User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

Fall 2020 Kids Middle Grade Book Recommendations

See the full list of great reading recommendations for kids for Fall 2020 here.

Before the Ever After by Jacqueline Woodson

ZJ’s dad is famous, like football-star famous, but he’s suffering from headaches and doctors don’t know what’s wrong. Told in Woodson’s iconic beautiful poetry, we get a firsthand account of a loving father-son relationship growing as it faces adversity. Woodson’s way with words takes my breath away every time, and this book is a stark reminder that kids see more than we think. Perfect for sports fans, of course, but also anyone looking for stories about strong family bonds. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Before the Ever After Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399545436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

Ikenga by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedii Okorafor is a sci-fi/fantasy powerhouse. I have yet to read a book by her I don't like, including this one. Nnamdi is a twelve-year-old Nigerian boy who inherits superpowers after his father dies, yet has no one to show him how to use them. Will Nnamdi be able to avenge his father's death? Even though I’m not a huge fan of superheroes myself, Okorafor’s writing drew me in. Fans of Rick Riodan or any Rick Riordan Presents authors will love this book! —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Ikenga Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593113523
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2020

The Language of Ghosts By Heather Fawcett

Fawcett has crafted an entertaining new fantasy where the action almost never stops, reminiscent of Diana Wynne Jones, Rick Riordan, and Eva Ibbotson. Assassins, a floating island, invisible cats, deadly and snarky sea serpents, self-absorbed otters, and fascinating magic tangle with a relatable protagonist trying to do right by her family and world. I loved the questions of “good and evil” and “right and “wrong” that Noa grapples with and following Noa and her siblings and friends on this adventure! —Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Language of Ghosts Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062854544
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - September 8th, 2020

The Silver Arrow by Lev Grossman

It takes an incredibly special book to become an instant classic: this is such a book. Author of Magicians, Grossman’s first foray into children’s literature is a magical success, creating a world where children discover the importance of challenging work and perseverance while learning about endangered animals. If you love animals—especially talking animals—magic, trains, and adventure, you’re sure to be captivated by this book. A great read-aloud to share with someone you love! —Kathy

Staff Pick Badge
The Silver Arrow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316539531
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Tune It Out by Jamie Sumner

After a car accident, Lou Montgomery's life changes radically: she's removed from her mom's care, placed with her aunt and uncle, and diagnosed with Sensory Processing Disorder. These changes are accompanied by a cast of new and lovable characters, including Lou’s funny, fabulous, theatrical best friend Well. Thought-provoking in its exploration of disability, wealth, and familial relationships, this novel about a young girl's journey of self-discovery and self-acceptance is perfect for fans of So B. It, Out of My Mind, and Counting By 7s. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Tune It Out Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534457003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian by Tim Probert

Bea, a young girl who has intense anxiety, and a Galdurian, a species assumed extinct, team up to find Bea’s missing and increasingly infirm grandfather. Traveling through Irpa (their world), they discover beautiful wonders and creeping dangers. A wildly inventive start of what is sure to be an exciting graphic novel series, I couldn’t put it down for anything. I can’t wait for the next installment! Fans of Amulet and Mighty Jack take notice, this one's for you. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian Cover Image
By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062990464
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - September 1st, 2020

Subscribe to RSS - Fall 2020 Kids Middle Grade Book Recommendations