User menu

Shopping cart

Brooks's Reviews

The Disenchantment by Celia Bell

Celia Bell’s The Disenchantment is a period piece featuring queer Sapphic love and dark undercurrents of passion and murder. It intrigued me right from the start with its blend of the fantastical and fairy tale and its stark portrayal of ugly, mundane human conflict. For fans of stories of murder, intrigue, love, and the occult.

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
The Disenchantment: A Novel By Celia Bell Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593317174
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - May 16th, 2023

Dyscalculia: A Love Story of Epic Miscalculation by Camonghne Felix

Dyscalculia is a face in front of a mirror, eyes closed, explaining its looks from memory. This genre-defying book is a poetic, self-critical, and internal meditation on mistakes made in love and their repercussions; a tracery of the wounds of later life back to the cracks of origin in early childhood. This slim tale transfixed me, and as it went on, revealed more and more to me about the nature of causation and about myself. I implore everyone to read this book, but especially those fans of Jenny Offill and In the Dream House by Carmen Maria Machado.

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
Dyscalculia: A Love Story of Epic Miscalculation By Camonghne Felix Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593242179
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: One World - February 14th, 2023

Walking Practice by Dolki Min

The first few pages alone make this book one worth reading. If you have ever been misgendered and misplaced by the binary gender system, Walking Practice is so immediately validating. It cuts to the core of the delusions and absurdity that “necessitates” knowing, or thinking you know, the gender of every person you encounter. If you live on the other side of this experience, then this book will be an education in foreign emotions. All of this in just the first few pages. Try it.

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
Walking Practice: A Novel By Dolki Min, Victoria Caudle (Translated by) Cover Image
By Dolki Min, Victoria Caudle (Translated by)
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063258617
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperVia - March 14th, 2023

Birds and Us: A 12,000-Year History from Cave Art to Conservation by Tim Birkhead

Tim Birkhead’s Birds and Us is an informative and personal journey through our relationship— cultural, scientific, and environmental—with birds. It does what my favorite bird books do: It makes the familiar fantastic. Birkhead’s book takes the reader from the first known written accounts of birds through the Middle Ages and on to the founding of birding and ornithology. He reminds us how relevant a role birds play in our history and our present, and looks at the ongoing threat we pose to birds and our responsibility to save them.

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
Birds and Us: A 12,000-Year History from Cave Art to Conservation By Tim Birkhead Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780691239927
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Princeton University Press - August 9th, 2022

Lonely Castle in the Mirror by Mizuki Tsujimura

Finally translated into English, this moving, award-winning Japanese novel follows the lives of the girl Kokoro and six other students as they are pulled from their disconnected lives into a fantastical sanctuary. This novel chronicles the cyclical nature of loneliness with playful prose and emphasizes the need we all share for human connection. Fans of Ruth Ozeki, Sayaka Murata, and Helen Oyeyemi will feel at home in the prose and themes and will put this book down feeling hopeful for the chance at connection we all have within each other.

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
Lonely Castle In The Mirror By Mizuki Tsujimura, Philip Gabriel (Translated by) Cover Image
By Mizuki Tsujimura, Philip Gabriel (Translated by)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781645660408
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Erewhon Books - October 18th, 2022

Slenderman: Online Obsession, Mental Illness, and the Violent Crime of Two Midwestern Girls by Kathleen Hale

Slenderman is a full, well-researched account of The Slenderman Stabbing, one of the most disquieting crimes of the last decade. Coverage of this story has been ongoing since the event, but this title explores new material based on interviews with those affected and court transcripts. On reading, this book is full of exquisite detail and empathy, and a desire to expound on the contribution mental illness played in the crime. If you enjoy reading or listening to true crime, you’ll devour this notable contribution to the genre.

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
Slenderman: Online Obsession, Mental Illness, and the Violent Crime of Two Midwestern Girls By Kathleen Hale Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802159809
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Grove Press - August 16th, 2022

There Are Places in the World Where Rules Are Less Important Than Kindness And Other Thoughts on Physics, Philosophy and the World by Carlo Rovelli

Carlo Rovelli’s new essay collection is an absolute balm for the anxiety of recent years. Informative and hopeful, Rovelli takes the reader through history, literature, and science to show both the interconnectedness of these subjects and of us all. He has always had a gift for relating complex topics in simple prose, and he does the same here. This collection was a joy to read and I eagerly await what he publishes next. 

—Brooks

Thin Places: A Natural History of Healing and Home by Kerri ní Dochartaigh

For fans of Annie Dillard and Mary Oliver comes Kerri ní Dochartaigh’s Thin Places. The daughter of a Protestant and a Catholic, Dochartaigh grew up in Ireland during the Troubles and writes of finding solace and healing in the wild landscape and water. Empathetic and poetic in style and intimate in nature, her memoir is unique in its open-faced honesty. This book is definitely one to reflect on.

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
Thin Places By Kerri Ní Dochartaigh Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781571311955
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - April 12th, 2022

When the Sparrow Falls by Neil Sharpson

If Orwell’s 1984 and VanderMeer’s Annihilation had a baby during the Cold War, it would be this book. In an era where three AIs control most global decisions and most humans have digitized their consciousness, the totalitarian Caspian Republic is the last stronghold of “classical” humanity. When complacent bureaucrat Agent Nikolai South is tasked with a high-risk mission, his morals and regrets collide with the interests of the state, in a compelling blend of mystery, politics, ethics, and technology. 

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
When the Sparrow Falls By Neil Sharpson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250784230
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Tor Books - May 10th, 2022

Tarot and Divination Cards: A Visual Archive by Laetitia Barbier

This gorgeous visual compendium, assembled from more than 100 tarot decks and 500 years of history, explores the symbolic and esoteric roots of each card. Featuring anonymous artists rarely seen before, modern masters, and today’s most talented illustrators, this book is stunning as well as informative. I love unique and comprehensive books like this, and I can’t wait to add it to my library.

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
Tarot and Divination Cards: A Visual Archive By Laetitia Barbier Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781419756375
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Cernunnos - December 14th, 2021

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Brooks's Reviews