User menu

Shopping cart



Fall 2021 Kids Early Graphic Novel Recommendations

See the full list of great reading recommendations for kids for Fall 2021 here.

The Bug Club by Elise Gravel

Not only is this little hardcover educational, but it’s so CUTE. Even the passing appreciator of nature will love this adorably illustrated guide to our six-legged friends. Elise Gravel uses her charming art and handwritten text to create an approachable guide that feels more like sharing notes with a very smart friend than reading lists of facts. As a big fan of bugs, I may be biased, but this book is a must-have for the future entomologist in your life. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Bug Club Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781770464155
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - August 10th, 2021

Cranky Chicken by Katherine Battersby

A cranky chicken and an optimistic worm are unlikely pals in this hilarious series starter about friendship and learning to love people as they are. Cranky likes being cranky and doesn’t want any friends, but after saving a worm named Speedy, it would seem she is stuck with one. The illustrations are laugh-out-loud funny, and I have never felt like a chicken was a kindred spirit until now. Perfect for fans of Bad Guys and the Narwhal and Jelly series. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Cranky Chicken: A Cranky Chicken Book 1 Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534469884
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 7th, 2021

The Quest for Snacks by Susie Yi

This little book is full of so much magic, good-hearted lessons, and delicious snacks you won’t be able to resist taking these cats home with you! Squash and Ginny are on the hunt for ingredients to make a potion for never-ending snacks. Along the way they make new friends, learning a lot about themselves and each other. The art is adorable and the storyline was fun, but what I most enjoyed were the lessons of kindness and responsibility these kitties learn, making this a perfect addition to any child’s library. —Jax

Staff Pick Badge
Cat & Cat Adventures: The Quest for Snacks Cover Image
By Susie Yi, Susie Yi (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780063083806
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - September 7th, 2021

Subscribe to RSS - Fall 2021 Kids Early Graphic Novel Recommendations