User menu

Shopping cart

Fall Reading 2022 Middle Grade

Moonflower by Kacen Callender

Moon, a child experiencing depression, steadily faces their fears in both the living and spirit realms. If I could go back and give my younger self a book, this would be it. Callender gifts us with the language needed to understand our feelings, young or old. There is so much kindness and wisdom within these pages, it will make anyone who reads them feel loved and understood. —Kailey Jo

 

Staff Pick Badge
Moonflower By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338636598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - September 6th, 2022

Attack of the Black Rectangles by Amy Sarig King

Mac hates when teachers ignore the truth in the name of “appropriateness.” When he discovers someone has blacked out a portion of his school book, he sets out to uncover the source of the censorship. This brilliantly written novel by Printz Award winner A.S. King is timely as heck and a vital addition to the conversation about how to handle hard subjects in schools. I was rooting for Mac every step of the way. —Ivy

 

Staff Pick Badge
Attack of the Black Rectangles By A. S. King Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338680522
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 6th, 2022

Three Strike Summer by Skyler Schrempp

All Gloria Mae Willard wants is to play baseball with the Balko boys, but no one wants to play with a “skirt,” even if she’s got the best arm in town. When the Dust Bowl brings tragedy after tragedy to Oklahoma, Gloria’s family packs everything they own into a truck and heads to California in search of hope. Memories of the 1993 film The Sandlot coupled with this novel's labor rights movement (think Paterson’s Lyddie) kept me racing to find out what happened next. 

—Ivy

 

Staff Pick Badge
Three Strike Summer By Skyler Schrempp Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534499140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - August 30th, 2022

Lily and the Night Creatures Written by Nick Lake

Lily’s worst fears manifest when sinister creatures posing as her parents infest her home on the night her new baby sibling is expected. Accompanied by pen-and-ink illustrations, the book is filled with talking animal friends, exciting twists, and plenty of creepy moments, while also focusing on Lily coming to terms with a chronic illness and a fear of being replaced. I especially loved the drawings with their balance of spookiness and silliness. 

—Alana


 

Staff Pick Badge
Lily and the Night Creatures By Nick Lake, Emily Gravett (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nick Lake, Emily Gravett (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534494619
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 30th, 2022

Invisible Written by Christina Diaz Gonzalez

In a new bilingual graphic novel, a group of diverse Latinx/Latine middle schoolers show us their individuality while they become a community. As we watch the kids put aside their differences and work together to help a houseless mother and her daughter, we see their personal struggles and growth through a healthy dose of encouragement and quarrels. This heartwarming story of a modern day The Breakfast Club is perfect for fans of Jerry Craft’s New Kid and Raina Telgemeier. —Molly

 

Staff Pick Badge
Invisible: A Graphic Novel By Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Gabriela Epstein (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338194548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 2nd, 2022

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

Thank you for supporting local public schools!

 

Subscribe to RSS - Fall Reading 2022 Middle Grade