User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Fiction Favorites

A rotating selection of some of our staff's favorite titles. New reviews added quarterly.

The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie

This novel is classic Ann Leckie. Her characters are understated and clever, her worldbuilding is rich, unique, and intimately detailed, and the mystery at the novel’s heart is slow to bloom but ultimately very satisfying. This is one hell of a fantasy world, and one I hope she continues to explore. If you like Leckie’s writing, you’ll love this novel. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Tower Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316388696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 26th, 2019

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

Merricat and Constance Blackwood may or may not have poisoned their entire family last year. Hated by the town, the sisters are slowly entombed in their rambling mansion with their infirm Uncle Julian. Jackson is at her chilling, disturbing best in this paean to the haunted house. Tension builds as the characters become subtly more unhinged, horrific, and, worst of all, relatable. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
We Have Always Lived in the Castle: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) Cover Image
By Shirley Jackson, Jonathan Lethem (Introduction by), Thomas Ott (Illustrator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143039976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Classics - October 31st, 2006

Nightchaser by Amanda Bouchet

I love a good Robin Hood story. This one just happens to take place in space in this perfect blend of scifi and romance. It's so very steamy, full of adventure, and really just a lot of fun. Bouchet knows how to create characters you want to go on a journey with. While you're waiting for the rest of this series, also read her Kingmaker Chronicles. - Karena

Staff Pick Badge
Nightchaser Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781492667131
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Casablanca - January 2019

The Pisces by Melissa Broder

This delightful, deeply funny, and raw story is the perfect read if you're looking for something that's wholly original. It's like an MFA Shape of Water with an R rating—you'll be completely lured in by the dazzling descriptions of Venice Beach and the erotic encounters of our narrator-in-crisis. Perfect to read with friends! - Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
The Pisces: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781524761561
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - February 5th, 2019

Any Man by Amber Tamblyn

This daring debut novel by actress, poet, and activist Amber Tamblyn is a powerful gut-wrenching indictment of sexual violence. A gender role reversal has the effect of immersing the reader into the dark emotional and physical aftermath of sexual assault. Tamblyn's brilliant mix of prose and poetry had me captured from the first page. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Any Man: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062688927
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - June 26th, 2018

Space Battle Lunchtime by Natalie Riess

Part cooking show, part alien abduction story, all adorable. Riess takes 2 storylines that have been done to death and smashes them together to bring new life to them both. The art is colorful and charming without being garish, and each character (human and not) are interesting and exciting. A great read for all ages! - J

Staff Pick Badge
Space Battle Lunchtime Vol. 1: Lights, Camera, Snacktion Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781620103135
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - October 25th, 2016

Any Human Heart by William Boyd

William Boyd should be as well known as Steinbeck or Dickens. Like them, he does it all: amazing plots, wonderful descriptions and—especially—great characters. Written in the form of journal entries, this book tells the story of an art dealer and sometime-spy whose life is a kind of history of the 20th century. Both intimate and sweeping, this is simply a great old-fashioned read. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
Any Human Heart (Vintage International) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781400031009
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - January 6th, 2004

The Book of Laughter and Forgetting by Milan Kundera

Like Kundera, this novel originated in the Czech Republic and migrated to France. Twice translated, this version of Kundera’s first international hit is superior to the original according to the author himself. The seven fantastic yet grounded tales within its pages are told with the skill of a linguistic master, and leave one feeling there might be a little magic in the mundane. - Aric

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Laughter and Forgetting: A Novel (Perennial Classics) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060932145
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - April 7th, 1999

Laidlaw by William McIlvanney

A gritty crime novel set in gritty Glasgow, Laidlaw is the book that brought Tartan Noir into existence. As much about gang presence and gang culture as it is about a murderer and his victim, this is a mystery novel for fans of The Wire and The Departed. A psychological and intense detective thriller! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Laidlaw Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781609452018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - June 3rd, 2014

American Pop by Snowden Wright

This sweeping, gorgeously written novel follows the dynastic Forster family, who in Wright’s telling are the first family in America to invent and popularize soda pop. Wright follows each family member across decades and continents, and they are by turns troubled, ambitious, humorous, heroic, and tragic, but all are written with incredible sympathy and humanity. I adored it. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
American Pop: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062697745
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - February 5th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Staff Fiction Favorites