User menu

Shopping cart

Winter Newsletter 2022 Science Fiction & Fantasy

The Genesis of Misery by Neon Yang

Misery Nomaki, possessed of vast powers, is thrust into the limelight when the people in the moon colony where she lives, start to think of her as the Last Messiah. Now she must confront the path laid before her: a war between the Faithful and the Heretics, and she is at the center of it all. She is this generation’s Joan of Arc—in space! I loved the fresh approach to LGBTQ+ representation. Highly recommended for anyone who loves a futuristic twist on a classic tale.

—KAILEY JO

Staff Pick Badge
The Genesis of Misery By Neon Yang Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250788979
Availability: This item is likely out of print! We may be able to order it from the publisher. If it's unavailable, we will refund you ASAP.
Published: Tor Books - September 27th, 2022

The Hollow Kind by Andy Davidson

Andy Davidson (The Boatman’s Daughter) returns with another Southern Gothic horror tale to make your skin crawl. A long-lost granddaughter and her son inherit a foreboding Georgia estate haunted by an ancient evil, and the family secrets begin to unravel. Davidson makes his prose slither and lurch through the pages as he marches you through the cursed soil of Redfern Hill, where both human and inhumane evils tear a family apart.

—Josué

Staff Pick Badge
The Hollow Kind: A Novel By Andy Davidson Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374538569
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: MCD - October 11th, 2022

Thistlefoot by GennaRose Nethercott

When Baba Yaga’s great-grandchildren inherit her house—complete with chicken feet—the two estranged siblings are forced to confront the generational traumas that have been haunting their family. With its stunning prose and hilarious dialogue, this novel about memories and magic is one of my favorites of the year.

—ZOE

Staff Pick Badge
Thistlefoot: A Novel By GennaRose Nethercott Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593468838
Availability: This item is likely out of print! We may be able to order it from the publisher. If it's unavailable, we will refund you ASAP.
Published: Anchor - September 13th, 2022

The Spare Man by Mary Robinette Kowal

This was so much fun! A Martian cruise. An incognito heiress (with chronic pain and PTSD) and her definitely-retired-PI spouse on honeymoon. A murder, and said retired-PI arrested for the crime. Secrets, false identities, robots, cocktails, and the adorabl-est service dog. Mary Robinette Kowal has crafted the most fun whodunnit I’ve read since The Thin Man, in a beautiful, inclusive, space-born future. I hope this is just the beginning of Tesla Crane and Shal, but meanwhile, join me in reveling in this delightful caper. 
—JOCELYN

Staff Pick Badge
The Spare Man By Mary Robinette Kowal Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250829177
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - October 11th, 2022

Lonely Castle in the Mirror by Mizuki Tsujimura

Finally translated into English, this moving, award-winning Japanese novel follows the lives of the girl Kokoro and six other students as they are pulled from their disconnected lives into a fantastical sanctuary. This novel chronicles the cyclical nature of loneliness with playful prose and emphasizes the need we all share for human connection. Fans of Ruth Ozeki, Sayaka Murata, and Helen Oyeyemi will feel at home in the prose and themes and will put this book down feeling hopeful for the chance at connection we all have within each other.

—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
Lonely Castle In The Mirror By Mizuki Tsujimura, Philip Gabriel (Translated by) Cover Image
By Mizuki Tsujimura, Philip Gabriel (Translated by)
$27.95
ISBN: 9781645660408
Availability: Backordered
Published: Erewhon Books - October 18th, 2022

Station Eternity by Mur Lafferty

This is a wild whodunit. A locked room intergalactic murder. A sentient space station that’s having an identity crisis. Strange aliens including symbionts and hive minds. Our hero, Mallory, is an amateur sleuth by necessity. Death seems to follow her everywhere, including into space. This is a great start to a new series by the talented author Mur Lafferty. Once again, she hits the sweet spot between sci-fi and mystery.  
—TREY

Staff Pick Badge
Station Eternity (The Midsolar Murders #1) By Mur Lafferty Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780593098110
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace - October 4th, 2022

The Story of the Hundred Promises by Neil Cochrane

This elegant, gentle, and above all fiercely loving tale of a trans man’s gratitude to a mysterious Enchanter will captivate any fan of fantasy retellings. I had to stop many times and take a do-not-cry-in-public break at philosophical musings just a little too poignant and quiet moments just a little too personal, wondering repeatedly at the fact that my own experiences were suddenly reflected so easily. A long-needed warm embrace of a book.

—YVES

Staff Pick Badge
The Story of the Hundred Promises By Neil Cochrane Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781942436515
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Forest Avenue Press - October 4th, 2022

Dead Man’s Hand by James J. Butcher

James J. Butcher’s debut novel is fast-paced and just plain fun. In this urban fantasy, a young man must throw out the rule book to find the killer of his former mentor. An action-packed murder mystery with magic—really, what more could you want?

—ZOE

Staff Pick Badge
Dead Man's Hand (The Unorthodox Chronicles #1) By James J. Butcher Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593440414
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Ace - October 11th, 2022

Subscribe to RSS - Winter Newsletter 2022 Science Fiction & Fantasy