User menu

Shopping cart

Winter Newsletter 2022 Art, Crafts & Photography

Bay of Life by Frans Lanting & Chris Eckstrom

Frans Lanting and Chris Eckstrom, the award-winning and world-renowned photographer/writer team, have brought their gorgeous work and editorial vision home to the Monterey Bay in this stunning collection that highlights the vibrant ecosystems of our area, from the waters to the redwoods. I have long admired Lanting’s wildlife and nature photography, so to have our own area, its inhabitants, and its changing dynamics so beautifully captured and honored, I cannot think of a better gift for Santa Cruzans everywhere. 

—Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Bay of Life: From Wind to Whales By Frans Lanting, Chris Eckstrom, Leon Panetta (Foreword by) Cover Image
$60.00
ISBN: 9781647221430
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Earth Aware Editions - October 4th, 2022

Close Knit: 15 Patterns and 45 Techniques from Beginner to Advanced from Europe’s Coolest Knitter by Laerke Bagger

All crafters know that a good craft book comes with easy-to-follow instructions and beautiful images to match. You will get all this and more in Close Knit—made for beginners and pros alike! Bagger fans will be excited to find her unique knitting style and sustainable punk aesthetic inside. It will be easy to find your muse from the large amount of designs that fill cover to cover. 
—KAILEY JO

Staff Pick Badge
Close Knit: 15 Patterns and 45 Techniques from Beginner to Advanced from Europe's Coolest Knitter By Lærke Bagger Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9783791388861
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Prestel - November 8th, 2022

Creature: Paintings, Drawings, and Reflections by Shaun Tan

In this book of obsessions, contemplations, and never-before-seen art, Shaun Tan takes us behind the scenes to teach us how the monsters are made. Fans of The Lost Thing, The Arrival, and his many other gorgeously detailed and award-winning books will rejoice at the opportunity to walk through Tan’s process in coming up with his famous creatures, in addition to his expansive discussion of the ideas they represent and the reason for their consistent popularity.

—YVES

Staff Pick Badge
Creature: Paintings, Drawings, and Reflections By Shaun Tan Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781646142002
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - November 1st, 2022

Lotta Jansdotter Everyday Patterns: Easy-Sew Pieces to Mix and Match by Lotta Jansdotter

Let what makes you unique shine through by creating a look inspired by Jansdotter’s latest sewing book. I love the adaptability of each design, allowing for creations that fit any style all year long. Complete with flexible sizing, layered pattern designs, and personal stories tied to every piece, this book is for anyone who is looking for a spark of motivation to make your wardrobe scream you!

—KAILEY JO

Staff Pick Badge
Lotta Jansdotter Everyday Patterns: easy-sew pieces to mix and match By Lotta Jansdotter Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781419743986
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 18th, 2022

Last Light: How Six Great Artists Made Old Age a Time of Triumph by Richard Lacayo

Art critic Lacayo uses the last works of six great visual artists—including Louise Nevelson and Henri Matisse—to explore the themes of their lives and the historical moments they lived through. Lacayo’s book is for the artist, the art lover, the person for whom the details of the painter are just as important as the technique, and those who feel that the next best thing to viewing a masterpiece is getting to talk about it with someone who knows. 
—JOCELYN

Staff Pick Badge
Last Light: How Six Great Artists Made Old Age a Time of Triumph By Richard Lacayo Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781501146589
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 11th, 2022

The Only Woman by Immy Humes

This arresting and powerful book features photographs of groups of people where only one woman is included. From recognizable women in the worlds of publishing (Katharine Graham), art (Frida Kahlo), politics (Shirley Chisholm), and more, to unknown-to-me women such as Andrea Motley Crabtree, deep sea diver for the army, and Florence North, boxing promoter, each photo moved me and added to my appreciation for the determination, talents, and often bravery of these groundbreaking women.

—S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
The Only Woman By Immy Humes Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781838664206
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Phaidon Press - August 3rd, 2022

Embroidery: Threads and Stories from Alabama Chanin and The School of Making by Natalie Chanin

Artisans and those who appreciate crafts, textiles, and needlework, will love this gorgeous book by Natalie Chanin, founder of a company which makes organically and ethically produced, thoughtfully designed, women's clothing, home textiles, and more. Each beautiful piece is stitched with care and intent, creating garments that “are treated like narratives. Like short stories we can all wear.” Chanin includes some sewing techniques, but the real gift of this book is that she shares her own story of finding inspiration, following a path, and celebrating the joy of design. 
—S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
Embroidery: Threads and Stories from Alabama Chanin and The School of Making By Natalie Chanin Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781419752773
Availability: This item is likely out of print! We may be able to order it from the publisher. If it's unavailable, we will refund you ASAP.
Published: Abrams - October 18th, 2022

Modern Block Printing by Rowan Sivyer

With seventeen fun beginner projects, this book will teach new printers what tools and materials are needed and how to care for them, the basics of design, how to carve and print with stamps and other techniques, and offers tutorials for lovely crafts one can make with block printing. Colorful, modern, and accessible, this guide would be an excellent addition to the collections of art teachers, hobby crafters, and creative home decor enthusiasts. 
—MOLLY

Staff Pick Badge
Modern Block Printing: Over 15 Projects Designed to be Printed by Hand By Rowan Sivyer Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781784885182
Availability: This item is likely out of print! We may be able to order it from the publisher. If it's unavailable, we will refund you ASAP.
Published: Hardie Grant - October 25th, 2022

Subscribe to RSS - Winter Newsletter 2022 Art, Crafts & Photography