User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Fiction Favorites

A rotating selection of some of our staff's favorite titles. New reviews added quarterly.

Troubling Love by Elena Ferrante

In case you haven't heard, Ferrante is brilliant and you should read everything she's written. Troubling Love is a whirlwind mystery that delves deep into my personal favorite topic, the relationship between a mother and daughter. Ferrante's use of language is unparalleled as she writes of a daughter obsessed with finding out who her mother really was in the days following her death. - Emma

Staff Pick Badge
Troubling Love Cover Image
By Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein (Translated by)
$15.00
ISBN: 9781933372167
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - September 2006

The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

I hesistate to tell you anything about the plot of this book because it absolutely should not work. And yet, it is one of the most touching, charming, and romantic books I've ever read. It’s a neurodiverse, feel-good, feminist rom-com. Take a break from the stress of life and immerse yourself in this smart, sexy fantasy. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
The Kiss Quotient Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780451490803
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 5th, 2018

Salt Fish Girl by Larissa Lai

Flipping between 19th century China and a futurist Pacific Northwest, Salt Fish Girl is equal parts ecological dystopia and surrealist queer birth narrative. Magical realism and mythology feed the cyclical, fantastical story of Nu Wa, an immortal shape-shifter. This book is blurry, messy and absolutely riveting! - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Salt Fish Girl Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9780887623820
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Thomas Allen Publishers - June 17th, 2008

The Paragon Hotel by Lyndsay Faye

Faye builds an incredibly vivid, diverse, vibrant world of Prohibition Era America. Alice “Nobody” James picks her way between danger and friendship, prejudice and love, with intrigue before and behind her. Pick this one up for the history, the mystery, the slang and the love stories. Stay for a wonderful, wild ride, and characters you can’t help but adore. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Paragon Hotel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735210752
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 8th, 2019

Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Prismatic light forms the basis of magic and government in this twisty conspiracy saga. Weeks absolutely raises the bar for the genre with the depth and uniqueness of the Lightbringer magic system and world building. He is a master of character and the diverse protagonists expand the story with nuance and heart. Great for fans of Rothfuss, Sanderson, or Abercrombie. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
The Black Prism (Lightbringer #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316246279
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - July 23rd, 2013

There But For The by Ali Smith

A guest at a dinner party disappears and locks himself - indefinitely - in the guest room, kicking off a media frenzy that brings together a bunch of lovable outcasts. Smith writes from a place of deep empathy, infusing each page with electric energy and witty wordplay. Reading this book rekindled my fondness for humanity. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
There But For The: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307275240
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - July 24th, 2012

French Exit by Patrick deWitt

Imbued with Dewitt’s oddball sensibility, this strange little book tells the story of an extremely wealthy (but growing poorer by the day) widow and her adult son who both absolutely positively refuse to worry about their increasingly precarious finances. Weird in the extreme, they’re sarcastic, rude, dismissive—and still strangely entertaining. An enjoyable romp. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
French Exit: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062846921
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - August 28th, 2018

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Reading this book is like standing near the sea at night, a familiar place somehow full of mystery and possibility. Stiefvater writes beautifully to create a modern fairy tale world, with human problems for which there are no magic answers. Sean and Puck each race against time, poverty and heartbreak to find their fortunes. I hungrily devoured this. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Scorpio Races Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545224918
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 2013

Ultraluminous by Katherine Faw

Meet K, a heroin-addicted high-end prostitute who loves drugstore sushi. Staccato-like vignettes take us through a year in her life. The writing is sparse and brutal, sexy and repellent. The story is riveting and hypnotic, making it impossible to look away. This novel is not for everyone but I think it's remarkable. The conclusion left me speechless and lingered in my thoughts for days. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Ultraluminous: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250192738
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - December 4th, 2018

Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins

Following characters from Paris, New Orleans and Seattle, Robbins creates a complex and hilarious work of magical realism. Shifting between past and present, our story begins with King Alobar as he defies death and aging in search of eternal life. The story's whimsical nature and Robbins’s quirky wisdom will delight and astound you. - Natalie O.

Staff Pick Badge
Jitterbug Perfume: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780553348989
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bantam - April 1990

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Staff Fiction Favorites