User menu

Shopping cart



Andrea's Reviews

Andrea's favorite reads are tragic love stories, gruesome murder mysteries, and clever fantasies. She judges books by their covers more frequently than she should. She spends her Bookshop days shelving new hardcover releases, science fiction/fantasy, and IndieBound picks and bestsellers. Her favorite kinds of book questions are the ones that begin, "I don't remember the title and I don't remember the author, but it's got a blue cover..." When she's not at Bookshop, Andrea can be found participating in competitive trivia downtown, completing logic puzzles in the sunshine, or forcibly cuddling cats. She is a firm believer in the Oxford comma.

 

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

If you love nonlinear narratives and interconnected stories as much as I do, and you haven't read Cloud Atlas yet, put it at the top of your list. Six stories, six narrators, and six vastly different points in time, unfold from each other like matryoshka dolls, and David Mitchell's phenomenal storytelling ties them to one another in both big plot arcs and infinitesimal details. It's one of those books that only gets better with each reread!
Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
Cloud Atlas: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780375507250
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - August 17th, 2004

Castle Waiting: Vol 1 by Linda Medley

Fans of Fables or Once Upon a Time will devour this splendid graphic novel. Linda Medley's memorable cast of characters, some of whom you may recognize as side figures in well-known myths, get a chance to tell their own intricate backstories. Ironic, funny, charming, and bursting with detail in both illustration and prose, Castle Waiting is an irresistible treat for fairy tale fans. 

Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
Castle Waiting Cover Image
By Linda Medley, Jane Yolen (Introduction by)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781606996027
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Fantagraphics - January 18th, 2013

The Little Friend by Donna Tartt

If To Kill a Mockingbird were a murder mystery, it would look a lot like The Little Friend. Deeply atmospheric, with rich language that will make you laugh on one page and set your skin crawling on the next, Donna Tartt's novel about a 12-year-old Mississippi girl's search for her brother's killer is the perfect slow-burning thriller to start off your summer. 

Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
The Little Friend (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781400031696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - October 28th, 2003

This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki

There are books that evoke nostalgia of a certain place or time, and then there's This One Summer. Cousins Mariko and Jillian Tamaki have created a gorgeous graphic novel which perfectly encapsulates that age between kid and teenager, that feeling of wanting to be swept away in something bigger than yourself, and everything wonderful and terrible about having to grow up. 

Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
This One Summer Cover Image
By Jillian Tamaki (Illustrator), Mariko Tamaki
$18.99
ISBN: 9781596437746
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - May 6th, 2014

California Bones by Greg Van Eekhout

It’s a rough night for Daniel when the all-powerful Hierarch kills Daniel’s father Sebastian and eats him to absorb his power. Ten years later, Daniel has learned all there is to know about osteomancy—the magical ingestion of animals and elements—and he's going to steal back Sebastian’s sword from the Hierarch’s vault. It's enormous fun to watch this adventure unfold in Southern California. An obvious must for fans of the Mistborn series!
Reviewed by: 
Andrea

Dragon Age: The Masked Empire by Patrick Weekes

Political scheming, interracial tension, and the complex social dance known as the Game are all in a day’s work for Empress Celene of Orlais. When the threat of war creates unease in the empire, Celene’s enemies plan to use the situation to move against her. Briala, the Empress’s elven lover and confidante, finds herself playing a crucial role in Orlais's future. Another excellent addition to the Dragon Age tie-in novels, with lots of backstory to satisfy those of us awaiting Inquisition.
Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
Dragon Age: The Masked Empire Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780765331182
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Tor Books - April 8th, 2014

Jennifer Government by Max Barry

In this witty political satire, the government is privatized and capitalism has turned into a lethal game. Hack Nike is drawn into a nefarious scheme to gun down customers who purchase his company's extremely exclusive new sneakers. When Hack’s plan to hand off his murderous responsibilities goes horribly awry, he is pursued by the relentless Jennifer Government. Think Office Space meets 1984, with more software viruses and assassinations.
Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
Jennifer Government (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781400030927
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Vintage - January 6th, 2004

The Steady Running of the Hour

Two narratives run parallel to each other in this elegant debut novel: a treasure hunt against time and an extraordinary romance. Tristan has been given a few weeks to claim a vast fortune left to his great-grandmother by her lover, a climber who perished on Mount Everest. Spanning 80 years and two continents, from the streets of Berlin to the World War I battlefields of Somme, this breathtaking novel filled me with wanderlust and awe.  

Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
The Steady Running of the Hour: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781476704586
Availability: Hard to Find - Believed to be Out of Stock Indefinitely
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 15th, 2014

Lexicon

Emily is picked up off the street and trained at an elite school to manipulate her targets’ thoughts and actions through language. Wil is kidnapped in an airport by two strangers who want to know what destroyed Broken Hill, Australia. You know that Emily and Wil have got to be connected somehow, but I bet you won’t foresee the big twist in this smart, fast, fun thriller about the power of language. 

Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
Lexicon: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143125426
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 1st, 2014

The Quick

It’s so hard for me to talk about this book without giving anything away. A thoughtful poet moves to London, finds romance in an unexpected way, and has an excellent time being young and in love until he encounters an exclusive, mysterious club of ageless men who subsist on blood. Told in both compelling narratives and intriguing journal entries, Lauren Owen’s debut is a beautifully written love letter to the genre.

Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
The Quick Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812993271
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Random House - June 17th, 2014

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Andrea's Reviews