User menu

Shopping cart

Winter Newsletter 2023 Early Chapter Books

The Real Story By Sergio Ruzzier

In Sergio Ruzzier’s picture book world, the familiar pastel-colored critters are thoughtful, quirky, and hilarious. Here we get not one but several plausible (you be the judge) versions of the age-old question, “What happened to the cookies?” Awash from edge to edge in pen, ink, and watercolors, each page brings us closer to the truth: It’s the story, silly! A reminder to kids of all ages of the importance of storytelling. 

—Michelle

Staff Pick Badge
The Real Story: A Picture Book By Sergio Ruzzier Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419755262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Appleseed - October 10th, 2023

The Apartment House on Poppy Hill by Nina LaCour

Nina LaCour’s first venture into early-reader chapter books is filled with her signature lyrical prose, attention to detail, and warm sincerity. Nine-year-old Ella loves her home and cares about all of her neighbors. She greets the new couple who have just moved in downstairs, lends a helping hand whenever she can, and investigates the mysterious elusive residents of the upstairs apartment. A beautiful portrayal of the importance of community, a book that welcomes readers with open arms. 

—Alana

Staff Pick Badge
The Apartment House on Poppy Hill: Book 1 By Nina LaCour, Sònia Albert (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nina LaCour, Sònia Albert (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781797213736
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - November 7th, 2023

The Puppets of Spelhorst by Kate DiCamillo

What an odd, intriguing tale. A morose sea captain is inspired to purchase a set of puppets after spying one that reminds him of his lost love. This is only the beginning of the puppets’ journey, which includes a ride on a hawk, a child dentist, and a triumphant play. Once again, Kate DiCamillo proves to be a master of the craft, and Julie Morstad’s deceptively simple illustrations bring this series opener to the next level. Truly spectacular.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
The Puppets of Spelhorst (The Norendy Tales) By Kate DiCamillo, Julie Morstad (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, Julie Morstad (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536216752
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - October 10th, 2023

Catwings Complete Paperback Collection (Books 1–4) by Ursula K. Le Guin

The beloved children’s classic about a family of flying felines returns! The four Catwings books are back in print, with S.D. Schindler’s original charming full-color illustrations and Ursula K. Le Guin’s delightful prose, following the kittywinged siblings across their adventures. Whether about the family escaping the city and settling into the country or getting to know new kitties and visiting their mama, each story is full of unique humor and heart. Sure to thrill readers of any age. 

—Yves

Staff Pick Badge
Catwings By Ursula  K. Le Guin, S.D. Schindler (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ursula K. Le Guin, S.D. Schindler (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781665936590
Availability: Backordered
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - October 24th, 2023

Ten-Word Tiny Tales To Inspire and Unsettle by Joseph Coelho & 21 artist friends

This collection of super-short stories, ranging from silly to downright chilling, stuck with me long after reading. Each unique snippet is paired with its own beautiful artwork by 1 of 21 different illustrators from all across the world. Every tale was absolutely enthralling and would make a fabulous story by itself, but my favorite part was the writing prompts at the end of the book that encourage kids to expand the snippets and make them their own.

—Mo

Staff Pick Badge
Ten-Word Tiny Tales: To Inspire and Unsettle (Ten Word Tiny Tales) By Joseph Coelho, Various (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joseph Coelho, Various (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536231359
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 12th, 2023

Looking Up by Stephan Pastis

Saint, named for the football team, not a religious figure, notices for sale signs popping up all around her neighborhood. Everything from the quirky toy store to her favorite eatery is being torn down and replaced. The worst part, however, is the potential loss of Daniel’s house across the street. Stephan Pastis’s newest highly illustrated novel is hilarious and heartfelt. A great read aloud for fans of Mac B., Kid Spy and Dory Fantasmagory

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Looking Up By Stephan Pastis, Stephan Pastis (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Stephan Pastis, Stephan Pastis (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781665929622
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - October 10th, 2023

Subscribe to RSS - Winter Newsletter 2023 Early Chapter Books