User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Summer Reading 2021 Early Chapter Books Recommendations

See the full list of great reading recommendations for Summer 2021 here.

Training Day (El Toro & Friends) Written by Raúl the Third Colors by Elaine Bay

It’s training day for El Toro, and he’s got a lot to cover if he’s going to smash The Wall! But sleeping in sounds so much better than training…. Although I’m no luchador, like El Toro I too cherish my sleep. Lovably silly characters, dynamic graphics, and trippy colors make this a visually rich read. By incorporating Spanish and English, this book will appeal to bilingual readers and language learners alike. — Eli

Staff Pick Badge
Training Day (El Toro and Friends) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780358380382
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Versify - May 4th, 2021

Azmina the Gold Glitter Dragon (Dragon Girls, Book 1) by Maddy Mara

Moving from a city to a small town is quite the adjustment, but Azmina did not count on having a magical destiny as part of her move. Following a mysterious call in her new backyard, she learns she’s actually the Gold Glitter Dragon and needs to save the Magic Forest. Fun and inventive, this is a terrific start of an adventure for fans of Dragon Master and Kingdom of Wrenly. The first three books in the series debut simultaneously. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Azmina the Gold Glitter Dragon (Dragon Girls #1) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781338680638
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - May 4th, 2021

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey (Maybe Marisol, Book 1) by Erin Entrada Kelly

I absolutely loved reading this book and spending time with Newbery medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s Marisol Rainey and her world. Each stage of the story stands on its own and is relatable for people of all ages and genders. The book is broken into chapters that are ideal for an early reader to work through on their own or for the family to share at bedtime. I saw myself in Marisol, as I think anyone who has ever needed a reminder that they are smart, creative, and brave will. — Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062970428
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 4th, 2021

Subscribe to RSS - Summer Reading 2021 Early Chapter Books Recommendations