User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Blair's Reviews

Blair began working at Bookshop Santa Cruz after working two years at the Del Mar Theatre and spending four years at UCSC studying media theory. She is interested in film and television, advertising, literature, and feminism. A few authors she enjoys reading are Haruki Murakam, Joan Didion, and Zadie Smith.

The Faraway Nearby

Rebecca Solnit’s writing is so effortlessly loose and lovely that she could make one want to read about almost any subject. This book, a meditation on the way stories can tangle together, offers up reflections on her mother’s Alzheimer’s disease, Iceland, and Frankenstein. But the real meaning can be found in the way Solnit gracefully connects all these seemingly disparate entities.

Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Badge
The Faraway Nearby Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143125495
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 29th, 2014

Z by Therese Anne Fowler

One can only guess as to how many talented women remain forever anonymous due to the cruel nature of history. Zelda Fitzgerald, at least, is not one of those women, though she is often overshadowed by her husband, F. Scott Fitzgerald. This novel gives a new voice to the witty, troubled writer who was so much more than her husband’s muse. Z is a fun reimagined romp through the literary world of the Jazz Age.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Badge
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250028662
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 4th, 2014

The Medium is the Massage by Marshall McLuhan

Much is being written right now about the dangers and potential of media and technology, but this timeless collage of trippy images and quotes from famous media theorist Marshall McLuhan is really the definitive book on the subject. On top of that, it manages to do what so many professors fail at--making theory fun.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Badge
The Medium Is the Massage Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781584230700
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gingko Press - August 1st, 2001

I Was Told There'd Be Cake by Sloane Crosley

Full of hilarious personal tales about bosses from hell, an embarrassing drawer full of toy ponies, and killing off middle school math teachers one by one on computer game The Oregon Trail, these essays are perfect reading material for fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Nora Ephron.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Badge
I Was Told There'd Be Cake Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594483066
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - April 1st, 2008

The White Album by Joan Didion

Joan Didion is anxious, neurotic, vague, and absolutely brilliant. These essays paint a perfect portrait of a country at the end of its innocence: post-1960s America. Reading it through the first time, I found myself wanting to underline every other sentence.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Badge
The White Album: Essays (FSG Classics) Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374532079
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - November 10th, 2009

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Blair's Reviews