User menu

Shopping cart

Summer Newsletter 2022 Mystery

One-Shot Harry by Gary Phillips

Hardboiled but with hope, Black Korean War veteran–turned-photojournalist Harry Ingram gets the job done in this tangibly immersive historical noir. Jazz rhythms set the pace as the diverse communities of 1960s Los Angeles come to vibrant life, tensions rising ahead of a visit from Martin Luther King Jr, and Harry searches for the truth, maybe even justice, following the death of an old friend. An eminently satisfying start to a new, wholly original historical mystery series.  —Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
One-Shot Harry By Gary Phillips Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781641292917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - April 12th, 2022

Portrait of a Thief by Grace D. Li

This enthralling debut by Grace D. Li will steal your attention from the first line. Following the fates of five young Chinese American art thieves as they pilfer priceless Chinese art from Western museums, and written in a lyrical, fast-paced style, Portrait of a Thief is part heist novel and part character study. Inspired by classics of cinema like Ocean's 11 and the Fast & Furious franchise, Li’s page-turning debut will no doubt lead you to reconsider what it means to be a criminal.  —Aric

Staff Pick Badge
Portrait of a Thief: A Novel By Grace D. Li Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593184738
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tiny Reparations Books - April 5th, 2022

Breathless by Amy McCulloch

Anything can happen on the mountain. One wrong step. An improperly knotted rope. Cerebral edema. Avalanche in the dead of night. A dropped ice axe. Bad weather. A snapped neck. Travel journalist Cecily Wong has an opportunity to die for. An exclusive interview with mountaineering legend Charles McVeigh on the summit of Manaslu could make her career. Or take her life. McVeigh’s band of misfit toys enters the Death Zone and oxygen levels drop as the body count soars. Cecily must uncover the secrets of the mountain before she becomes its next victim. Perfect for fans of Into Thin Air and anyone who loves thrillers that leave them, well, breathless.   —Lindsay

Staff Pick Badge
Breathless: A Thriller By Amy McCulloch Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593315491
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - May 3rd, 2022

More Than You’ll Ever Know by Katie Gutierrez

Gutierrez’s novel gave me so much more than I expected, with its beautiful and thoughtful examinations of motherhood, marriage, and the ethics of true-crime journalism, all in the setting of an intricate and thrilling mystery. As a true-crime lover and a fan of literary prose, this novel is one of my new favorites and a definite recommendation to anyone looking for a deep story to get lost in.  —Nikole

Staff Pick Badge
More Than You'll Ever Know: A Novel By Katie Gutierrez Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063118454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - June 7th, 2022

Northern Spy by Flynn Berry

Berry’s slow-burning thriller is set against the backdrop of an alternate version of contemporary Northern Ireland. After the IRA resumes hostilities in the decades after the Good Friday Agreement, BBC producer and new mother Tessa learns that her sister Marian has been involved in terrorist activities in support of the group. Unconvinced she participated willingly, Tessa sets out to find her sister and the truth. Full of intrigue and suspense, Northern Spy is a quick and engaging read.   —Josúe

Staff Pick Badge
Northern Spy: A Novel By Flynn Berry Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735225015
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 5th, 2022

Murder on the Red River by Marcie R. Rendon

The dust of 1970s Minnesota is palpable, lingering like the taste of beer and tobacco, with the echo of pool cues in the bar. Then there’s the body. Cash Blackbear, a 19-year-old Ojibwe farm laborer and unlikely detective, uses wit and uncanny ability to uncover truths. An incredible beginning to a kick-ass heroine’s series that faces the ugliness of history and murder. Immerse yourself in this mystery from White Earth Nation member Marcie R. Rendon.   —Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Murder on the Red River (A Cash Blackbear Mystery #1) By Marcie R. Rendon Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781641293761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - April 5th, 2022

Suburban Dicks by Fabian Nicieza

From the twisted mind of Fabian Nicieza (co-creator of the comic book character Deadpool) comes this tongue-firmly-in-cheek send-up of the American suburbs and the noir-ish detective novel. A former FBI profiler, now a stay-at-home mom, stumbles across a murder at a gas station and joins forces with a local small-time reporter to unravel a tightly wound ball of intrigue. With a lot of humor, some scathing critiques of middle class life in the ’burbs, and some solid whodunnit craftsmanship, this book is a top-notch mystery debut.  —Ed

Staff Pick Badge
Suburban Dicks By Fabian Nicieza Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593191286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - May 3rd, 2022

Midnight, Water City by Chris McKinney

Scientist Akira Kimura—the savior of the world—has been murdered, and it’s up to a retired police officer to figure out why. Old-school noir meets futuristic science fiction in a world where most people inhabit the ocean and few dare to live on the environmentally ruined land. Midnight, Water City’s twist after twist, along with its beautiful world building, kept me hooked the whole way through.   —Kailey Jo

Staff Pick Badge
Midnight, Water City (The Water City Trilogy #1) By Chris Mckinney Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781641293686
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - June 14th, 2022

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

Thank you for supporting local public schools!

 

Subscribe to RSS - Summer Newsletter 2022 Mystery