User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

W. W. Norton & Company

Bar Chef by Christiaan Röllich

Christiaan Röllich is the celebrated mixologist at Suzanne Goin and Carolyn Stine’s Los Angeles restaurants, so I anticipated a fantastic book even before I opened its pages. (I am the tiniest bit obsessed with Goin’s Sunday Suppers at Lucques.) Bar Chef does not disappoint. Röllich is as inspired by great ingredients as chefs are, and fresh, seasonal fruit and artisanal spirits abound in the drinks. I’ll just go ahead and say that this book is not for beginners, and it will likely require hunting down ingredients, but goodness, are the cocktails worth it! - S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
Bar Chef: Handcrafted Cocktails Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780393651560
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 9th, 2019

Black Death at the Golden Gate by David K. Randall

When most people think of the bubonic plague, they don’t associate it with America, and there are a handful of people who are responsible for that. Randall chronicles the largely forgotten efforts of the men who gave happiness, health, and in some cases their careers, to stop the spread of plague in San Francisco. Thoroughly researched and at times quite graphic, Randall’s account of this epidemic is a fascinating look at a disease largely forgotten but lurking in the shadows to this day. - Jade

Staff Pick Badge
Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393609455
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 7th, 2019

Underland by Robert Macfarlane

Robert Macfarlane writes with such agility and scope that when exploring the natural world that lies beneath us, he also plumbs the depths of our cultures, mythologies, and histories—not as an exercise in what has been, but in where we are now, and what can still be done. Tracking across time and the planet, each page is a revelation, a way to think more deeply and place ourselves more fully in the world, making Underland both pleasurable reading and important work. - Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Underland: A Deep Time Journey Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780393242140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 4th, 2019

The Last Job by Dan Bilefsky

In the world of professional criminals, there’s always one last job, and it’s always a bad idea. In 2015, a crew of aging criminals called the Bad Grandpas almost pulled off one of the biggest heists of their lives—stealing $19 million in cash, gold, and jewels—almost. Former New York Times correspondent Dan Bilefsky weaves this tale from the testimony of the Scotland Yard detectives who busted the crew. A must-read for all fans of true crime. - Aric

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Job:
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393609516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 23rd, 2019

Greek to Me by Mary Norris

I found myself telling everyone I knew how much I enjoyed reading this, and how they needed to read it right now! Norris takes us through her interest in all things Greek, from the language to the place to the literature and how she relates to it all. Her genius lies in moving agilely from one topic to another, giving insight and sparking interest while never letting the reader become weary of the subject. Perfect to delight the brain, spice up your dinner conversation, and to transport you to “the wine-dark sea.” - Jax

Staff Pick Badge
Greek to Me: Adventures of the Comma Queen Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781324001270
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 2nd, 2019

Wayward Lives, Beautiful Experiments by Saidiya Hartman

Written as imagined life narratives, this is the most interesting history book I've read all year. Hartman revisits old sources about urban, black Philadelphia to interpret them through the overlooked eyes of young black women navigating social change at the turn of the 20th century. Her methodology dials in on women’s lived experiences and reads like short stories. Love! - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Wayward Lives, Beautiful Experiments: Intimate Histories of Social Upheaval Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780393285673
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - February 19th, 2019

The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman

With poetic irony, Ackerman tells the little-known true story of two zookeepers in 1930s Warsaw, Poland. Their world-view and extraordinary compassion led them to save hundreds of Jews imperiled by the Nazi invasion. This heroic narrative highlights contradictions of vulnerability and strength, good in the face of loss, and the rich compatibility of beauty and sadness. - Kären

Staff Pick Badge
The Zookeeper's Wife: A War Story Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393333060
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 17th, 2008

Smoke Gets In Your Eyes by Caitlin Doughty

I fell in love with this book for the wonderfully written, humorous, heart-breaking story of Doughty herself. If you’re a fan of weird science or the macabre, chances are you’ve heard of this – the entertainingly honest memoir of a modern-day mortician. If, like me, you put off picking it up, take my word for it and hesitate no longer. I was fascinated by the humanizing facts of death. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393351903
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 28th, 2015

Deep Creek by Pam Houston

It takes a certain kind of person - animal-lover, star-gazer, adventure seeker - to thrive while living at 9,000 feet. Pam Houston’s full heart and indomitable spirit are on full display in this memoir, which contains all the meditative and hopeful vignettes fans of Houston have come to expect. A great choice for fans of Cheryl Strayed and Terry Tempest Williams! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780393241020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 29th, 2019

Hello World by Hannah Fry

Mathematics professor Dr. Hannah Fry has tackled with numbers Santa Claus and love, so it might seem a retreat to safety for her to write about algorithms…if the algorithms weren’t covering everything crucial about being a modern human, from our everyday interactions to our social justice systems. With intelligence and charm, Fry gives a tour through algorithms and lays out a better understanding of the possibilities before us. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Hello World: Being Human in the Age of Algorithms Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780393634990
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 18th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - W. W. Norton & Company