User menu

Shopping cart

Casey's Reviews

A woman sits on a flying broomstick in a Quidditch arena, holding a Quaffle.Casey is the second-generation owner of Bookshop Santa Cruz. Her earliest memory is riding the rocking horse in the kids section when the store was located across the street. When not reading Harry Potter with her two kids, she is an avid reader of new works of fiction, history and politics and loves to read with her book group.


 

James by Percival Everett

Many books have attempted to enlarge our understanding of humanity by putting readers in another's shoes. Percival Everett's brilliant retelling of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn from Jim's point of view not only redefines our understanding of humanity, but also reclaims it. Described as a "literary reparation" (Atlanta Journal-Constitution), James accomplishes this feat through epic storytelling, razor-sharp humor, deep compassion and heartfelt vulnerability. An American classic now has a worthy companion, and Jim has the agency he always deserved.

—Casey

Staff Pick Badge
James: A Novel By Percival Everett Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385550369
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - March 19th, 2024

Martyr! By Kaveh Akbar

Kaveh Akbar, an Iranian American poet, thunders onto the literary fiction scene with his first novel, a book which is as fresh and innovative as any as I've read in years. We meet Cyrus, an Iranian boy who moves to America with his father, and then navigates his tumultuous twenties by grappling with his history and identity through friendships, sex, poetry, addiction, history and art. This book is original and surprising, funny and affecting, thoughtful and poetic. Basically, it's everything, and then more. 

— Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Martyr!: A novel By Kaveh Akbar Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593537619
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - January 23rd, 2024

Supercommunicators By Charles Duhigg

In our divided world, I can think of nothing more important than forging a better understanding on how to communicate. New Yorker Pulitzer Prize winning journalist and author of The Power of Habit, Duhigg walks us through the science and art of communication using stories, studies and heart to explain the act that impacts our lives more than almost anything else. This book is a revelatory new approach to use with partners, kids, work, politics and life. An important book to find common ground in an extraordinary time.

— Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Supercommunicators: How to Unlock the Secret Language of Connection By Charles Duhigg Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593243916
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - February 20th, 2024

Float Up, Sing Down

In the vein of Willa Cather, Kent Haruf or Elizabeth Strout, Laird Hunt finds a way to transform quiet, ordinary lives into stories with deep emotional resonance. Taking a character from his National Book Award nominated historical fiction, Zorrie (also a great book that was overlooked since it published in March 2020), Hunt follows the lives of one small town as they navigate relationships, love, loss and what it means to be part of a community. 
— Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Float Up, Sing Down By Laird Hunt Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781639730100
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - February 6th, 2024

The Caretaker By Ron Rash

This tender story of a friendship between two men, one who is off serving in the Korean war and the other who quietly cares for his pregnant wife, will surprise you not only because it breaks free from the common love triangle narrative, but because it speaks to loyalty, friendship, empathy and understanding in quiet but powerful ways. A beautiful book from start to finish. 

— Casey

Staff Pick Badge
The Caretaker: A Novel By Ron Rash Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385544276
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - September 26th, 2023

Poor Deer By Claire Oshetsky

A powerful and heart rendering novel from local author Claire Oshetsky about a young girl who wonders if she can obtain forgiveness for a tragic act that happened before she knew right from wrong. Not since the compelling young narrator in Room by Emma Donoghue have I witnessed such a singular and endearing voice of youth, who brings such honesty, inquisitiveness and heart to the larger questions of life, family and belonging. This is one you will not soon forget.

— Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Poor Deer: A Novel By Claire Oshetsky Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063327665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - January 9th, 2024

Mercury By Amy Jo Burns

The Joseph brothers are the heirs to a small-town plumbing company and who grapple with the family roles and responsibilities that have been defined for them since before they were born. In walks a young woman who quickly upends their sense of self, as she tries to figure out how to help them define what values to cherish and which to let go. There are few things as satisfying as a compelling, character-driven novel where you completely lose yourself in the lives of others, if only for a few hours. Fans of Ann Patchett and Mary Beth Keane rejoice!

— Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Mercury: A Novel By Amy Jo Burns Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781250908568
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Celadon Books - January 2nd, 2024

The Wren, the Wren

Three generations of women in one family explore the long-felt consequences of belonging as they grapple with abandonment by the family's patriarch- an Irish poet who could write about love more than he could give it. Enright's brilliance is the way she can infuse each generation with feeling that both separates their experience, but ultimately binds the characters together in profound ways.

— Casey

Staff Pick Badge
The Wren, the Wren: A Novel By Anne Enright Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781324005681
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 19th, 2023

Rough Sleepers By Tracy Kidder

Pulitzer Prize winner Tracy Kidder (Mountains Beyond Mountains) is back with another example of his ability to shine a light on heroic individuals making a huge impact on some of the hardest social issues of our time. But instead of leaving you feeling that you have to be a hero to make a difference, he shows us how it is the everyday expression of compassion, connection with others and dedication that ultimately changes the world. This time he explores the world of a doctor serving Boston's homeless population and in doing so, shares a vision on how a different form of medical care could make all the difference. I am in awe of this book.  

— Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Rough Sleepers: Dr. Jim O'Connell's urgent mission to bring healing to homeless people By Tracy Kidder Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781984801456
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - January 16th, 2024

Covenant of Water By Abraham Verghese

Epic in scope, brilliant in prose and exceptional in storytelling, Verghese (Cutting for Stone) traces three generations in southwest India through marriages and parenthood, health and loss, ambition and identity, and a curse that affects each generation when one member of a large family perishes by drowning. Even at 700 pages, it is utterly absorbing, a perfect read to be lost in and then changed forever. 

— Casey

Staff Pick Badge
The Covenant of Water (Oprah's Book Club) By Abraham Verghese Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780802162175
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - May 2nd, 2023

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Casey's Reviews