User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Simon&Schuster

Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

This is one of my favorite books of the year. Reminiscent of modern classics by Diana Wynne Jones, Robin McKinley, Patricia C. Wrede, and Garth Nix, it defies age designations. Elisabeth is an entirely lovable protagonist whose fondness for books, willingness to reexamine her biases, and penchant for getting into scrapes both warmed my heart and made me laugh. I also fell in love with wry sorcerer Nathaniel and his dry wit. Though the stakes were high and danger abounded, I was in stitches for much of the book; chances are you will be too. - Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
Sorcery of Thorns Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481497619
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - June 4th, 2019

Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane

Two Irish families, living side by side in suburban New York, are tied by the similarities of their path into the neighborhood and by a tragic event of a single night that reverberates across multiple generations for decades. Mary Beth Keane paints a subtle portrait of families dealing with mental health issues and long-held secrets, and the desire for connection across those divides. The result is a deeply felt and immersive novel, one that ties you not only to the characters but ultimately to their lessons for life. Perfect for fans of Ann Patchett and Celeste Ng and one of my favorite reads this year. - Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Ask Again, Yes: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982106980
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 28th, 2019

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams

Early reviews dubbed Candice Carty-Williams' fierce debut as a "black Bridget Jones Diary" which speaks to the book's unparalleled humor, raw look at relationships and sex, and the chronicling of the ups and downs of single women today. However, this book is so much more. It is one of the most honest looks at race while dating, sexual norms of men vs. women and the navigation of relationships carrying the weight of abuse and societal norms that I've ever read. This is one you'll pass to all your friends and then stay up long into the night talking about how Queenie changed your thinking about life and love.  - Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Queenie Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501196010
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - March 19th, 2019

New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color edited by Nisi Shawl

With an incredible collection of stories ranging from the fantastic to the macabre, told by established and emerging authors alike, New Suns is a book that you’ll have a hard time putting down. From the first page of the introduction by Lavar Burton to the afterword by the collection’s editor, Nisi Shawl, the reader will find tales of intergalactic tourism, interspecies erotica, and creative retellings of fairy tales. A fun read for all fans of Sci-fi and Fantasy. - Aric

Staff Pick Badge
New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781781085783
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Solaris - March 12th, 2019

Waiting for Bojangles by Olivier Bourdeant

A beautiful French novel exploring the difficult subject of mental illness. Written to the soundtrack of Nina Simone singing Mr. Bojangles, this is a magical love story. A young boy tells the story of watching his parents dance their way through life even as his mother descends into madness. This is a book that will make you laugh and cry. An international bestseller. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Waiting for Bojangles Cover Image
By Olivier Bourdeaut, Regan Kramer (Translated by)
$23.99
ISBN: 9781501145919
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 19th, 2019

Rome: A History in Seven Sackings by Matthew Kneale

Here is recounted a selection of the more notable sackings that Rome has endured: Gauls, Goths, More Goths, Normans, Spanish and Lutherans, French, Nazis. Kneale tells the story of the attack and the sack, but he mostly uses this as a framework to tell the history of Rome and describe its changing landscape and people. Also the origin story of deep fried artichokes. Love it. - Dave

Staff Pick Badge
Rome: A History in Seven Sackings Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781501191091
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 15th, 2018

Another by Christian Robinson

I’m a huge fan of Christian Robinson’s colorful and playful illustrations which, in previous books, have illuminated the words of notable authors like Matt de la Peña. Another is a book all his own. In this wordless romp, a little girl and her cat venture through a portal into another world where left is right, up is down, and doppelgangers abound. This topsy-turvy book is so much fun and is sure to inspire the curiosity, creativity, and imagination of young readers everywhere. - S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
Another Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534421677
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - March 5th, 2019

Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams

Told in the voice of its hugely loveable main character, Genesis, this book is far more than the sum of its more heartbreaking parts. Written by a teacher who wanted to “heal” the wounds of her students, you'll definitely be rooting for Genesis as she navigates a new middle school, gathers the courage to share her secret singing talent with the world, and grapples with learning to love herself. - I.D.

Staff Pick Badge
Genesis Begins Again Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481465809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - January 15th, 2019

The First Bad Man by Miranda July

Hilarious and poignant, the fascinating novel brings us into the strange world of Cheryl Glickman, whose awkward, anxiety-fueled tendencies make us cringe in discomfort--or from the realization that we see ourselves in her thoughts and behaviors. The prose is smart and evocative, leaving the reader with new insights about what it means to love and be loved. - Kristi

Staff Pick Badge
The First Bad Man: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781439172575
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - September 8th, 2015

Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield

This lovely and lyrical novel circles around a village tavern along the Thames after the mysterious happenings of a stormy night. An ensemble of unique characters reckon with the impossible, the power of storytelling, and the complexities of family in this warm feel-good tale. Brilliant use of folklore. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Once Upon a River: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780743298070
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - December 4th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Simon&Schuster