User menu

Shopping cart

Holly V.'s Reviews

Radical Friendship by Kate Johnson

Radical Friendship brings us a much-needed practicum in forming meaningful bonds in the 21st century. Johnson draws from the five love languages, critical race theory, and mindfulness practices in shaping an all-encompassing guide to collective growth. This book is necessary for anyone trying to find meaning in a disconnected world. Radical Friendship shows us how to heal our societal wounds through honest communication, community support, and mutual aid.

—Holly

Staff Pick Badge
Radical Friendship: Seven Ways to Love Yourself and Find Your People in an Unjust World By Kate Johnson Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781611808117
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Shambhala - August 24th, 2021

Pilgrim Bell: Poems by Kaveh Akbar

Kaveh Akbar’s honest resonance is unmatched by any poet I have read in this decade. With an unflinching spirituality, Akbar takes us on a journey through discomfort, through holiness, through beauty in its ugliest forms. Often returning to the body, and always drawing upon his experience as a Muslim American, Akbar paints images so sharp they could cut skin. This collection of poetry is breathtaking, harrowing, and utterly necessary. 

—Holly

Staff Pick Badge
Pilgrim Bell: Poems By Kaveh Akbar Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - August 3rd, 2021

Playlist for the Apocalypse: Poems by Rita Dove

“Let it be said, while in the midst of horror, we fed on beauty—and that, my love, is what sustained us.” Rita Dove’s newest collection of poetry is a prayer for our collective future. Whether musing on love through the eyes of a cricket or investigating the wounds of racialized trauma, Dove writes with clever honesty and radical vulnerability. Playlist for the Apocalypse is the kind of book you clutch to your chest upon finishing, and pray that not a single word of it will be forgotten. 

—Holly

Staff Pick Badge
Playlist for the Apocalypse: Poems By Rita Dove Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781324050438
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 28th, 2023

Dreaming of You by Melissa Lozada-Olivia

Melissa Lozado-Oliva’s debut novella balances somewhere between memory and moment, between story and verse, between selves and non-actors. With a form reminiscent of Carmen Maria Machado’s In the Dream House and a voice laced with hints of Kurt Vonnegut, Lozado-Oliva carries her reader through a surrealist dreamscape of dead singers, ex-boyfriends, and foggy mirrors that begs the question, “Where does the skin end and the dream begin?” 

—Holly

Dreaming of You: A Novel in Verse By Melissa Lozada-Oliva Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781662601651
Availability: Backordered
Published: Astra House - September 27th, 2022

Be Holding by Ross Gay

Starts with a significant moment in basketball history and turns into a lyrical masterpiece about connection, loss, and the intimacy of human witness. Gay writes with urgency and attention, you'll find yourself in tears over a moment from the 1980 NBA finals. For fans of Hanif Abdurriqib and Ocean Vuong, this book-length poem will break your heart in all the right ways, only to put it back together again with force.

—Holly

Staff Pick Badge
Be Holding: A Poem (Pitt Poetry Series) By Ross Gay Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780822966234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Pittsburgh Press - September 8th, 2020

Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler

Lauren has "hyperempathy syndrome," rendering her incapable of witnessing pain. This is complicated by the fact that her world is nothing but pain: the novel is set against a dystopian backdrop in which water is reserved for the rich and suffering is rampant. To cope with her reality, Lauren is creating a new religion, wherein God is Change.

—Holly

Staff Pick Badge
Parable of the Sower By Octavia E. Butler Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538732182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 30th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Holly V.'s Reviews