User menu

Shopping cart

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Recommended Middle Grade Graphic Novels from our 2021 Winter Newsletter

These titles were featured in our 2021 Winter Newsletter.

 

Barb the Last Berzerker by Dan Abdo & Jason Patterson

Barb is a rough and tough young Berzerker who can’t wait to kick some monster butt! But when her pals get in trouble, she finds the unlikeliest of friends to help her on her epic quest to save them. For fans of sword & sorcery fantasy and cartoons like Adventure Time, this graphic novel will keep you laughing as you encounter monsters, wizards, and fighters alongside the charmingly silly and utterly lovable Barb the Last Berzerker!—Eli

Staff Pick Badge
Barb the Last Berzerker Cover Image
By Dan Abdo, Jason Patterson, Dan Abdo (Illustrator), Jason Patterson (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781534485716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

¡¡Manu!! by Kelly Fernández

In a fresh, vibrant take on the school for magic genre, Kelly Fernández draws on the practices of brujería and Catholic saint patronage to create a lush setting inspired by the Dominican Republic. Exploring themes of belonging, friendship, and self-discovery, this heartwarming adventure is perfect for fans of The Witch Boy by Molly Knox Ostertag, Nightlights by Lorena Alvarez, and The Okay Witch by Emma Steinkellner.—Molly S.

Staff Pick Badge
Manu: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338264180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - November 2nd, 2021

The Secret Garden on 81st Street written by Ivy Noelle Weird, illustrated by Amber Padilla

Everyone wants a secret…and needs a friend. Ivy Noelle Weir and Amber Padilla deliver a lovely graphic novel of renewal, hope, and connection. Any kid who has ever been lonely will relate to Mary, Colin, and Dickon as they find each other. Inspiration can be found in their care for themselves and for the people, plants, and world around them. A welcome update to a traditional classic, this beautiful fable for our current modern world stands on its own.—Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Secret Garden on 81st Street: A Modern Graphic Retelling of The Secret Garden (Classic Graphic Remix) Cover Image
By Ivy Noelle Weir, Amber Padilla (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316459709
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 19th, 2021

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Recommended Middle Grade Graphic Novels from our 2021 Winter Newsletter