bashwiner might actually be funnier (sorry, Joseph!). There’s lots for fans of the show, but really it’s the perfect encapsulation of a millennial love story. It’s funny, poignant, and weird, all in one go. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The First Ten Years: Two Sides of the Same Love Story Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780063027251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - May 11th, 2021

The Other Black Girl by Zakiya Dalila Harris

Publishing has a diversity problem from the top all the way down to the books that get published. Nella, a Black editorial assistant, navigates microaggressions, half-hearted attempts at diversity committees, and barriers to career progress alone. Until Hazel is hired. She seems a comrade in arms, but something isn’t quite right. This book is a biting (but loving) critique of the publishing industry and a grip-your-seat thriller that will keep you guessing until the last second. You don’t want to miss it. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The Other Black Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982160135
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - June 1st, 2021

Doggo and Pupper, Book 1 Written by Katherine Applegate Illustrated by Charlie Alder

Doggo’s daily routine is set; he never deviates, and that’s just the way he likes it. Then his humans get an idea (which is never good). In comes Pupper, a rambunctious and mischievous puppy, to break up Doggo’s expectations. Applegate, who normally writes for an older crowd, has crafted a brilliant book for newly independent readers. This is perfect for families that are beginning to expand—in a furry or human way—or for anyone who loves dogs!  —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Doggo and Pupper Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250620972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - March 23rd, 2021

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas

Wendy and her brothers went missing when she was thirteen. She returned home after six months, without her brothers or any memories of her time away. Five years later, kids begin to go missing again and Wendy must face her own trauma if she’s to help the mysterious Peter save them. A very loving retelling of a classic fairy tale, but full of unexpected turns that keep you on your toes. I couldn’t put it down until the mystery was solved. —Ivy

 

Staff Pick Badge
Lost in the Never Woods Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250313973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Swoon Reads - March 23rd, 2021

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ivy's Reviews