User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Clara's Reviews

A girl smiles up at the camera, from her position sitting on the floor.Clara read Oscar Wilde at age 7 and pretty much decided her life path from there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Salt Fish Girl by Larissa Lai

Flipping between 19th century China and a futurist Pacific Northwest, Salt Fish Girl is equal parts ecological dystopia and surrealist queer birth narrative. Magical realism and mythology feed the cyclical, fantastical story of Nu Wa, an immortal shape-shifter. This book is blurry, messy and absolutely riveting! - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
Salt Fish Girl Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9780887623820
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas Allen Publishers - June 17th, 2008

Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Prismatic light forms the basis of magic and government in this twisty conspiracy saga. Weeks absolutely raises the bar for the genre with the depth and uniqueness of the Lightbringer magic system and world building. He is a master of character and the diverse protagonists expand the story with nuance and heart. Great for fans of Rothfuss, Sanderson, or Abercrombie. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
The Black Prism (Lightbringer #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316246279
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - July 23rd, 2013

Disobedience by Naomi Alderman

Sexuality, loyalty, and authenticity war in the lives of Alderman's characters. Upon her father's death, Ronit crosses the Atlantic to return to the Orthodox Jewish community (and woman) she left behind. Alderman is as deft with midrash as she is with pop culture and sensuality. This is interpersonal London fiction in the vein of Zadie Smith. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
Disobedience: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781501199660
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Touchstone - March 6th, 2018

Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield

This lovely and lyrical novel circles around a village tavern along the Thames after the mysterious happenings of a stormy night. An ensemble of unique characters reckon with the impossible, the power of storytelling, and the complexities of family in this warm feel-good tale. Brilliant use of folklore. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
Once Upon a River: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780743298070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - December 4th, 2018

Grief Lessons by Euripides

In Carson's unique translation the language is as lively and resonantly human as Euripides' plays should be. Included is “Hekabe,” one of the most powerful dramatic tragedies of all time with all its timely reckoning with civilization and its collapse. Carson’s opening essay about tragedy and catharsis speaks to my soul. Myth, rage, beauty, and grief in equal parts. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
Grief Lessons: Four Plays by Euripides Cover Image
By Euripides, Anne Carson (Translated by), Anne Carson (Introduction by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781590172537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - September 16th, 2008

Brothers of the Gun by Marwan Hisham & Molly Crabapple

From young Arab Spring protester in 2011 to war journalist in Raqqa at the height of the Syrian War. This vivid coming-of-age tale of Hisham and his two childhood friends' wildly different paths paints a complicated picture of the breadth of experiences and factors at play in the conflict. Crabapple’s illustrations brings alive the people and emotions on the ground in Syria. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
Brothers of the Gun: A Memoir of the Syrian War Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590627
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - May 15th, 2018

The Ornament of the World by Maria Rosa Menocal

Countering the assumption of the Middle Ages as stagnant and prejudiced, Menocal explores the diverse, flourishing world of Muslim Spain. I was fascinated by the cultural exchange between Muslims, Christians, and Jews that nourished such unique art, poetry, philosophy, and architecture. Beautiful history writing with a hopeful message. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
The Ornament of the World: How Muslims, Jews, and Christians Created a Culture of Tolerance in Medieval Spain Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316168717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - April 2nd, 2003

The Sky Is Falling by Peter Biskind

Biskind provides a sharp addition to the analysis of the road through popular cultural narratives to contemporary American politics that he believes primed society for extremism. Fiction reflects reality; does it also shape it? This book is a thoughtful and provocative tour through popular culture that probes the origins of our national myths about power, immigration, justice, and preservation. A fascinating read for anyone who’s ever engaged in a debate about “Magneto Was Right.” - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
The Sky Is Falling: How Vampires, Zombies, Androids, and Superheroes Made America Great for Extremism Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781620974292
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Press - September 11th, 2018

...And Then You Die of Dysentery by Lauren Reeves

Elementary school computer lab was for traveling the trail and stoically watching your best friends died of snakebite, exhaustion, a broken leg, and, yes, dysentery. In this fun book, comedian Lauren Reeves leans into ’90s nostalgia with quirky, snarky lessons from the beloved Oregon Trail computer game. Who knew that the dangers of the trail are the same things we face in life? - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
...And Then You Die of Dysentery: Lessons in Adulting from the Oregon Trail Cover Image
By Lauren Reeves, Jude Buffum (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781328624390
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - October 16th, 2018

The Labyrinth of Spirits by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

The Cemetery of Forgotten Books series is the stuff of dreams. I’ve read this book twice now (it came out in Spanish in 2016) and the character, drama, and wry humor still entrance me. Reading/remembering the earlier books is not required to enjoy this story, set amongst the political intrigues and maneuverings of Franco’s Spain. Secret agent Alicia Gris is a compelling Alice in Wonderland at the center of the plot. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
The Labyrinth of the Spirits: A Novel Cover Image
$37.50
ISBN: 9780062668691
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - September 18th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Clara's Reviews