User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

Spring Reading, 2013

Mom & Me & Mom by Maya Angelou

Fans of Maya Angelou will revel in her latest work Mom & Me & Mom as readers get a glimpse behind the phenomenal woman, writer and poet and into the most important years of her development: her earliest childhood experiences. Readers will be able to explore and discover Maya’s unusual and inspirational relationship with her mother, reminding us all of the incredible power of connection that is uniquely forged between mothers and daughters.
Reviewed by: 
Rochelle
Mom & Me & Mom Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781400066117
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Random House - April 2nd, 2013

Best of the Best American Poetry: 25th Anniversary Edition

A 25 year collection of annual anthologies promises to offer the finest poetry from the last quarter of a century. A gem of a book for both poetry enthusiasts and those new to the genre, Best of the Best American Poetry: 25th Anniversary Edition is the perfect collection to keep handy in your bag, ready to melodicize waiting room doldrums, or transform that gloomy day into wonder with imaginative, vivid rhyme.
Reviewed by: 
Rochelle
Best of the Best American Poetry: 25th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
By David Lehman (Editor), Robert Pinsky (Foreword by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781451658880
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Scribner - April 9th, 2013

The Cassoulet Saved Our Marriage by Lisa Catherine Harper & Caroline M. Grant

Divided into three parts each equal in charm and honesty, Cassoulet delves into the world of food as life as we are taken into stories as rich as the ingredients contained therein. Different writers explore food, family and learning to eat in a slow-cooked casserole of narratives that treat the most important aspects of life with the utmost respect.

Reviewed by: 
Lou
Staff Pick Badge
The Cassoulet Saved Our Marriage: True Tales of Food, Family, and How We Learn to Eat Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781611800142
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Roost Books - March 12th, 2013

All Woman and Springtime by Brandon W. Jones

For those who love a story of overcoming incredible hardships, or for anyone interested in prostitution or North Korean politics, this book is an excellent choice. When two sheltered North Korean women are sold into sex slavery outside of their home nation, they must learn hard and fast how to adjust to life outside of the reach of their Dear Leader, and how to accept the curveballs that life throws them.
Reviewed by: 
Katie
Staff Pick Badge
All Woman and Springtime Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781616202767
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Algonquin Books - March 12th, 2013

The Man Without a Face by Masha Gessen

In a world where Russia is experiencing never-before-seen economic success coupled with political anger and resentment at corrupt government actions, it is worthwhile to look at the man who is at the forefront of it all. Vladimir Putin, claimed as a savior by some and a usurper by others, has had a fascinating journey to the top of one of Europe's most powerful nations. Gessen's research into how Putin came to lead Russia is perfectly detailed, and Putin's story is incredible. For anyone interested in post-USSR Russia, or modern Russian politics, this book is a great choice.
Reviewed by: 
Katie
Staff Pick Badge
The Man Without a Face: The Unlikely Rise of Vladimir Putin Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781594486517
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - March 5th, 2013

Why Does the World Exist? by Jim Holt

In this utterly wonderful book, Jim Holt takes on one of the oldest and most contentious questions that humans have come up with, and he does it with grace, wit and sly humor. Why Does the World Exist? lives comfortably in the area between philosophy and science, and benefits from the insight of many varied and brilliant minds. I ate this book right up; it’s a must-read for curious brains.
Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Badge
Why Does the World Exist?: An Existential Detective Story Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780871403599
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Liveright - April 8th, 2013

Gulp by Mary Roach

Mary Roach has an exceptional talent for finding the fascinating in the disgusting and the taboo. Her latest book is all about the digestive system – from the tip of the tongue to, well, you know where – and it is chock-full of her trademark wit, exhaustive research and fantastic footnotes. Gulp has it all, from a man with a perpetual hole in his stomach to the science behind why crunchy food is so irresistible.
Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Badge
Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393348743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 1st, 2014

The Newlyweds by Nell Freudenberger

The Newlyweds tells the story of Amina, a young woman from Bangladesh who moves to America to marry a man she met online. As she settles in, Amina struggles to maintain contact with her family, and to merge the practicality of her new marriage with the romanticism she desires. This is a thoughtful, strong debut novel, perfect for fans of Ann Patchett or Alice Munro.

Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Badge
The Newlyweds (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780307388971
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Vintage - February 12th, 2013

What My Mother Gave Me by Elizabeth Benedict

Ask a woman to write about her mother and she will, invariably, have a lot to say. Ask 31 women to write about their mothers, and you will have a book. This thoughtful collection of essays – some funny, some painful, but all moving - describes the complex, intense, and fascinating world of mother/daughter relationships based on one simple theme: a gift – be it physical, emotional, or spiritual – that each woman received from her mother over the course of a lifetime. A beautiful premise. A beautiful book.

Reviewed by: 
George
What My Mother Gave Me: Thirty-one Women on the Gifts That Mattered Most Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616201357
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - April 2nd, 2013

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

There are funny books and then there are FUNNY BOOKS! This “mostly true memoir” by the irreverent and hysterical Jenny “The Bloggess” Lawson falls into the latter category. Let’s just say she had an “unusual childhood,” complete with quirky parents, strange experiences, and her own inner demons, which she manages to translate into a smart, creative, and laugh-out-loud work of art. She is not right in the head; she is much better (and funnier) than people who are right in the head. I want to be her friend.
Reviewed by: 
George
Staff Pick Badge
Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425261019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - March 5th, 2013

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Spring Reading, 2013